Club finances · statutory accounts
Sheffield Wednesday finances
- Reporting entity
- SHEFFIELD WEDNESDAY FOOTBALL CLUB LIMITED
- Division
- League One (this season)
- Latest period
- Year to 31 July 2024 (FY2024 · the 2023/24 season, in the Championship)
- Company number
- 02509978
- Accounts
- Company only (not the wider group)
- Filed
- 30 December 2024
These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2024 filing.
In brief
In the year to 31 July 2024, Sheffield Wednesday brought in revenue of £26.3m, up from £19.3m the year before. The club made an operating loss of £9.26m and ended the period with net liabilities of £81.9m.
More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.
FY2024 at a glance
Revenue
£26.3m
£26,335,000
Operating loss
£9.26m
£9,259,000
Loss before tax
£10m
£10,012,000
Cash
£156k
£156,000
Borrowings
£6.63m
£6,625,000
Net liabilities
£81.9m
£81,915,000
Average employees
271
Over time
Bigger is not automatically healthier.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £20.9m |
| FY2021 | £11.6m |
| FY2022 | £16.4m |
| FY2023 | £19.3m |
| FY2024 | £26.3m |
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | Loss before tax £24.1m |
| FY2021 | Loss before tax £25.8m |
| FY2022 | Loss before tax £7.35m |
| FY2023 | Loss before tax £7.24m |
| FY2024 | Loss before tax £10m |
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £485k |
| FY2021 | £503k |
| FY2022 | £884k |
| FY2023 | £856k |
| FY2024 | £156k |
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | Net liabilities £32.4m |
| FY2021 | Net liabilities £58.2m |
| FY2022 | Net liabilities £65.5m |
| FY2023 | Net liabilities £72.1m |
| FY2024 | Net liabilities £81.9m |
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | 283 |
| FY2021 | 246 |
| FY2022 | 257 |
| FY2023 | 282 |
| FY2024 | 271 |
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £33.5m |
| FY2021 | £24.3m |
| FY2022 | £12.4m |
| FY2023 | £15.8m |
| FY2024 | £21.8m |
Every year
| Figure | FY2020Champcompany | FY2021Champcompany | FY2022L1company | FY2023L1company | FY2024Champcompany |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | £20.9m | £11.6m | £16.4m | £19.3m | £26.3m |
| Commercial revenue | £5.74m | £3.75m | £6.37m | £8.72m | £8.39m |
| Other revenue | £15.1m | £7.89m | £9.99m | £10.6m | £17.9m |
| Staff costs | £33.5m | £24.3m | £12.4m | £15.8m | £21.8m |
| Operating profit or loss | -£23.6m | -£24.9m | -£6.36m | -£6.47m | -£9.26m |
| Profit or loss before tax | -£24.1m | -£25.8m | -£7.35m | -£7.24m | -£10m |
| Profit or loss after tax | -£24.1m | -£25.8m | -£7.35m | -£6.54m | -£9.84m |
| Player amortisation | £6.04m | £4.72m | £749k | £432k | £849k |
| Profit or loss on player sales | £6.2m | £565k | — | — | £122k |
| Cash | £485k | £503k | £884k | £856k | £156k |
| Borrowings | — | — | £6.5m | £6.07m | £6.63m |
| Total assets | £54.6m | £36.1m | £21.4m | £6.59m | £7.26m |
| Total liabilities | £87m | £94.3m | £87m | £78.7m | £89.2m |
| Net assets or liabilities | -£32.4m | -£58.2m | -£65.5m | -£72.1m | -£81.9m |
| Average employees | 283 | 246 | 257 | 282 | 271 |
| Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived | 161% | 209% | 76% | 82% | 83% |
- — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
- Under each year: the division the club played in that season (Champ Championship, L1 League One); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
- Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
- Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.
- Not disclosed in any period: Matchday revenue, Broadcast revenue, Player impairment.
Sources and definitions
Where each figure comes from
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
| Year | Published | Concept | As filed | Filing | Mapping | Document |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2020 | £20,861,000 | pdf:Turnover | 20,861 GBP | AA-2021-07-07 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2021 | £11,644,000 | pdf:Turnover | 11,644 GBP | AA-2022-05-19 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2022 | £16,359,000 | pdf:Turnover | 16,359 GBP | AA-2023-07-31 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2023 | £19,311,000 | pdf:Turnover | 19,311 GBP | AA-2024-03-04 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2024 | £26,335,000 | pdf:Turnover | 26,335 GBP | AA-2024-12-30 | v3 | Filing |
“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.
What each figure means
- Revenue
- Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
- Commercial revenue
- Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
- Other revenue
- Other revenue not included in the principal disclosed categories.
- Staff costs
- Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
- Operating profit or loss
- Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
- Profit or loss before tax
- Profit or loss before taxation.
- Profit or loss after tax
- Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
- Player amortisation
- Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
- Profit or loss on player sales
- Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
- Cash
- Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
- Borrowings
- Interest-bearing borrowings disclosed at the reporting date; definition excludes derived net debt.
- Total assets
- Total assets at the reporting date.
- Total liabilities
- Total liabilities at the reporting date.
- Net assets or liabilities
- Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
- Average employees
- Average number of employees during the reporting period.
- Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
- Staff costs divided by total revenue.