Skip to content

Club finances · statutory accounts

Wolves finances

Reporting entity
WOLVERHAMPTON WANDERERS FOOTBALL CLUB (1986) LIMITED
Division
Championship (this season)
Latest period
13 months to 30 June 2025 (FY2025 · the 2024/25 season, in the Premier League)
Company number
01989823
Accounts
Company only (not the wider group)
Filed
3 April 2026

These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.

← Wolves

In brief

In the 13 months to 30 June 2025, Wolves brought in revenue of £172m. The club made an operating loss of £117.3m and ended the period with net liabilities of £186m. FY2025 is not directly comparable, so no year-on-year change is given.

More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.

FY2025 at a glance

  • Revenue

    £172m

    £171,975,000

  • Operating loss

    £117.3m

    £117,299,000

  • Loss before tax

    £11.6m

    £11,631,000

  • Cash

    £33.4m

    £33,439,000

  • Borrowings

    £101.4m

    £101,394,000

  • Net liabilities

    £186m

    £185,964,000

  • Average employees

    386

† These years are not directly comparable with the years either side, so they are shown hatched and no trend is drawn through them:

  • FY2024: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
  • FY2025: a 13-month accounting period.
Revenue
£132.6mFY2020£194.1mFY2021£165.7mFY2022£168.6mFY2023£177.7mFY2024†£172mFY2025†

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Bigger is not automatically healthier.

Show as a table
Revenue, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020£132.6m
FY2021£194.1m
FY2022£165.7m
FY2023£168.6m
FY2024 † not comparable£177.7m
FY2025 † not comparable£172m
Profit or loss before tax
-£37.4mFY2020£21.1mFY2021-£43.1mFY2022-£64.1mFY2023-£10.9mFY2024†-£11.6mFY2025†

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Profit or loss before tax, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020Loss before tax £37.4m
FY2021Profit before tax £21.1m
FY2022Loss before tax £43.1m
FY2023Loss before tax £64.1m
FY2024 † not comparableLoss before tax £10.9m
FY2025 † not comparableLoss before tax £11.6m
Cash
£27.2mFY2020£35.5mFY2021£31.4mFY2022£33.8mFY2023£30.6mFY2024†£33.4mFY2025†

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Cash, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020£27.2m
FY2021£35.5m
FY2022£31.4m
FY2023£33.8m
FY2024 † not comparable£30.6m
FY2025 † not comparable£33.4m
Net assets or liabilities
-£77.4mFY2020-£56.3mFY2021-£99.4mFY2022-£163.5mFY2023-£174.3mFY2024†-£186mFY2025†

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Net assets or liabilities, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020Net liabilities £77.4m
FY2021Net liabilities £56.3m
FY2022Net liabilities £99.4m
FY2023Net liabilities £163.5m
FY2024 † not comparableNet liabilities £174.3m
FY2025 † not comparableNet liabilities £186m
Average employees
380FY2020379FY2021424FY2022465FY2023394FY2024†386FY2025†

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Average employees, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020380
FY2021379
FY2022424
FY2023465
FY2024 † not comparable394
FY2025 † not comparable386
Staff costs
£94.3mFY2020£138.8mFY2021£120.2mFY2022£141.6mFY2023£141.3mFY2024†£162.1mFY2025†

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Staff costs, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020£94.3m
FY2021£138.8m
FY2022£120.2m
FY2023£141.6m
FY2024 † not comparable£141.3m
FY2025 † not comparable£162.1m

Every year

Wolves published figures by financial year
FigureFY2020PLcompanyFY2021PLcompanyFY2022PLcompanyFY2023PLcompanyFY2024 †PLcompanyFY2025 †PLcompany · 13 months
Revenue£132.6m£194.1m£165.7m£168.6m£177.7m£172m
Matchday revenue£12.7m£144k£13.3m£15.1m£16.2m£21.8m
Broadcast revenue£95.8m£169.4m£124.8m£124.9m£132.7m£125.6m
Commercial revenue£22.5m£23.3m£25.9m£27.1m£26.8m£24.6m
Other revenue£1.63m£1.28m£1.66m£1.47m£1.97m—
Staff costs£94.3m£138.8m£120.2m£141.6m£141.3m£162.1m
Operating profit or loss-£42.2m-£34.3m-£52.5m-£97.5m-£69.9m-£117.3m
Profit or loss before tax-£37.4m£21.1m-£43.1m-£64.1m-£10.9m-£11.6m
Profit or loss after tax-£36.7m£21.1m-£43.1m-£64.1m-£10.9m-£11.6m
Player amortisation£51.9m£62.1m£60.9m£79.2m£64.2m£75.4m
Player impairment (negative = reversed)£0£9.45m£4.22m£3.22m£3.02m£12.4m
Profit or loss on player sales£9.52m£60.8m£15m£43.9m£64.6m£117m
Cash£27.2m£35.5m£31.4m£33.8m£30.6m£33.4m
Borrowings£24.9m£60.5m£104.5m£114.9m£100.6m£101.4m
Total assets£280.2m£337m£286.7m£415.5m£341.8m£408.2m
Total liabilities£357.6m£393.3m£386.1m£579m£516.1m£594.1m
Net assets or liabilities-£77.4m-£56.3m-£99.4m-£163.5m-£174.3m-£186m
Average employees380379424465394386
Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived71%71%73%84%80%94%
  • — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
  • Under each year: the division the club played in that season (PL Premier League); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
  • Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
  • † Not directly comparable with the years either side.
  • Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.

Sources and definitions

Where each figure comes from

Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.

Sources for Revenue
YearPublishedConceptAs filedFilingMappingDocument
FY2020£132,609,000pdf:Turnover132,609 GBPAA-2021-03-18v3Filing
FY2021£194,096,000pdf:Turnover194,096 GBPAA-2022-03-02v3Filing
FY2022£165,659,000pdf:Turnover165,659 GBPAA-2023-03-03v3Filing
FY2023£168,575,000pdf:Turnover168,575 GBPAA-2024-03-01v3Filing
FY2024 †£177,697,000pdf:Turnover177,697 GBPAA-2025-02-28v3Filing
FY2025 †£171,975,000pdf:Turnover171,975 GBPAA-2026-04-03v3Filing

“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.

What each figure means
Revenue
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
Matchday revenue
Revenue attributable to matchday activities where separately disclosed.
Broadcast revenue
Revenue attributable to broadcasting/media rights where separately disclosed.
Commercial revenue
Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
Other revenue
Other revenue not included in the principal disclosed categories.
Staff costs
Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
Operating profit or loss
Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
Profit or loss before tax
Profit or loss before taxation.
Profit or loss after tax
Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
Player amortisation
Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Player impairment (negative = reversed)
Impairment of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Profit or loss on player sales
Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
Cash
Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
Borrowings
Interest-bearing borrowings disclosed at the reporting date; definition excludes derived net debt.
Total assets
Total assets at the reporting date.
Total liabilities
Total liabilities at the reporting date.
Net assets or liabilities
Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
Average employees
Average number of employees during the reporting period.
Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
Staff costs divided by total revenue.

All clubs with published accounts