Skip to content

Club finances · statutory accounts

Southampton finances

Reporting entity
Southampton Football Club Limited
Division
Championship (this season)
Latest period
Year to 30 June 2025 (FY2025 · the 2024/25 season, in the Premier League)
Company number
00053301
Accounts
Company only (not the wider group)
Filed
4 April 2026

These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.

← Southampton

In brief

In the year to 30 June 2025, Southampton brought in revenue of £157.5m, up from £84m the year before. The club made an operating loss of £62.3m and ended the period with net liabilities of £113.2m.

More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.

FY2025 at a glance

  • Revenue

    £157.5m

    £157,520,000

  • Operating loss

    £62.3m

    £62,254,000

  • Loss before tax

    £45.3m

    £45,291,000

  • Cash

    £9.35m

    £9,347,000

  • Borrowings

    Not disclosed

  • Net liabilities

    £113.2m

    £113,166,000

  • Average employees

    347

Revenue
£126.5mFY2020£157.1mFY2021£150.6mFY2022£145.5mFY2023£84mFY2024£157.5mFY2025

Bigger is not automatically healthier.

Show as a table
Revenue, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020£126.5m
FY2021£157.1m
FY2022£150.6m
FY2023£145.5m
FY2024£84m
FY2025£157.5m
Profit or loss before tax
-£75.9mFY2020-£16.9mFY2021-£5.82mFY2022-£74.4mFY2023£24.1mFY2024-£45.3mFY2025
Show as a table
Profit or loss before tax, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020Loss before tax £75.9m
FY2021Loss before tax £16.9m
FY2022Loss before tax £5.82m
FY2023Loss before tax £74.4m
FY2024Profit before tax £24.1m
FY2025Loss before tax £45.3m
Cash
£86.3mFY2020£28.4mFY2021£20.8mFY2022£13.3mFY2023£13.1mFY2024£9.35mFY2025
Show as a table
Cash, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020£86.3m
FY2021£28.4m
FY2022£20.8m
FY2023£13.3m
FY2024£13.1m
FY2025£9.35m
Net assets or liabilities
£12.7mFY2020£2.66mFY2021-£1.7mFY2022-£82.1mFY2023-£68.4mFY2024-£113.2mFY2025
Show as a table
Net assets or liabilities, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020Net assets £12.7m
FY2021Net assets £2.66m
FY2022Net liabilities £1.7m
FY2023Net liabilities £82.1m
FY2024Net liabilities £68.4m
FY2025Net liabilities £113.2m
Average employees
431FY2020385FY2021408FY2022403FY2023342FY2024347FY2025
Show as a table
Average employees, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020431
FY2021385
FY2022408
FY2023403
FY2024342
FY2025347
Staff costs
£114.2mFY2020£113.4mFY2021£113.4mFY2022£121.1mFY2023£79mFY2024£114mFY2025
Show as a table
Staff costs, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020£114.2m
FY2021£113.4m
FY2022£113.4m
FY2023£121.1m
FY2024£79m
FY2025£114m

Every year

Southampton published figures by financial year
FigureFY2020PLcompanyFY2021PLcompanyFY2022PLcompanyFY2023PLcompanyFY2024ChampcompanyFY2025PLcompany
Revenue£126.5m£157.1m£150.6m£145.5m£84m£157.5m
Matchday revenue£14.5m£625k£17.4m£19.1m£16.1m£19.7m
Broadcast revenue£93.5m£136m£115.2m£108m£55.9m£114.7m
Commercial revenue£17m£19.2m£15.9m£15.4m£9.85m£20.8m
Other revenue£1.51m£1.33m£2.15m£2.97m£2.19m£2.39m
Staff costs£114.2m£113.4m£113.4m£121.1m£79m£114m
Operating profit or loss-£87.2m-£31.4m-£35.3m-£76.3m-£88.8m-£62.3m
Profit or loss before tax-£75.9m-£16.9m-£5.82m-£74.4m£24.1m-£45.3m
Profit or loss after tax-£62m-£10.1m-£4.36m-£80.4m£13.7m-£44.8m
Player amortisation£56.7m£47.4m£35.1m£52m£51.1m£52.8m
Player impairment (negative = reversed)£6.4m£0———£0
Profit or loss on player sales£13.9m£16m£31.2m£7.44m£123m£28.4m
Cash£86.3m£28.4m£20.8m£13.3m£13.1m£9.35m
Borrowings£0—£0———
Total assets£241m£179.8m£172.7m£194m£165.8m£175.9m
Total liabilities£228.3m£177.2m£174.4m£276.1m£234.2m£289.1m
Net assets or liabilities£12.7m£2.66m-£1.7m-£82.1m-£68.4m-£113.2m
Average employees431385408403342347
Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived90%72%75%83%94%72%
  • — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
  • Under each year: the division the club played in that season (PL Premier League, Champ Championship); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
  • Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
  • Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.

Sources and definitions

Where each figure comes from

Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.

Sources for Revenue
YearPublishedConceptAs filedFilingMappingDocument
FY2020£126,482,000pdf:Turnover126,482 GBPAA-2021-02-01v3Filing
FY2021£157,143,000pdf:Turnover157,143 GBPAA-2022-03-24v3Filing
FY2022£150,628,000pdf:Turnover150,628 GBPAA-2023-04-08v3Filing
FY2023£145,467,000pdf:Turnover145,467 GBPAA-2024-03-03v3Filing
FY2024£84,001,000pdf:Turnover84,001 GBPAA-2025-05-02v3Filing
FY2025£157,520,000pdf:Turnover157,520 GBPAA-2026-04-04v3Filing

“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.

What each figure means
Revenue
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
Matchday revenue
Revenue attributable to matchday activities where separately disclosed.
Broadcast revenue
Revenue attributable to broadcasting/media rights where separately disclosed.
Commercial revenue
Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
Other revenue
Other revenue not included in the principal disclosed categories.
Staff costs
Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
Operating profit or loss
Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
Profit or loss before tax
Profit or loss before taxation.
Profit or loss after tax
Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
Player amortisation
Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Player impairment (negative = reversed)
Impairment of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Profit or loss on player sales
Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
Cash
Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
Borrowings
Interest-bearing borrowings disclosed at the reporting date; definition excludes derived net debt.
Total assets
Total assets at the reporting date.
Total liabilities
Total liabilities at the reporting date.
Net assets or liabilities
Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
Average employees
Average number of employees during the reporting period.
Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
Staff costs divided by total revenue.

All clubs with published accounts