Skip to content

Club finances · statutory accounts

Stoke finances

Reporting entity
Stoke City Football Club Limited
Division
Championship (this season)
Latest period
Year to 31 May 2025 (FY2025 · the 2023/24 season, in the Championship)
Company number
00099885
Accounts
Company only (not the wider group)
Filed
2 March 2026

These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.

← Stoke

In brief

In the year to 31 May 2025, Stoke brought in revenue of £35.4m, up from £32.3m the year before. The club made an operating loss of £29.5m and ended the period with net liabilities of £157m.

More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.

FY2025 at a glance

  • Revenue

    £35.4m

    £35,438,000

  • Operating loss

    £29.5m

    £29,537,000

  • Loss before tax

    £28.3m

    £28,307,000

  • Cash

    £25.5m

    £25,522,000

  • Borrowings

    £0

    £0

  • Net liabilities

    £157m

    £156,965,000

  • Average employees

    332

† These years are not directly comparable with the years either side, so they are shown hatched and no trend is drawn through them:

  • FY2020: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
  • FY2021: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
Revenue
£49.8mFY2020†£40.3mFY2021†£31.2mFY2022£31.2mFY2023£32.3mFY2024£35.4mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Bigger is not automatically healthier.

Show as a table
Revenue, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable£49.8m
FY2021 † not comparable£40.3m
FY2022£31.2m
FY2023£31.2m
FY2024£32.3m
FY2025£35.4m
Profit or loss before tax
-£88.3mFY2020†-£42.5mFY2021†£101.9mFY2022-£11.1mFY2023-£25.9mFY2024-£28.3mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Profit or loss before tax, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparableLoss before tax £88.3m
FY2021 † not comparableLoss before tax £42.5m
FY2022Profit before tax £101.9m
FY2023Loss before tax £11.1m
FY2024Loss before tax £25.9m
FY2025Loss before tax £28.3m
Cash
£8.13mFY2020†£5.43mFY2021†£6.08mFY2022£8.85mFY2023£6.94mFY2024£25.5mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Cash, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable£8.13m
FY2021 † not comparable£5.43m
FY2022£6.08m
FY2023£8.85m
FY2024£6.94m
FY2025£25.5m
Net assets or liabilities
-£152.4mFY2020†-£194.7mFY2021†-£92.8mFY2022-£103.9mFY2023-£132.5mFY2024-£157mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Net assets or liabilities, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparableNet liabilities £152.4m
FY2021 † not comparableNet liabilities £194.7m
FY2022Net liabilities £92.8m
FY2023Net liabilities £103.9m
FY2024Net liabilities £132.5m
FY2025Net liabilities £157m
Average employees
292FY2020†257FY2021†276FY2022268FY2023299FY2024332FY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Average employees, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable292
FY2021 † not comparable257
FY2022276
FY2023268
FY2024299
FY2025332
Staff costs
£52.7mFY2020†£47.9mFY2021†£35.6mFY2022£28.2mFY2023£31.8mFY2024£30.3mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Staff costs, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable£52.7m
FY2021 † not comparable£47.9m
FY2022£35.6m
FY2023£28.2m
FY2024£31.8m
FY2025£30.3m

Every year

Stoke published figures by financial year
FigureFY2020 †ChampcompanyFY2021 †ChampcompanyFY2022ChampcompanyFY2023ChampcompanyFY2024ChampcompanyFY2025Champcompany
Revenue£49.8m£40.3m£31.2m£31.2m£32.3m£35.4m
Matchday revenue£4.79m£121k£5.6m£5.06m£5.73m£5.74m
Broadcast revenue£31.2m£28.3m£8.95m£9.25m£9.84m£11.9m
Commercial revenue£9.83m£8.51m£12.5m£13.2m£13m£13.9m
Other revenue£4.01m£3.35m£4.1m£3.69m£3.69m£3.92m
Staff costs£52.7m£47.9m£35.6m£28.2m£31.8m£30.3m
Operating profit or loss-£88.4m-£42.5m-£18.1m-£11.3m-£26.2m-£29.5m
Profit or loss before tax-£88.3m-£42.5m£101.9m-£11.1m-£25.9m-£28.3m
Profit or loss after tax-£86.3m-£42.3m£102m-£11.1m-£28.6m-£24.5m
Player amortisation£30.3m£11m£5.72m£4.21m£6.34m£6.81m
Player impairment (negative = reversed)£42.5m£3.75m£709k£102k£0£692k
Profit or loss on player sales£3.14m£895k£10.9m£15.3m£4.41m£151k
Cash£8.13m£5.43m£6.08m£8.85m£6.94m£25.5m
Borrowings£0£0£0£0£0£0
Total assets£65.3m£46.5m£26.5m£30.9m£37.9m£48.6m
Total liabilities£217.7m£241.3m£119.3m£134.7m£170.4m£205.6m
Net assets or liabilities-£152.4m-£194.7m-£92.8m-£103.9m-£132.5m-£157m
Average employees292257276268299332
Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived106%119%114%90%98%86%
  • — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
  • Under each year: the division the club played in that season (Champ Championship); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
  • Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
  • † Not directly comparable with the years either side.
  • Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.

Sources and definitions

Where each figure comes from

Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.

Sources for Revenue
YearPublishedConceptAs filedFilingMappingDocument
FY2020 †£49,848,000pdf:Turnover49,848 GBPAA-2021-05-25v3Filing
FY2021 †£40,284,000pdf:Turnover40,284 GBPAA-2022-04-07v3Filing
FY2022£31,167,000pdf:Turnover31,167 GBPAA-2023-03-06v3Filing
FY2023£31,197,000pdf:Turnover31,197 GBPAA-2024-01-30v3Filing
FY2024£32,271,000pdf:Turnover32,271 GBPAA-2025-01-29v3Filing
FY2025£35,438,000pdf:Turnover35,438 GBPAA-2026-03-02v3Filing

“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.

What each figure means
Revenue
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
Matchday revenue
Revenue attributable to matchday activities where separately disclosed.
Broadcast revenue
Revenue attributable to broadcasting/media rights where separately disclosed.
Commercial revenue
Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
Other revenue
Other revenue not included in the principal disclosed categories.
Staff costs
Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
Operating profit or loss
Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
Profit or loss before tax
Profit or loss before taxation.
Profit or loss after tax
Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
Player amortisation
Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Player impairment (negative = reversed)
Impairment of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Profit or loss on player sales
Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
Cash
Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
Borrowings
Interest-bearing borrowings disclosed at the reporting date; definition excludes derived net debt.
Total assets
Total assets at the reporting date.
Total liabilities
Total liabilities at the reporting date.
Net assets or liabilities
Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
Average employees
Average number of employees during the reporting period.
Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
Staff costs divided by total revenue.

All clubs with published accounts