Club finances · statutory accounts

Southend finances

Reporting entity
Southend United Football Club Limited
Latest period
Year to 31 July 2025 (FY2025 · the 2024/25 season)
Company number
00089767
Accounts
Company only (not the wider group)
Filed
30 April 2026

These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.

← Southend

In brief

In the year to 31 July 2025, Southend brought in revenue of £5.1m. The club made an operating loss of £1.34m and ended the year with net liabilities of £6.97m. FY2024 is not directly comparable, so no year-on-year change is given.

More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.

FY2025 at a glance

  • Revenue

    £5.1m

    £5,101,100

  • Operating loss

    £1.34m

    £1,344,626

  • Loss before tax

    £1.34m

    £1,344,800

  • Cash

    £760k

    £760,239

  • Borrowings

    £48k

    £47,817

  • Net liabilities

    £6.97m

    £6,970,928

  • Average employees

    59

† FY2024 is not directly comparable: later accounts restated that year, so it is shown hatched and no trend is drawn through it.

Revenue
£7.43mFY2019£5.11mFY2020£3.95mFY2021£3.36mFY2022£2.93mFY2023£2.52mFY2024†£5.1mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Bigger is not automatically healthier.

Show as a table
Revenue, by financial year
YearValue
FY2019£7.43m
FY2020£5.11m
FY2021£3.95m
FY2022£3.36m
FY2023£2.93m
FY2024 † not comparable£2.52m
FY2025£5.1m
Profit or loss before tax
-£2.56mFY2019-£1.1mFY2020-£1mFY2021-£2.72mFY2022-£2.75mFY2023-£2.65mFY2024†-£1.34mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Profit or loss before tax, by financial year
YearValue
FY2019Loss before tax £2.56m
FY2020Loss before tax £1.1m
FY2021Loss before tax £1m
FY2022Loss before tax £2.72m
FY2023Loss before tax £2.75m
FY2024 † not comparableLoss before tax £2.65m
FY2025Loss before tax £1.34m
Cash
£127kFY2019£8kFY2020£24kFY2021£19kFY2022£88kFY2023£483kFY2024†£760kFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Cash, by financial year
YearValue
FY2019£127k
FY2020£8k
FY2021£24k
FY2022£19k
FY2023£88k
FY2024 † not comparable£483k
FY2025£760k
Net assets or liabilities
-£16.5mFY2019-£17.6mFY2020-£18.6mFY2021-£21.4mFY2022-£24.1mFY2023-£5.63mFY2024†-£6.97mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Net assets or liabilities, by financial year
YearValue
FY2019Net liabilities £16.5m
FY2020Net liabilities £17.6m
FY2021Net liabilities £18.6m
FY2022Net liabilities £21.4m
FY2023Net liabilities £24.1m
FY2024 † not comparableNet liabilities £5.63m
FY2025Net liabilities £6.97m
Average employees
150FY2019142FY2020122FY2021121FY202298FY202363FY2024†59FY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Average employees, by financial year
YearValue
FY2019150
FY2020142
FY2021122
FY2022121
FY202398
FY2024 † not comparable63
FY202559
Staff costs
£6.24mFY2019£4.37mFY2020£3.48mFY2021£2.98mFY2022£2.92mFY2023£2.58mFY2024†n/dFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Missing bars were not disclosed in that year’s filing.

Show as a table
Staff costs, by financial year
YearValue
FY2019£6.24m
FY2020£4.37m
FY2021£3.48m
FY2022£2.98m
FY2023£2.92m
FY2024 † not comparable£2.58m
FY2025Not disclosed

Every year

Southend published figures by financial year
FigureFY2019FY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024 †FY2025
Revenue£7.43m£5.11m£3.95m£3.36m£2.93m£2.52m£5.1m
Staff costs£6.24m£4.37m£3.48m£2.98m£2.92m£2.58m—
Operating profit or loss-£2.36m-£971k-£922k-£2.56m-£2.46m-£2.06m-£1.34m
Profit or loss before tax-£2.56m-£1.1m-£1m-£2.72m-£2.75m-£2.65m-£1.34m
Profit or loss after tax-£2.56m-£1.1m-£1m-£2.72m-£2.75m-£2.65m-£1.34m
Player amortisation£239k£114k£42k£26k£64k£60k£59k
Cash£127k£8k£24k£19k£88k£483k£760k
Borrowings——————£48k
Net assets or liabilities-£16.5m-£17.6m-£18.6m-£21.4m-£24.1m-£5.63m-£6.97m
Average employees150142122121986359
Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived84%85%88%88%100%102%—
  • — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
  • Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
  • † Not directly comparable with the years either side.
  • Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.
  • Not disclosed in any period: Matchday revenue, Broadcast revenue, Commercial revenue, Other revenue, Player impairment, Profit on player disposals, Total assets, Total liabilities.

Sources and definitions

Where each figure comes from

Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.

Sources for Revenue
YearPublishedXBRL conceptAs filedFilingMappingDocument
FY2019£7,430,373e:TurnoverRevenue7,430,373 u1AA-2021-08-02v1Filing
FY2020£5,109,759ns6:TurnoverRevenue5,109,759 GBPAA-2023-05-31-2020v1Filing
FY2021£3,954,593ns6:TurnoverRevenue3,954,593 GBPAA-2023-05-31-2021v1Filing
FY2022£3,362,888ns6:TurnoverRevenue3,362,888 GBPAA-2024-04-19v1Filing
FY2023£2,926,997ns5:TurnoverRevenue2,926,997 GBPAA-2024-06-20v1Filing
FY2024 †£2,518,372ns5:TurnoverRevenue2,518,372 GBPAA-2025-04-30v1Filing
FY2025£5,101,100ns5:TurnoverRevenue5,101,100 GBPAA-2026-04-30v1Filing

“As filed” is the value exactly as it appears in the filing’s machine-readable (iXBRL) data. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.

What each figure means
Revenue
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
Staff costs
Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
Operating profit or loss
Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
Profit or loss before tax
Profit or loss before taxation.
Profit or loss after tax
Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
Player amortisation
Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Cash
Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
Borrowings
Interest-bearing borrowings disclosed at the reporting date; definition excludes derived net debt.
Net assets or liabilities
Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
Average employees
Average number of employees during the reporting period.
Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
Staff costs divided by total revenue.

All clubs with published accounts