Skip to content

Club finances · statutory accounts

Rotherham finances

Reporting entity
ROTHERHAM UNITED FOOTBALL CLUB (RUFC) LIMITED
Division
League Two (this season)
Latest period
Year to 30 June 2025 (FY2025 · the 2024/25 season, in the League One)
Company number
06550400
Accounts
Company only (not the wider group)
Filed
13 April 2026

These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.

← Rotherham

In brief

In the year to 30 June 2025, Rotherham brought in revenue of £10.5m, down from £19.2m the year before. The club made an operating loss of £4.65m and ended the period with net liabilities of £9.43m.

More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.

FY2025 at a glance

  • Revenue

    £10.5m

    £10,518,506

  • Operating loss

    £4.65m

    £4,651,389

  • Loss before tax

    £4.65m

    £4,649,855

  • Cash

    £289k

    £289,247

  • Borrowings

    Not disclosed

  • Net liabilities

    £9.43m

    £9,434,778

  • Average employees

    153

Revenue
£9.63mFY2020£12.1mFY2021£9.85mFY2022£15.7mFY2023£19.2mFY2024£10.5mFY2025

Bigger is not automatically healthier.

Show as a table
Revenue, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020£9.63m
FY2021£12.1m
FY2022£9.85m
FY2023£15.7m
FY2024£19.2m
FY2025£10.5m
Profit or loss before tax
-£1.24mFY2020-£867kFY2021-£1.69mFY2022-£1.08mFY2023-£1.7mFY2024-£4.65mFY2025
Show as a table
Profit or loss before tax, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020Loss before tax £1.24m
FY2021Loss before tax £867k
FY2022Loss before tax £1.69m
FY2023Loss before tax £1.08m
FY2024Loss before tax £1.7m
FY2025Loss before tax £4.65m
Cash
£255kFY2020£1.82mFY2021£142kFY2022£57kFY2023£970kFY2024£289kFY2025
Show as a table
Cash, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020£255k
FY2021£1.82m
FY2022£142k
FY2023£57k
FY2024£970k
FY2025£289k
Net assets or liabilities
-£64kFY2020-£770kFY2021-£2.21mFY2022-£3.09mFY2023-£4.78mFY2024-£9.43mFY2025
Show as a table
Net assets or liabilities, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020Net liabilities £64k
FY2021Net liabilities £770k
FY2022Net liabilities £2.21m
FY2023Net liabilities £3.09m
FY2024Net liabilities £4.78m
FY2025Net liabilities £9.43m
Average employees
159FY2020163FY2021164FY2022166FY2023175FY2024153FY2025
Show as a table
Average employees, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020159
FY2021163
FY2022164
FY2023166
FY2024175
FY2025153
Staff costs
£5.77mFY2020£8.21mFY2021£6.59mFY2022£10.3mFY2023£12.9mFY2024£8.62mFY2025
Show as a table
Staff costs, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020£5.77m
FY2021£8.21m
FY2022£6.59m
FY2023£10.3m
FY2024£12.9m
FY2025£8.62m

Every year

Rotherham published figures by financial year
FigureFY2020L1companyFY2021ChampcompanyFY2022L1companyFY2023ChampcompanyFY2024ChampcompanyFY2025L1company
Revenue£9.63m£12.1m£9.85m£15.7m£19.2m£10.5m
Matchday revenue£1.74m£21k£2.63m£2.58m£2.88m£3.8m
Broadcast revenue£2.83m£8.59m£3.13m£8.92m£9.58m£2.55m
Commercial revenue£2.86m£3.14m£3.83m£3.96m£4.07m£3.78m
Other revenue£2.21m£355k£263k£225k£2.65m£393k
Staff costs£5.77m£8.21m£6.59m£10.3m£12.9m£8.62m
Operating profit or loss-£1.24m-£861k-£1.69m-£1.08m-£1.7m-£4.65m
Profit or loss before tax-£1.24m-£867k-£1.69m-£1.08m-£1.7m-£4.65m
Profit or loss after tax-£1.24m-£706k-£1.44m-£878k-£1.7m-£4.65m
Player amortisation£379k£485k£562k£475k£690k£363k
Profit or loss on player sales-£46k£0£1.09m£870k£267k£414k
Cash£255k£1.82m£142k£57k£970k£289k
Total assets£2.53m£3.53m£3.19m£2.42m£4.58m£2.48m
Total liabilities£2.6m£4.3m£5.4m£5.5m£9.37m£11.9m
Net assets or liabilities-£64k-£770k-£2.21m-£3.09m-£4.78m-£9.43m
Average employees159163164166175153
Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived60%68%67%66%68%82%
  • — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
  • Under each year: the division the club played in that season (L1 League One, Champ Championship); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
  • Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
  • Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.
  • Not disclosed in any period: Player impairment, Borrowings.

Sources and definitions

Where each figure comes from

Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.

Sources for Revenue
YearPublishedConceptAs filedFilingMappingDocument
FY2020£9,632,276pdf:Turnover9,632,276 GBPAA-2021-03-15v3Filing
FY2021£12,112,102pdf:Turnover12,112,102 GBPAA-2022-04-05v3Filing
FY2022£9,852,701pdf:Turnover9,852,701 GBPAA-2023-03-08v3Filing
FY2023£15,686,000pdf:Turnover15,686,000 GBPAA-2024-02-29v3Filing
FY2024£19,172,906pdf:Turnover19,172,906 GBPAA-2025-03-17v3Filing
FY2025£10,518,506pdf:Turnover10,518,506 GBPAA-2026-04-13v3Filing

“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.

What each figure means
Revenue
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
Matchday revenue
Revenue attributable to matchday activities where separately disclosed.
Broadcast revenue
Revenue attributable to broadcasting/media rights where separately disclosed.
Commercial revenue
Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
Other revenue
Other revenue not included in the principal disclosed categories.
Staff costs
Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
Operating profit or loss
Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
Profit or loss before tax
Profit or loss before taxation.
Profit or loss after tax
Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
Player amortisation
Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Profit or loss on player sales
Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
Cash
Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
Total assets
Total assets at the reporting date.
Total liabilities
Total liabilities at the reporting date.
Net assets or liabilities
Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
Average employees
Average number of employees during the reporting period.
Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
Staff costs divided by total revenue.

All clubs with published accounts