Skip to content

Club finances · statutory accounts

Plymouth finances

Reporting entity
PLYMOUTH ARGYLE FOOTBALL CLUB LIMITED
Division
League One (this season)
Latest period
Year to 30 June 2025 (FY2025 · the 2024/25 season, in the Championship)
Company number
07796376
Accounts
Consolidated (whole group) in FY2025; Company only (not the wider group) in FY2020–FY2024
Filed
23 December 2025

These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.

← Plymouth

In brief

In the year to 30 June 2025, Plymouth brought in revenue of £28.8m. The club made an operating profit of £218k and ended the period with net assets of £24.9m. FY2025 is not directly comparable, so no year-on-year change is given.

More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.

FY2025 at a glance

  • Revenue

    £28.8m

    £28,827,859

  • Operating profit

    £218k

    £217,697

  • Profit before tax

    £322k

    £322,056

  • Cash

    £2.68m

    £2,676,236

  • Borrowings

    £2.63m

    £2,628,961

  • Net assets

    £24.9m

    £24,877,495

  • Average employees

    586

† This year is not directly comparable with the years either side, so it is shown hatched and no trend is drawn through it:

  • FY2025: the accounts start covering the whole group.
Revenue
£6.97mFY2020£5.67mFY2021£11.3mFY2022£14.7mFY2023£25.6mFY2024£28.8mFY2025†

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Bigger is not automatically healthier.

Show as a table
Revenue, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020£6.97m
FY2021£5.67m
FY2022£11.3m
FY2023£14.7m
FY2024£25.6m
FY2025 † not comparable£28.8m
Profit or loss before tax
-£681kFY2020£330kFY2021-£253kFY2022-£3.45mFY2023-£2.4mFY2024£322kFY2025†

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Profit or loss before tax, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020Loss before tax £681k
FY2021Profit before tax £330k
FY2022Loss before tax £253k
FY2023Loss before tax £3.45m
FY2024Loss before tax £2.4m
FY2025 † not comparableProfit before tax £322k
Cash
£3.73mFY2020£6.75mFY2021£6.81mFY2022£5.34mFY2023£10.3mFY2024£2.68mFY2025†

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Cash, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020£3.73m
FY2021£6.75m
FY2022£6.81m
FY2023£5.34m
FY2024£10.3m
FY2025 † not comparable£2.68m
Net assets or liabilities
£11.6mFY2020£15.5mFY2021£15.3mFY2022£15.8mFY2023£24.4mFY2024£24.9mFY2025†

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Net assets or liabilities, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020Net assets £11.6m
FY2021Net assets £15.5m
FY2022Net assets £15.3m
FY2023Net assets £15.8m
FY2024Net assets £24.4m
FY2025 † not comparableNet assets £24.9m
Average employees
292FY2020262FY2021335FY2022371FY2023490FY2024586FY2025†

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Average employees, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020292
FY2021262
FY2022335
FY2023371
FY2024490
FY2025 † not comparable586
Staff costs
£4.81mFY2020£4.79mFY2021£6.02mFY2022£9.12mFY2023£16.8mFY2024£21.2mFY2025†

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Staff costs, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020£4.81m
FY2021£4.79m
FY2022£6.02m
FY2023£9.12m
FY2024£16.8m
FY2025 † not comparable£21.2m

Every year

Plymouth published figures by financial year
FigureFY2020L2companyFY2021L1companyFY2022L1companyFY2023L1companyFY2024ChampcompanyFY2025 †Champgroup
Revenue£6.97m£5.67m£11.3m£14.7m£25.6m£28.8m
Matchday revenue£2.65m£1.2m£5.84m£7.85m£10.2m£10.6m
Broadcast revenue£1.36m£1.84m£2.94m£1.89m£8.87m£11.3m
Commercial revenue£2.37m£804k£1.9m£2.91m£4.1m£4.44m
Other revenue£585k£1.83m£639k£2.01m£2.37m£2.41m
Staff costs£4.81m£4.79m£6.02m£9.12m£16.8m£21.2m
Operating profit or loss-£656k£330k-£257k-£3.57m-£2.65m£218k
Profit or loss before tax-£681k£330k-£253k-£3.45m-£2.4m£322k
Profit or loss after tax-£674k£376k-£240k-£3.45m-£2.42m£478k
Player amortisation£87k£108k£104k£178k£940k£1.95m
Profit or loss on player sales£1.13m£59k£447k£287k£810k£6.14m
Cash£3.73m£6.75m£6.81m£5.34m£10.3m£2.68m
Borrowings—————£2.63m
Total assets£17.7m£19.7m£19.8m£23.6m£33m£38.4m
Total liabilities£6.05m£4.18m£4.55m£7.79m£8.63m£13.5m
Net assets or liabilities£11.6m£15.5m£15.3m£15.8m£24.4m£24.9m
Average employees292262335371490586
Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived69%85%53%62%66%74%
  • — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
  • Under each year: the division the club played in that season (L2 League Two, L1 League One, Champ Championship); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
  • Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
  • † Not directly comparable with the years either side.
  • Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.
  • Not disclosed in any period: Player impairment.

Sources and definitions

Where each figure comes from

Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.

Sources for Revenue
YearPublishedConceptAs filedFilingMappingDocument
FY2020£6,968,148pdf:Turnover6,968,148 GBPAA-2021-02-15v3Filing
FY2021£5,673,566pdf:Turnover5,673,566 GBPAA-2021-10-25v3Filing
FY2022£11,318,718pdf:Turnover11,318,718 GBPAA-2022-09-29v3Filing
FY2023£14,662,265pdf:Turnover14,662,265 GBPAA-2023-11-21v3Filing
FY2024£25,577,001pdf:Turnover25,577,001 GBPAA-2024-12-11v3Filing
FY2025 †£28,827,859pdf:Turnover28,827,859 GBPAA-2025-12-23v3Filing

“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.

What each figure means
Revenue
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
Matchday revenue
Revenue attributable to matchday activities where separately disclosed.
Broadcast revenue
Revenue attributable to broadcasting/media rights where separately disclosed.
Commercial revenue
Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
Other revenue
Other revenue not included in the principal disclosed categories.
Staff costs
Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
Operating profit or loss
Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
Profit or loss before tax
Profit or loss before taxation.
Profit or loss after tax
Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
Player amortisation
Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Profit or loss on player sales
Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
Cash
Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
Borrowings
Interest-bearing borrowings disclosed at the reporting date; definition excludes derived net debt.
Total assets
Total assets at the reporting date.
Total liabilities
Total liabilities at the reporting date.
Net assets or liabilities
Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
Average employees
Average number of employees during the reporting period.
Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
Staff costs divided by total revenue.

All clubs with published accounts