Club finances · statutory accounts
Sheffield United finances
- Reporting entity
- THE SHEFFIELD UNITED FOOTBALL CLUB LIMITED
- Division
- Championship (this season)
- Latest period
- Year to 30 June 2025 (FY2025 · the 2024/25 season, in the Championship)
- Company number
- 00061564
- Accounts
- Company only (not the wider group)
- Filed
- 29 March 2026
These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.
In brief
In the year to 30 June 2025, Sheffield United brought in revenue of £79.3m, down from £137.6m the year before. The club made an operating profit of £8.74m and ended the period with net assets of £4.02m.
More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.
FY2025 at a glance
Revenue
£79.3m
£79,331,157
Operating profit
£8.74m
£8,738,243
Profit before tax
£2.59m
£2,593,344
Cash
£2.78m
£2,775,403
Borrowings
£45.5m
£45,458,695
Net assets
£4.02m
£4,017,654
Average employees
287
Over time
† These years are not directly comparable with the years either side, so they are shown hatched and no trend is drawn through them:
- FY2020: a 13-month accounting period.
- FY2021: a 11-month accounting period.
- FY2023: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Bigger is not automatically healthier.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | £143.1m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £115.2m |
| FY2022 | £66.7m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | £63.9m |
| FY2024 | £137.6m |
| FY2025 | £79.3m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | Profit before tax £19m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | Profit before tax £10.3m |
| FY2022 | Loss before tax £16m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | Loss before tax £31.5m |
| FY2024 | Profit before tax £3.9m |
| FY2025 | Profit before tax £2.59m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | £7.06m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £2.44m |
| FY2022 | £1.64m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | £630k |
| FY2024 | £377k |
| FY2025 | £2.78m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | Net liabilities £7.47m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | Net assets £2.09m |
| FY2022 | Net assets £11.7m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | Net assets £9m |
| FY2024 | Net assets £3.28m |
| FY2025 | Net assets £4.02m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | 238 |
| FY2021 † not comparable | 245 |
| FY2022 | 276 |
| FY2023 † not comparable | 295 |
| FY2024 | 305 |
| FY2025 | 287 |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | £77.9m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £56.5m |
| FY2022 | £42.1m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | £48.2m |
| FY2024 | £63.7m |
| FY2025 | £46m |
Every year
| Figure | FY2020 †PLcompany · 13 months | FY2021 †PLcompany · 11 months | FY2022Champcompany | FY2023 †Champcompany | FY2024PLcompany | FY2025Champcompany |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | £143.1m | £115.2m | £66.7m | £63.9m | £137.6m | £79.3m |
| Matchday revenue | £6.67m | £58k | £7.11m | £9.66m | £11.5m | £13.1m |
| Broadcast revenue | £116.8m | £101.3m | £50.7m | £42.7m | £114.3m | £57.9m |
| Commercial revenue | £14.8m | £9.99m | £3.66m | £5.2m | £7.26m | £2.98m |
| Other revenue | £4.81m | £3.87m | £5.18m | £6.4m | £4.51m | £5.34m |
| Staff costs | £77.9m | £56.5m | £42.1m | £48.2m | £63.7m | £46m |
| Operating profit or loss | £19.8m | £12.8m | -£12.9m | -£27.6m | £11.9m | £8.74m |
| Profit or loss before tax | £19m | £10.3m | -£16m | -£31.5m | £3.9m | £2.59m |
| Profit or loss after tax | £17.7m | £9.56m | -£15.3m | -£31.5m | £2.42m | £784k |
| Player amortisation | £17.4m | £25.8m | £24.8m | £18.1m | £20.4m | £16.3m |
| Player impairment (negative = reversed) | £2.56m | — | — | — | — | £572k |
| Profit or loss on player sales | £4.11m | £1.13m | £11.2m | £4.42m | £19.4m | £25.4m |
| Cash | £7.06m | £2.44m | £1.64m | £630k | £377k | £2.78m |
| Borrowings | — | £30m | £40.5m | £52.8m | £51m | £45.5m |
| Total assets | £119.5m | £126.1m | £113.6m | £103m | £115.2m | £107.1m |
| Total liabilities | £127m | £124m | £101.9m | £94m | £111.9m | £103.1m |
| Net assets or liabilities | -£7.47m | £2.09m | £11.7m | £9m | £3.28m | £4.02m |
| Average employees | 238 | 245 | 276 | 295 | 305 | 287 |
| Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived | 54% | 49% | 63% | 75% | 46% | 58% |
- — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
- Under each year: the division the club played in that season (PL Premier League, Champ Championship); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
- Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
- † Not directly comparable with the years either side.
- Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.
Sources and definitions
Where each figure comes from
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
| Year | Published | Concept | As filed | Filing | Mapping | Document |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2020 † | £143,137,157 | pdf:Turnover | 143,137,157 GBP | AA-2021-05-12 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2021 † | £115,221,103 | pdf:Turnover | 115,221,103 GBP | AA-2022-04-05 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2022 | £66,684,771 | pdf:Turnover | 66,684,771 GBP | AA-2023-07-03 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2023 † | £63,932,388 | pdf:Turnover | 63,932,388 GBP | AA-2024-03-19 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2024 | £137,599,836 | pdf:Turnover | 137,599,836 GBP | AA-2025-04-04 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2025 | £79,331,157 | pdf:Turnover | 79,331,157 GBP | AA-2026-03-29 | v3 | Filing |
“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.
What each figure means
- Revenue
- Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
- Matchday revenue
- Revenue attributable to matchday activities where separately disclosed.
- Broadcast revenue
- Revenue attributable to broadcasting/media rights where separately disclosed.
- Commercial revenue
- Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
- Other revenue
- Other revenue not included in the principal disclosed categories.
- Staff costs
- Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
- Operating profit or loss
- Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
- Profit or loss before tax
- Profit or loss before taxation.
- Profit or loss after tax
- Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
- Player amortisation
- Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
- Player impairment (negative = reversed)
- Impairment of player registrations/intangible player assets.
- Profit or loss on player sales
- Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
- Cash
- Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
- Borrowings
- Interest-bearing borrowings disclosed at the reporting date; definition excludes derived net debt.
- Total assets
- Total assets at the reporting date.
- Total liabilities
- Total liabilities at the reporting date.
- Net assets or liabilities
- Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
- Average employees
- Average number of employees during the reporting period.
- Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
- Staff costs divided by total revenue.