Skip to content

Club finances · statutory accounts

Preston finances

Reporting entity
The Preston North End Football Club Limited
Division
Championship (this season)
Latest period
Year to 30 June 2025 (FY2025 · the 2024/25 season, in the Championship)
Company number
00039494
Accounts
Company only (not the wider group)
Filed
30 December 2025

These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.

← Preston

In brief

In the year to 30 June 2025, Preston brought in revenue of £18.9m, up from £15.3m the year before. The club made an operating loss of £16m and ended the period with net assets of £788k.

More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.

FY2025 at a glance

  • Revenue

    £18.9m

    £18,876,000

  • Operating loss

    £16m

    £16,017,000

  • Loss before tax

    £16m

    £15,981,000

  • Cash

    £2.37m

    £2,372,000

  • Borrowings

    £0

    £0

  • Net assets

    £788k

    £788,000

  • Average employees

    123

† This year is not directly comparable with the years either side, so it is shown hatched and no trend is drawn through it:

  • FY2020: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
Revenue
£11.2mFY2020†£10.6mFY2021£12.4mFY2022£14mFY2023£15.3mFY2024£18.9mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Bigger is not automatically healthier.

Show as a table
Revenue, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable£11.2m
FY2021£10.6m
FY2022£12.4m
FY2023£14m
FY2024£15.3m
FY2025£18.9m
Profit or loss before tax
-£9.06mFY2020†-£15.9mFY2021-£18.9mFY2022-£12.7mFY2023-£12.3mFY2024-£16mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Profit or loss before tax, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparableLoss before tax £9.06m
FY2021Loss before tax £15.9m
FY2022Loss before tax £18.9m
FY2023Loss before tax £12.7m
FY2024Loss before tax £12.3m
FY2025Loss before tax £16m
Cash
£1.2mFY2020†£1.25mFY2021£2.56mFY2022£1.7mFY2023£1.65mFY2024£2.37mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Cash, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable£1.2m
FY2021£1.25m
FY2022£2.56m
FY2023£1.7m
FY2024£1.65m
FY2025£2.37m
Net assets or liabilities
£4.78mFY2020†£127kFY2021-£1.03mFY2022-£492kFY2023£447kFY2024£788kFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Net assets or liabilities, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparableNet assets £4.78m
FY2021Net assets £127k
FY2022Net liabilities £1.03m
FY2023Net liabilities £492k
FY2024Net assets £447k
FY2025Net assets £788k
Average employees
80FY2020†100FY2021113FY2022115FY2023120FY2024123FY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Average employees, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable80
FY2021100
FY2022113
FY2023115
FY2024120
FY2025123
Staff costs
£20mFY2020†£22.9mFY2021£24mFY2022£21mFY2023£21.3mFY2024£25.7mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Staff costs, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable£20m
FY2021£22.9m
FY2022£24m
FY2023£21m
FY2024£21.3m
FY2025£25.7m

Every year

Preston published figures by financial year
FigureFY2020 †ChampcompanyFY2021ChampcompanyFY2022ChampcompanyFY2023ChampcompanyFY2024ChampcompanyFY2025Champcompany
Revenue£11.2m£10.6m£12.4m£14m£15.3m£18.9m
Matchday revenue£2.95m£550k£3.01m£3.85m£4.32m£5.39m
Broadcast revenue£7.04m£8.89m£8.06m£8.68m£9.48m£11.8m
Commercial revenue£1.08m£1.09m£1.27m£1.4m£1.43m£1.59m
Other revenue£109k£52k£66k£96k£80k£83k
Staff costs£20m£22.9m£24m£21m£21.3m£25.7m
Operating profit or loss-£9.06m-£15.9m—-£12.7m-£12.3m-£16m
Profit or loss before tax-£9.06m-£15.9m-£18.9m-£12.7m-£12.3m-£16m
Profit or loss after tax-£6.35m-£13.6m-£15.6m-£8.94m-£8.89m-£11.7m
Player amortisation£4.01m£3.86m£3.37m£2.08m£2.08m£3.61m
Profit or loss on player sales£7.02m£725k£302k£786k£382k£0
Cash£1.2m£1.25m£2.56m£1.7m£1.65m£2.37m
Borrowings£0£0£0£0£0£0
Total assets£9.63m£7.79m£7.28m£5.33m£7.44m£10.3m
Total liabilities£4.85m£7.66m£8.31m£5.82m£6.99m£9.52m
Net assets or liabilities£4.78m£127k-£1.03m-£492k£447k£788k
Average employees80100113115120123
Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived179%216%193%150%139%136%
  • — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
  • Under each year: the division the club played in that season (Champ Championship); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
  • Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
  • † Not directly comparable with the years either side.
  • Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.
  • Not disclosed in any period: Player impairment.

Sources and definitions

Where each figure comes from

Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.

Sources for Revenue
YearPublishedConceptAs filedFilingMappingDocument
FY2020 †£11,181,000pdf:Turnover11,181 GBPAA-2021-03-10v3Filing
FY2021£10,587,000pdf:Turnover10,587 GBPAA-2022-02-22v3Filing
FY2022£12,406,000pdf:Turnover12,406 GBPAA-2023-01-18v3Filing
FY2023£14,025,000pdf:Turnover14,025 GBPAA-2024-01-16v3Filing
FY2024£15,311,000pdf:Turnover15,311 GBPAA-2024-12-06v3Filing
FY2025£18,876,000pdf:Turnover18,876 GBPAA-2025-12-30v3Filing

“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.

What each figure means
Revenue
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
Matchday revenue
Revenue attributable to matchday activities where separately disclosed.
Broadcast revenue
Revenue attributable to broadcasting/media rights where separately disclosed.
Commercial revenue
Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
Other revenue
Other revenue not included in the principal disclosed categories.
Staff costs
Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
Operating profit or loss
Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
Profit or loss before tax
Profit or loss before taxation.
Profit or loss after tax
Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
Player amortisation
Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Profit or loss on player sales
Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
Cash
Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
Borrowings
Interest-bearing borrowings disclosed at the reporting date; definition excludes derived net debt.
Total assets
Total assets at the reporting date.
Total liabilities
Total liabilities at the reporting date.
Net assets or liabilities
Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
Average employees
Average number of employees during the reporting period.
Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
Staff costs divided by total revenue.

All clubs with published accounts