Club finances · statutory accounts
These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.
In the year to 31 July 2025, Sunderland brought in revenue of £40.3m, up from £38.2m the year before. The club made an operating loss of £46.9m and ended the year with net assets of £117.5m.
More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.
Revenue
£40.3m
£40,294,000
Operating loss
£46.9m
£46,915,000
Loss before tax
£4.01m
£4,010,000
Cash
£20.7m
£20,747,000
Borrowings
£25.2m
£25,217,000
Net assets
£117.5m
£117,489,000
Average employees
353
† FY2021, FY2022 are not directly comparable: later accounts restated those years, so they are shown hatched and no trend is drawn through them.
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Bigger is not automatically healthier.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £29.2m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £10.7m |
| FY2022 † not comparable | £26.1m |
| FY2023 | £35.5m |
| FY2024 | £38.2m |
| FY2025 | £40.3m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | Loss before tax £1.26m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | Loss before tax £9.48m |
| FY2022 † not comparable | Loss before tax £7.17m |
| FY2023 | Loss before tax £8.93m |
| FY2024 | Loss before tax £8.64m |
| FY2025 | Loss before tax £4.01m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £7.45m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £270k |
| FY2022 † not comparable | £1.68m |
| FY2023 | £2.32m |
| FY2024 | £0 |
| FY2025 | £20.7m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | Net assets £94.4m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | Net assets £84.5m |
| FY2022 † not comparable | Net assets £78.9m |
| FY2023 | Net assets £69.9m |
| FY2024 | Net assets £121.5m |
| FY2025 | Net assets £117.5m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | 280 |
| FY2021 † not comparable | 198 |
| FY2022 † not comparable | 593 |
| FY2023 | 319 |
| FY2024 | 349 |
| FY2025 | 353 |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £15.1m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £12.8m |
| FY2022 † not comparable | £16.3m |
| FY2023 | £25.6m |
| FY2024 | £31.4m |
| FY2025 | £53.8m |
| Figure | FY2020 | FY2021 † | FY2022 † | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | £29.2m | £10.7m | £26.1m | £35.5m | £38.2m | £40.3m |
| Matchday revenue | £7.81m | £1.2m | £17.5m | £19.2m | £20.4m | £20.9m |
| Broadcast revenue | £17.2m | £5.43m | £3.25m | £10.1m | £10.4m | £12m |
| Commercial revenue | £4.24m | £4.1m | £5.33m | £6.3m | £7.36m | £7.37m |
| Staff costs | £15.1m | £12.8m | £16.3m | £25.6m | £31.4m | £53.8m |
| Operating profit or loss | -£6.46m | -£9.99m | -£8.42m | -£9.28m | -£16.9m | -£46.9m |
| Profit or loss before tax | -£1.26m | -£9.48m | -£7.17m | -£8.93m | -£8.64m | -£4.01m |
| Profit or loss after tax | -£627k | -£8.28m | -£5.63m | -£8.93m | -£8.46m | -£4.01m |
| Player amortisation | £1.8m | £1.69m | £2.05m | £2.71m | £3.98m | £10.4m |
| Profit or loss on player sales | £3.38m | £631k | £1.24m | £308k | £8.82m | £45.9m |
| Cash | £7.45m | £270k | £1.68m | £2.32m | £0 | £20.7m |
| Borrowings | — | — | — | — | £8.24m | £25.2m |
| Total assets | £117.1m | £106.7m | £115.7m | £121.6m | £195.1m | £394.6m |
| Total liabilities | £22.7m | £22.2m | £36.8m | £51.7m | £73.6m | £277.1m |
| Net assets or liabilities | £94.4m | £84.5m | £78.9m | £69.9m | £121.5m | £117.5m |
| Average employees | 280 | 198 | 593 | 319 | 349 | 353 |
| Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived | 52% | 120% | 62% | 72% | 82% | 134% |
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
| Year | Published | XBRL concept | As filed | Filing | Mapping | Document |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2020 | £29,248,000 | pdf:Turnover | 29248.000000000000 GBP thousands | AA-2022-05-04-COMP-2020 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2021 † | £10,734,000 | pdf:Turnover | 10734.000000000000 GBP thousands | AA-2022-05-04 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2022 † | £26,099,000 | pdf:Turnover | 26099.000000000000 GBP thousands | AA-2023-05-09 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2023 | £35,543,000 | pdf:Turnover | 35543.000000000000 GBP thousands | AA-2024-05-08 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2024 | £38,152,000 | pdf:Turnover | 38152.000000000000 GBP thousands | AA-2025-03-17 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2025 | £40,294,000 | pdf:Turnover | 40294.000000000000 GBP thousands | AA-2026-03-27 | v2 | Filing |
“As filed” is the value exactly as it appears in the filing’s machine-readable (iXBRL) data. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.