Skip to content

Club finances · statutory accounts

Reading finances

Reporting entity
THE READING FOOTBALL CLUB LIMITED
Division
League One (this season)
Latest period
Year to 30 June 2025 (FY2025 · the 2024/25 season, in the League One)
Company number
00053703
Accounts
Consolidated (whole group) in FY2025; Company only (not the wider group) in FY2020–FY2024
Filed
30 March 2026

These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.

← Reading

In brief

In the year to 30 June 2025, Reading brought in revenue of £9.81m. The club made an operating loss of £3.76m and ended the period with net liabilities of £93.6m. FY2025 is not directly comparable, so no year-on-year change is given.

More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.

FY2025 at a glance

  • Revenue

    £9.81m

    £9,805,651

  • Operating loss

    £3.76m

    £3,761,188

  • Loss before tax

    £3.88m

    £3,882,035

  • Cash

    £267k

    £267,164

  • Borrowings

    Not disclosed

  • Net liabilities

    £93.6m

    £93,568,476

  • Average employees

    284

† These years are not directly comparable with the years either side, so they are shown hatched and no trend is drawn through them:

  • FY2024: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
  • FY2025: the accounts start covering the whole group.
Revenue
£17.8mFY2020£13.8mFY2021£16.9mFY2022£18.7mFY2023£10mFY2024†£9.81mFY2025†

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Bigger is not automatically healthier.

Show as a table
Revenue, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020£17.8m
FY2021£13.8m
FY2022£16.9m
FY2023£18.7m
FY2024 † not comparable£10m
FY2025 † not comparable£9.81m
Profit or loss before tax
-£42mFY2020-£35.7mFY2021-£17.3mFY2022-£21.7mFY2023-£12.4mFY2024†-£3.88mFY2025†

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Profit or loss before tax, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020Loss before tax £42m
FY2021Loss before tax £35.7m
FY2022Loss before tax £17.3m
FY2023Loss before tax £21.7m
FY2024 † not comparableLoss before tax £12.4m
FY2025 † not comparableLoss before tax £3.88m
Cash
£1.99mFY2020£6.53mFY2021£1.08mFY2022£210kFY2023£716kFY2024†£267kFY2025†

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Cash, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020£1.99m
FY2021£6.53m
FY2022£1.08m
FY2023£210k
FY2024 † not comparable£716k
FY2025 † not comparable£267k
Net assets or liabilities
-£66.2mFY2020-£71.9mFY2021-£62.9mFY2022-£78.6mFY2023-£91mFY2024†-£93.6mFY2025†

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Net assets or liabilities, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020Net liabilities £66.2m
FY2021Net liabilities £71.9m
FY2022Net liabilities £62.9m
FY2023Net liabilities £78.6m
FY2024 † not comparableNet liabilities £91m
FY2025 † not comparableNet liabilities £93.6m
Average employees
494FY2020192FY2021249FY2022283FY2023288FY2024†284FY2025†

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Average employees, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020494
FY2021192
FY2022249
FY2023283
FY2024 † not comparable288
FY2025 † not comparable284
Staff costs
£37.6mFY2020£32.2mFY2021£25.3mFY2022£24.5mFY2023£14mFY2024†£12.4mFY2025†

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Staff costs, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020£37.6m
FY2021£32.2m
FY2022£25.3m
FY2023£24.5m
FY2024 † not comparable£14m
FY2025 † not comparable£12.4m

Every year

Reading published figures by financial year
FigureFY2020ChampcompanyFY2021ChampcompanyFY2022ChampcompanyFY2023ChampcompanyFY2024 †L1companyFY2025 †L1group
Revenue£17.8m£13.8m£16.9m£18.7m£10m£9.81m
Matchday revenue£3.56m£580k£3.64m£4.85m£3.98m£4.27m
Broadcast revenue£8.18m£9.37m£8.45m£9.39m£2.68m£2.45m
Commercial revenue£4.57m£3.27m£4.65m£4.3m£3.03m£2.99m
Other revenue£1.46m£545k£163k£136k£322k£102k
Staff costs£37.6m£32.2m£25.3m£24.5m£14m£12.4m
Operating profit or loss-£43.5m-£36.4m-£25.3m-£31m-£15.5m-£3.76m
Profit or loss before tax-£42m-£35.7m-£17.3m-£21.7m-£12.4m-£3.88m
Profit or loss after tax-£42m-£35.7m-£17.3m-£21.7m-£12.4m-£3.88m
Player amortisation£9.21m£8.29m£5.24m£4.5m£0—
Player impairment (negative = reversed)£0——£709k——
Profit or loss on player sales£1.61m£723k£8.09m£1.65m£3.18m£9.51m
Cash£1.99m£6.53m£1.08m£210k£716k£267k
Total assets£45.9m£46m£35.8m£18.3m£17.6m£42.1m
Total liabilities£112.1m£117.9m£98.7m£96.9m£108.6m£135.7m
Net assets or liabilities-£66.2m-£71.9m-£62.9m-£78.6m-£91m-£93.6m
Average employees494192249283288284
Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived211%234%150%131%140%127%
  • — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
  • Under each year: the division the club played in that season (Champ Championship, L1 League One); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
  • Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
  • † Not directly comparable with the years either side.
  • Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.
  • Not disclosed in any period: Borrowings.

Sources and definitions

Where each figure comes from

Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.

Sources for Revenue
YearPublishedConceptAs filedFilingMappingDocument
FY2020£17,767,865pdf:Turnover17,767,865 GBPAA-2021-04-12v3Filing
FY2021£13,766,170pdf:Turnover13,766,170 GBPAA-2022-02-25v3Filing
FY2022£16,906,169pdf:Turnover16,906,169 GBPAA-2023-03-16v3Filing
FY2023£18,679,926pdf:Turnover18,679,926 GBPAA-2025-03-25v3Filing
FY2024 †£10,001,547pdf:Turnover10,001,547 GBPAA-2025-05-06v3Filing
FY2025 †£9,805,651pdf:Turnover9,805,651 GBPAA-2026-03-30v3Filing

“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.

What each figure means
Revenue
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
Matchday revenue
Revenue attributable to matchday activities where separately disclosed.
Broadcast revenue
Revenue attributable to broadcasting/media rights where separately disclosed.
Commercial revenue
Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
Other revenue
Other revenue not included in the principal disclosed categories.
Staff costs
Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
Operating profit or loss
Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
Profit or loss before tax
Profit or loss before taxation.
Profit or loss after tax
Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
Player amortisation
Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Player impairment (negative = reversed)
Impairment of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Profit or loss on player sales
Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
Cash
Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
Total assets
Total assets at the reporting date.
Total liabilities
Total liabilities at the reporting date.
Net assets or liabilities
Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
Average employees
Average number of employees during the reporting period.
Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
Staff costs divided by total revenue.

All clubs with published accounts