Skip to content

Club finances · statutory accounts

Swansea finances

Reporting entity
SWANSEA CITY FOOTBALL 2002 LIMITED
Division
Championship (this season)
Latest period
Year to 30 June 2025 (FY2025 · the 2024/25 season, in the Championship)
Company number
04305508
Accounts
Consolidated (whole group)
Filed
17 April 2026

These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.

← Swansea

In brief

In the year to 30 June 2025, Swansea brought in revenue of £22.7m. The club made an operating loss of £28.3m and ended the period with net assets of £23.5m. FY2024 is not directly comparable, so no year-on-year change is given.

More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.

FY2025 at a glance

  • Revenue

    £22.7m

    £22,702,682

  • Operating loss

    £28.3m

    £28,279,057

  • Loss before tax

    £20.9m

    £20,942,334

  • Cash

    £15.1m

    £15,149,961

  • Borrowings

    £2.93m

    £2,934,650

  • Net assets

    £23.5m

    £23,510,375

  • Average employees

    657

† This year is not directly comparable with the years either side, so it is shown hatched and no trend is drawn through it:

  • FY2024: a 11-month accounting period.
Revenue
£50.6mFY2020£27.8mFY2021£20.1mFY2022£22mFY2023£21.9mFY2024†£22.7mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Bigger is not automatically healthier.

Show as a table
Revenue, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020£50.6m
FY2021£27.8m
FY2022£20.1m
FY2023£22m
FY2024 † not comparable£21.9m
FY2025£22.7m
Profit or loss before tax
£2.79mFY2020-£4.51mFY2021-£13.1mFY2022-£18.4mFY2023-£15.1mFY2024†-£20.9mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Profit or loss before tax, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020Profit before tax £2.79m
FY2021Loss before tax £4.51m
FY2022Loss before tax £13.1m
FY2023Loss before tax £18.4m
FY2024 † not comparableLoss before tax £15.1m
FY2025Loss before tax £20.9m
Cash
£17.4mFY2020£10.3mFY2021£11.6mFY2022£13.6mFY2023£7.4mFY2024†£15.1mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Cash, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020£17.4m
FY2021£10.3m
FY2022£11.6m
FY2023£13.6m
FY2024 † not comparable£7.4m
FY2025£15.1m
Net assets or liabilities
£13.8mFY2020£10.7mFY2021-£1.76mFY2022£22.1mFY2023£24.3mFY2024†£23.5mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Net assets or liabilities, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020Net assets £13.8m
FY2021Net assets £10.7m
FY2022Net liabilities £1.76m
FY2023Net assets £22.1m
FY2024 † not comparableNet assets £24.3m
FY2025Net assets £23.5m
Average employees
613FY2020300FY2021762FY2022726FY2023679FY2024†657FY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Average employees, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020613
FY2021300
FY2022762
FY2023726
FY2024 † not comparable679
FY2025657
Staff costs
£41.3mFY2020£28.5mFY2021£27.6mFY2022£26.6mFY2023£29.1mFY2024†£30.2mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Staff costs, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020£41.3m
FY2021£28.5m
FY2022£27.6m
FY2023£26.6m
FY2024 † not comparable£29.1m
FY2025£30.2m

Every year

Swansea published figures by financial year
FigureFY2020ChampgroupFY2021ChampgroupFY2022ChampgroupFY2023ChampgroupFY2024 †Champgroup · 11 monthsFY2025Champgroup
Revenue£50.6m£27.8m£20.1m£22m£21.9m£22.7m
Matchday revenue£5.01m£1.87m£4.49m£3.82m£4.27m£5.41m
Broadcast revenue£39m£21.7m£9.3m£8.67m£9.71m£11.3m
Commercial revenue£4.37m£3.29m£5.53m£7.24m£6.57m£4.96m
Other revenue£2.25m£940k£808k£2.3m£1.4m£990k
Staff costs£41.3m£28.5m£27.6m£26.6m£29.1m£30.2m
Operating profit or loss-£14.4m-£16.6m-£23.1m-£21.8m-£25.2m-£28.3m
Profit or loss before tax£2.79m-£4.51m-£13.1m-£18.4m-£15.1m-£20.9m
Profit or loss after tax£1.71m-£3.99m-£12.5m-£16.3m-£14.4m-£21.1m
Player amortisation£9.73m£4.68m£2.57m£3.24m£4.3m£6.77m
Player impairment (negative = reversed)£926k£0£94k£0——
Profit or loss on player sales£17.8m£12.5m£10.9m£4.52m£10.5m£8.13m
Cash£17.4m£10.3m£11.6m£13.6m£7.4m£15.1m
Borrowings£0£12.8m£28.5m£9.36m£2.78m£2.93m
Total assets£52.7m£49.8m£53.8m£52.4m£46.2m£58.5m
Total liabilities£38.9m£39.1m£55.6m£30.3m£22m£35m
Net assets or liabilities£13.8m£10.7m-£1.76m£22.1m£24.3m£23.5m
Average employees613300762726679657
Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived82%103%137%121%133%133%
  • — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
  • Under each year: the division the club played in that season (Champ Championship); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
  • Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
  • † Not directly comparable with the years either side.
  • Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.

Sources and definitions

Where each figure comes from

Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.

Sources for Revenue
YearPublishedConceptAs filedFilingMappingDocument
FY2020£50,586,187pdf:Turnover50,586,187 GBPAA-2021-04-29v3Filing
FY2021£27,775,457pdf:Turnover27,775,457 GBPAA-2022-05-04v3Filing
FY2022£20,122,399pdf:Turnover20,122,399 GBPAA-2023-05-09v3Filing
FY2023£22,023,454pdf:Turnover22,023,454 GBPAA-2024-05-05v3Filing
FY2024 †£21,941,972pdf:Turnover21,941,972 GBPAA-2025-04-02v3Filing
FY2025£22,702,682pdf:Turnover22,702,682 GBPAA-2026-04-17v3Filing

“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.

What each figure means
Revenue
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
Matchday revenue
Revenue attributable to matchday activities where separately disclosed.
Broadcast revenue
Revenue attributable to broadcasting/media rights where separately disclosed.
Commercial revenue
Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
Other revenue
Other revenue not included in the principal disclosed categories.
Staff costs
Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
Operating profit or loss
Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
Profit or loss before tax
Profit or loss before taxation.
Profit or loss after tax
Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
Player amortisation
Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Player impairment (negative = reversed)
Impairment of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Profit or loss on player sales
Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
Cash
Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
Borrowings
Interest-bearing borrowings disclosed at the reporting date; definition excludes derived net debt.
Total assets
Total assets at the reporting date.
Total liabilities
Total liabilities at the reporting date.
Net assets or liabilities
Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
Average employees
Average number of employees during the reporting period.
Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
Staff costs divided by total revenue.

All clubs with published accounts