Skip to content

Club finances · statutory accounts

Norwich finances

Reporting entity
NORWICH CITY FOOTBALL CLUB PLC
Division
Championship (this season)
Latest period
Year to 30 June 2025 (FY2025 · the 2024/25 season, in the Championship)
Company number
00154044
Accounts
Consolidated (whole group)
Filed
11 December 2025

These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.

← Norwich

In brief

In the year to 30 June 2025, Norwich brought in revenue of £39.3m, down from £73.1m the year before. The club made an operating loss of £14.4m and ended the period with net assets of £4.69m.

More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.

FY2025 at a glance

  • Revenue

    £39.3m

    £39,277,000

  • Operating loss

    £14.4m

    £14,381,000

  • Loss before tax

    £20.7m

    £20,668,000

  • Cash

    £2m

    £2,000,000

  • Borrowings

    £54m

    £53,964,000

  • Net assets

    £4.69m

    £4,692,000

  • Average employees

    408

† These years are not directly comparable with the years either side, so they are shown hatched and no trend is drawn through them:

  • FY2020: a 13-month accounting period.
  • FY2021: a 11-month accounting period.
  • FY2022: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
Revenue
£119.4mFY2020†£57.2mFY2021†£133.9mFY2022†£75.6mFY2023£73.1mFY2024£39.3mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Bigger is not automatically healthier.

Show as a table
Revenue, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable£119.4m
FY2021 † not comparable£57.2m
FY2022 † not comparable£133.9m
FY2023£75.6m
FY2024£73.1m
FY2025£39.3m
Profit or loss before tax
£2.14mFY2020†£21.5mFY2021†-£23.6mFY2022†-£27.2mFY2023-£14.4mFY2024-£20.7mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Profit or loss before tax, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparableProfit before tax £2.14m
FY2021 † not comparableProfit before tax £21.5m
FY2022 † not comparableLoss before tax £23.6m
FY2023Loss before tax £27.2m
FY2024Loss before tax £14.4m
FY2025Loss before tax £20.7m
Cash
£43.9mFY2020†£16.5mFY2021†£4.78mFY2022†£2.29mFY2023£1.79mFY2024£2mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Cash, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable£43.9m
FY2021 † not comparable£16.5m
FY2022 † not comparable£4.78m
FY2023£2.29m
FY2024£1.79m
FY2025£2m
Net assets or liabilities
£4.84mFY2020†£20.6mFY2021†£2.71mFY2022†-£21.7mFY2023-£31.2mFY2024£4.69mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Net assets or liabilities, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparableNet assets £4.84m
FY2021 † not comparableNet assets £20.6m
FY2022 † not comparableNet assets £2.71m
FY2023Net liabilities £21.7m
FY2024Net liabilities £31.2m
FY2025Net assets £4.69m
Average employees
327FY2020†332FY2021†354FY2022†370FY2023409FY2024408FY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Average employees, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable327
FY2021 † not comparable332
FY2022 † not comparable354
FY2023370
FY2024409
FY2025408
Staff costs
£88.9mFY2020†£66.6mFY2021†£118mFY2022†£56.4mFY2023£51.8mFY2024£48.1mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Staff costs, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable£88.9m
FY2021 † not comparable£66.6m
FY2022 † not comparable£118m
FY2023£56.4m
FY2024£51.8m
FY2025£48.1m

Every year

Norwich published figures by financial year
FigureFY2020 †PLgroup · 13 monthsFY2021 †Champgroup · 11 monthsFY2022 †PLgroupFY2023ChampgroupFY2024ChampgroupFY2025Champgroup
Revenue£119.4m£57.2m£133.9m£75.6m£73.1m£39.3m
Matchday revenue£12.2m£533k£16.9m£14.2m£15.7m£14.8m
Broadcast revenue£90.3m£49m£101.9m£48.6m£44.7m£12m
Commercial revenue£14.1m£5.08m£11.2m£9.6m£9.4m£9.27m
Other revenue£2.66m£2.59m£3.82m£3.19m£3.41m£3.2m
Staff costs£88.9m£66.6m£118m£56.4m£51.8m£48.1m
Operating profit or loss£4.23m£22.3m-£20.5m-£21.1m-£6.97m-£14.4m
Profit or loss before tax£2.14m£21.5m-£23.6m-£27.2m-£14.4m-£20.7m
Profit or loss after tax£1.97m£15.7m-£17.8m-£27.3m-£14.4m-£20.7m
Player amortisation£8.56m£10.7m£23.4m£23.2m£18.1m£12.1m
Player impairment (negative = reversed)£0£0£0£0£1.7m£0
Profit or loss on player sales£1.55m£59.6m-£51k£3.63m£13.4m£23.2m
Cash£43.9m£16.5m£4.78m£2.29m£1.79m£2m
Borrowings£12.5m£25.2m£66.5m£81.9m£80.4m£54m
Total assets£114.4m£144.9m£139.6m£113.3m£105.1m£124.7m
Total liabilities£109.6m£124.4m£136.9m£135.1m£136.3m£120m
Net assets or liabilities£4.84m£20.6m£2.71m-£21.7m-£31.2m£4.69m
Average employees327332354370409408
Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived75%117%88%75%71%122%
  • — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
  • Under each year: the division the club played in that season (PL Premier League, Champ Championship); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
  • Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
  • † Not directly comparable with the years either side.
  • Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.

Sources and definitions

Where each figure comes from

Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.

Sources for Revenue
YearPublishedConceptAs filedFilingMappingDocument
FY2020 †£119,352,000pdf:Turnover119,352 GBPAA-2021-06-11v3Filing
FY2021 †£57,179,000pdf:Turnover57,179 GBPAA-2022-01-25v3Filing
FY2022 †£133,869,000pdf:Turnover133,869 GBPAA-2022-11-16v3Filing
FY2023£75,636,000pdf:Turnover75,636 GBPAA-2023-12-13v3Filing
FY2024£73,141,000pdf:Turnover73,141 GBPAA-2024-11-25v3Filing
FY2025£39,277,000pdf:Turnover39,277 GBPAA-2025-12-11v3Filing

“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.

What each figure means
Revenue
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
Matchday revenue
Revenue attributable to matchday activities where separately disclosed.
Broadcast revenue
Revenue attributable to broadcasting/media rights where separately disclosed.
Commercial revenue
Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
Other revenue
Other revenue not included in the principal disclosed categories.
Staff costs
Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
Operating profit or loss
Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
Profit or loss before tax
Profit or loss before taxation.
Profit or loss after tax
Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
Player amortisation
Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Player impairment (negative = reversed)
Impairment of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Profit or loss on player sales
Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
Cash
Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
Borrowings
Interest-bearing borrowings disclosed at the reporting date; definition excludes derived net debt.
Total assets
Total assets at the reporting date.
Total liabilities
Total liabilities at the reporting date.
Net assets or liabilities
Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
Average employees
Average number of employees during the reporting period.
Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
Staff costs divided by total revenue.

All clubs with published accounts