Club finances · statutory accounts
Portsmouth finances
- Reporting entity
- PORTSMOUTH COMMUNITY FOOTBALL CLUB LIMITED
- Division
- Championship (this season)
- Latest period
- Year to 30 June 2025 (FY2025 · the 2024/25 season, in the Championship)
- Company number
- 07940335
- Accounts
- Company only (not the wider group)
- Filed
- 18 March 2026
These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.
In brief
In the year to 30 June 2025, Portsmouth brought in revenue of £24.6m, up from £13.6m the year before.
More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.
FY2025 at a glance
Revenue
£24.6m
£24,568,000
Operating profit or loss
Not disclosed
Loss before tax
£4.36m
£4,360,000
Cash
£2.04m
£2,043,000
Borrowings
£8m
£8,000,000
Net assets
£22.1m
£22,113,000
Average employees
141
Over time
† This year is not directly comparable with the years either side, so it is shown hatched and no trend is drawn through it:
- FY2023: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Bigger is not automatically healthier.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £11.3m |
| FY2021 | £7.38m |
| FY2022 | £11.9m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | £12.5m |
| FY2024 | £13.6m |
| FY2025 | £24.6m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | Profit before tax £260k |
| FY2021 | Loss before tax £3.86m |
| FY2022 | Loss before tax £2.91m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | Loss before tax £3.09m |
| FY2024 | Loss before tax £5.61m |
| FY2025 | Loss before tax £4.36m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £3.28m |
| FY2021 | £1.01m |
| FY2022 | £2.81m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | £2.82m |
| FY2024 | £3.12m |
| FY2025 | £2.04m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | Net assets £14.9m |
| FY2021 | Net assets £11.1m |
| FY2022 | Net assets £17.2m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | Net assets £23.1m |
| FY2024 | Net assets £26.5m |
| FY2025 | Net assets £22.1m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | 119 |
| FY2021 | 117 |
| FY2022 | 138 |
| FY2023 † not comparable | 123 |
| FY2024 | 130 |
| FY2025 | 141 |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £8.07m |
| FY2021 | £7.86m |
| FY2022 | £7.87m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | £8.29m |
| FY2024 | £10.6m |
| FY2025 | £17.4m |
Every year
| Figure | FY2020L1company | FY2021L1company | FY2022L1company | FY2023 †L1company | FY2024L1company | FY2025Champcompany |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | £11.3m | £7.38m | £11.9m | £12.5m | £13.6m | £24.6m |
| Matchday revenue | £6.41m | £204k | £6.07m | £6.79m | £6.88m | £8.19m |
| Broadcast revenue | £3.26m | £5.48m | £3.25m | £2.91m | £2.49m | £11.6m |
| Commercial revenue | £1.12m | £713k | £839k | £901k | £1.83m | £2.29m |
| Other revenue | £494k | £986k | £1.78m | £1.9m | £2.41m | £2.52m |
| Staff costs | £8.07m | £7.86m | £7.87m | £8.29m | £10.6m | £17.4m |
| Profit or loss before tax | £260k | -£3.86m | -£2.91m | -£3.09m | -£5.61m | -£4.36m |
| Profit or loss after tax | £260k | -£3.86m | -£2.91m | -£3.09m | -£5.61m | -£4.36m |
| Player amortisation | £1.24m | £1.14m | £908k | £592k | £913k | £1.64m |
| Profit or loss on player sales | £2.24m | £9k | -£171k | £748k | £34k | £393k |
| Cash | £3.28m | £1.01m | £2.81m | £2.82m | £3.12m | £2.04m |
| Borrowings | £0 | £0 | £0 | £0 | £0 | £8m |
| Total assets | £23.3m | £18.2m | £25m | £32.7m | £37.9m | £42.8m |
| Total liabilities | £8.33m | £7.12m | £7.79m | £9.64m | £11.4m | £20.7m |
| Net assets or liabilities | £14.9m | £11.1m | £17.2m | £23.1m | £26.5m | £22.1m |
| Average employees | 119 | 117 | 138 | 123 | 130 | 141 |
| Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived | 72% | 106% | 66% | 66% | 78% | 71% |
- — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
- Under each year: the division the club played in that season (L1 League One, Champ Championship); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
- Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
- † Not directly comparable with the years either side.
- Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.
- Not disclosed in any period: Operating profit, Player impairment.
Sources and definitions
Where each figure comes from
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
| Year | Published | Concept | As filed | Filing | Mapping | Document |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2020 | £11,284,126 | pdf:Turnover | 11,284,126 GBP | AA-2021-03-30 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2021 | £7,380,733 | pdf:Turnover | 7,380,733 GBP | AA-2022-03-30 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2022 | £11,946,249 | pdf:Turnover | 11,946,249 GBP | AA-2023-03-30 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2023 † | £12,504,685 | pdf:Turnover | 12,504,685 GBP | AA-2024-03-27 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2024 | £13,619,408 | pdf:Turnover | 13,619,408 GBP | AA-2024-12-30 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2025 | £24,568,000 | pdf:Turnover | 24,568 GBP | AA-2026-03-18 | v3 | Filing |
“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.
What each figure means
- Revenue
- Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
- Matchday revenue
- Revenue attributable to matchday activities where separately disclosed.
- Broadcast revenue
- Revenue attributable to broadcasting/media rights where separately disclosed.
- Commercial revenue
- Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
- Other revenue
- Other revenue not included in the principal disclosed categories.
- Staff costs
- Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
- Profit or loss before tax
- Profit or loss before taxation.
- Profit or loss after tax
- Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
- Player amortisation
- Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
- Profit or loss on player sales
- Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
- Cash
- Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
- Borrowings
- Interest-bearing borrowings disclosed at the reporting date; definition excludes derived net debt.
- Total assets
- Total assets at the reporting date.
- Total liabilities
- Total liabilities at the reporting date.
- Net assets or liabilities
- Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
- Average employees
- Average number of employees during the reporting period.
- Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
- Staff costs divided by total revenue.