Skip to content

Club finances · statutory accounts

Watford finances

Reporting entity
THE WATFORD ASSOCIATION FOOTBALL CLUB LIMITED
Division
Championship (this season)
Latest period
Year to 30 June 2025 (FY2025 · the 2024/25 season, in the Championship)
Company number
00104194
Accounts
Company only (not the wider group)
Filed
25 March 2026

These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.

← Watford

In brief

In the year to 30 June 2025, Watford brought in revenue of £26m, down from £57.6m the year before. The club made an operating loss of £12.5m and ended the period with net assets of £25.1m.

More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.

FY2025 at a glance

  • Revenue

    £26m

    £25,975,000

  • Operating loss

    £12.5m

    £12,473,000

  • Loss before tax

    £16m

    £15,951,000

  • Cash

    £1.31m

    £1,307,000

  • Borrowings

    £58.1m

    £58,057,000

  • Net assets

    £25.1m

    £25,098,000

  • Average employees

    370

† These years are not directly comparable with the years either side, so they are shown hatched and no trend is drawn through them:

  • FY2020: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
  • FY2021: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
  • FY2022: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
Revenue
£120mFY2020†£57.1mFY2021†£128.1mFY2022†£66.2mFY2023£57.6mFY2024£26mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Bigger is not automatically healthier.

Show as a table
Revenue, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable£120m
FY2021 † not comparable£57.1m
FY2022 † not comparable£128.1m
FY2023£66.2m
FY2024£57.6m
FY2025£26m
Profit or loss before tax
-£35.6mFY2020†-£21.7mFY2021†-£16.1mFY2022†£24.1mFY2023£12.8mFY2024-£16mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Profit or loss before tax, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparableLoss before tax £35.6m
FY2021 † not comparableLoss before tax £21.7m
FY2022 † not comparableLoss before tax £16.1m
FY2023Profit before tax £24.1m
FY2024Profit before tax £12.8m
FY2025Loss before tax £16m
Cash
£18kFY2020†£4.78mFY2021†£1.2mFY2022†£7.58mFY2023£3kFY2024£1.31mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Cash, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable£18k
FY2021 † not comparable£4.78m
FY2022 † not comparable£1.2m
FY2023£7.58m
FY2024£3k
FY2025£1.31m
Net assets or liabilities
£8.94mFY2020†-£12.8mFY2021†-£35.2mFY2022†-£10.5mFY2023£2.66mFY2024£25.1mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Net assets or liabilities, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparableNet assets £8.94m
FY2021 † not comparableNet liabilities £12.8m
FY2022 † not comparableNet liabilities £35.2m
FY2023Net liabilities £10.5m
FY2024Net assets £2.66m
FY2025Net assets £25.1m
Average employees
328FY2020†326FY2021†361FY2022†343FY2023352FY2024370FY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Average employees, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable328
FY2021 † not comparable326
FY2022 † not comparable361
FY2023343
FY2024352
FY2025370
Staff costs
£96.2mFY2020†£68.1mFY2021†£79mFY2022†£48.7mFY2023£33mFY2024£28.1mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Staff costs, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable£96.2m
FY2021 † not comparable£68.1m
FY2022 † not comparable£79m
FY2023£48.7m
FY2024£33m
FY2025£28.1m

Every year

Watford published figures by financial year
FigureFY2020 †PLcompanyFY2021 †ChampcompanyFY2022 †PLcompanyFY2023ChampcompanyFY2024ChampcompanyFY2025Champcompany
Revenue£120m£57.1m£128.1m£66.2m£57.6m£26m
Matchday revenue£7.25m£1.58m£6.76m£6.82m£6.35m£6.36m
Broadcast revenue£95.3m£49.8m£85.3m£48.3m£45m£11.6m
Commercial revenue£17.2m£4.1m£36.1m£8.1m£5.96m£7.15m
Other revenue£254k£1.6m£24k£2.96m£270k£831k
Staff costs£96.2m£68.1m£79m£48.7m£33m£28.1m
Operating profit or loss-£47.4m-£72m-£24.2m£31m£18m-£12.5m
Profit or loss before tax-£35.6m-£21.7m-£16.1m£24.1m£12.8m-£16m
Profit or loss after tax-£31.6m-£20.9m-£17.7m£24.5m£12.8m-£16.2m
Player amortisation£37.9m£33.4m£28.1m£19.3m£9.11m£5.04m
Player impairment (negative = reversed)£1.97m£2.54m£1.59m£1.83m£0—
Profit or loss on player sales£18.1m£55.7m£15.3m£59.2m£29.3m£15.8m
Cash£18k£4.78m£1.2m£7.58m£3k£1.31m
Borrowings£91.2m£137.5m£123.1m£114.2m£70.9m£58.1m
Total assets£242.1m£246.7m£222m£223.9m£139.5m£160.7m
Total liabilities£233.2m£259.4m£257.1m£234.4m£136.8m£135.6m
Net assets or liabilities£8.94m-£12.8m-£35.2m-£10.5m£2.66m£25.1m
Average employees328326361343352370
Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived80%119%62%74%57%108%
  • — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
  • Under each year: the division the club played in that season (PL Premier League, Champ Championship); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
  • Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
  • † Not directly comparable with the years either side.
  • Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.

Sources and definitions

Where each figure comes from

Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.

Sources for Revenue
YearPublishedConceptAs filedFilingMappingDocument
FY2020 †£119,985,000pdf:Turnover119,985 GBPAA-2021-07-11v3Filing
FY2021 †£57,061,000pdf:Turnover57,061 GBPAA-2022-04-07v3Filing
FY2022 †£128,094,000pdf:Turnover128,094 GBPAA-2023-03-31v3Filing
FY2023£66,198,000pdf:Turnover66,198 GBPAA-2024-02-22v3Filing
FY2024£57,590,000pdf:Turnover57,590 GBPAA-2025-01-16v3Filing
FY2025£25,975,000pdf:Turnover25,975 GBPAA-2026-03-25v3Filing

“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.

What each figure means
Revenue
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
Matchday revenue
Revenue attributable to matchday activities where separately disclosed.
Broadcast revenue
Revenue attributable to broadcasting/media rights where separately disclosed.
Commercial revenue
Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
Other revenue
Other revenue not included in the principal disclosed categories.
Staff costs
Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
Operating profit or loss
Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
Profit or loss before tax
Profit or loss before taxation.
Profit or loss after tax
Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
Player amortisation
Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Player impairment (negative = reversed)
Impairment of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Profit or loss on player sales
Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
Cash
Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
Borrowings
Interest-bearing borrowings disclosed at the reporting date; definition excludes derived net debt.
Total assets
Total assets at the reporting date.
Total liabilities
Total liabilities at the reporting date.
Net assets or liabilities
Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
Average employees
Average number of employees during the reporting period.
Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
Staff costs divided by total revenue.

All clubs with published accounts