Club finances · statutory accounts
Wigan finances
- Reporting entity
- WIGAN ATHLETIC A.F.C. LIMITED (formerly PHOENIX 2021 LIMITED)
- Division
- League One (this season)
- Latest period
- Year to 30 June 2025 (FY2025 · the 2024/25 season, in the League One)
- Company number
- 13161421
- Accounts
- Company only (not the wider group)
- Filed
- 4 April 2026
These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.
In brief
In the year to 30 June 2025, Wigan brought in revenue of £7.25m, down from £9.25m the year before. The club made an operating loss of £7.97m and ended the period with net liabilities of £13.8m.
More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.
FY2025 at a glance
Revenue
£7.25m
£7,250,891
Operating loss
£7.97m
£7,973,909
Loss before tax
£398k
£397,675
Cash
£603k
£603,466
Borrowings
Not disclosed
Net liabilities
£13.8m
£13,783,088
Average employees
257
Over time
† These years are not directly comparable with the years either side, so they are shown hatched and no trend is drawn through them:
- FY2021: a 5-month accounting period.
- FY2023: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Bigger is not automatically healthier.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2021 † not comparable | £705k |
| FY2022 | £8.31m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | £15.9m |
| FY2024 | £9.25m |
| FY2025 | £7.25m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2021 † not comparable | Loss before tax £622k |
| FY2022 | Loss before tax £7.66m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | Loss before tax £13.4m |
| FY2024 | Loss before tax £8.23m |
| FY2025 | Loss before tax £398k |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2021 † not comparable | £1.04m |
| FY2022 | £263k |
| FY2023 † not comparable | £338k |
| FY2024 | £324k |
| FY2025 | £603k |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2021 † not comparable | Net assets £3.11m |
| FY2022 | Net assets £189k |
| FY2023 † not comparable | Net liabilities £5.16m |
| FY2024 | Net liabilities £13.4m |
| FY2025 | Net liabilities £13.8m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2021 † not comparable | 150 |
| FY2022 | 241 |
| FY2023 † not comparable | 286 |
| FY2024 | 275 |
| FY2025 | 257 |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2021 † not comparable | £1.51m |
| FY2022 | £13m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | £23.2m |
| FY2024 | £11.7m |
| FY2025 | £9.85m |
Every year
| Figure | FY2021 †L1company · 5 months | FY2022L1company | FY2023 †Champcompany | FY2024L1company | FY2025L1company |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | £705k | £8.31m | £15.9m | £9.25m | £7.25m |
| Matchday revenue | — | £2.23m | £2.64m | £2.38m | £2.11m |
| Broadcast revenue | £242k | £2.24m | £8.54m | £2.37m | £2.34m |
| Commercial revenue | £176k | £2.36m | £3.29m | £3.12m | £1.57m |
| Other revenue | £287k | £1.48m | £1.39m | £1.38m | £1.22m |
| Staff costs | £1.51m | £13m | £23.2m | £11.7m | £9.85m |
| Operating profit or loss | -£1.54m | -£10.5m | -£13.7m | -£8.98m | -£7.97m |
| Profit or loss before tax | -£622k | -£7.66m | -£13.4m | -£8.23m | -£398k |
| Profit or loss after tax | -£622k | -£7.66m | -£13.4m | -£8.23m | -£398k |
| Player amortisation | £92k | £545k | £607k | £481k | £203k |
| Player impairment (negative = reversed) | — | — | £205k | £0 | — |
| Profit or loss on player sales | £916k | £2.85m | £380k | £749k | £7.57m |
| Cash | £1.04m | £263k | £338k | £324k | £603k |
| Total assets | £4.94m | £6.01m | £5.08m | £5.42m | £8.27m |
| Total liabilities | £1.84m | £5.82m | £10.2m | £18.8m | £22.1m |
| Net assets or liabilities | £3.11m | £189k | -£5.16m | -£13.4m | -£13.8m |
| Average employees | 150 | 241 | 286 | 275 | 257 |
| Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived | 214% | 157% | 146% | 127% | 136% |
- — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
- Under each year: the division the club played in that season (L1 League One, Champ Championship); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
- Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
- † Not directly comparable with the years either side.
- Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.
- Not disclosed in any period: Borrowings.
Sources and definitions
Where each figure comes from
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
| Year | Published | Concept | As filed | Filing | Mapping | Document |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2021 † | £705,161 | pdf:Turnover | 705,161 GBP | AA-2022-03-28 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2022 | £8,307,734 | pdf:Turnover | 8,307,734 GBP | AA-2023-03-06 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2023 † | £15,865,467 | pdf:Turnover | 15,865,467 GBP | AA-2024-03-21 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2024 | £9,246,111 | pdf:Turnover | 9,246,111 GBP | AA-2025-03-27 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2025 | £7,250,891 | pdf:Turnover | 7,250,891 GBP | AA-2026-04-04 | v3 | Filing |
“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.
What each figure means
- Revenue
- Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
- Matchday revenue
- Revenue attributable to matchday activities where separately disclosed.
- Broadcast revenue
- Revenue attributable to broadcasting/media rights where separately disclosed.
- Commercial revenue
- Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
- Other revenue
- Other revenue not included in the principal disclosed categories.
- Staff costs
- Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
- Operating profit or loss
- Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
- Profit or loss before tax
- Profit or loss before taxation.
- Profit or loss after tax
- Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
- Player amortisation
- Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
- Player impairment (negative = reversed)
- Impairment of player registrations/intangible player assets.
- Profit or loss on player sales
- Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
- Cash
- Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
- Total assets
- Total assets at the reporting date.
- Total liabilities
- Total liabilities at the reporting date.
- Net assets or liabilities
- Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
- Average employees
- Average number of employees during the reporting period.
- Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
- Staff costs divided by total revenue.