Skip to content

Club finances · statutory accounts

Middlesbrough finances

Reporting entity
Middlesbrough Football & Athletic Company (1986) Limited
Division
Championship (this season)
Latest period
Year to 30 June 2025 (FY2025 · the 2024/25 season, in the Championship)
Company number
01947851
Accounts
Company only (not the wider group)
Filed
26 February 2026

These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.

← Middlesbrough

In brief

In the year to 30 June 2025, Middlesbrough brought in revenue of £32.5m, up from £32.2m the year before. The club made an operating loss of £10.3m and ended the period with net assets of £1.87m.

More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.

FY2025 at a glance

  • Revenue

    £32.5m

    £32,476,000

  • Operating loss

    £10.3m

    £10,343,000

  • Loss before tax

    £11.4m

    £11,419,000

  • Cash

    £164k

    £164,000

  • Borrowings

    £11.5m

    £11,536,000

  • Net assets

    £1.87m

    £1,871,000

  • Average employees

    266

† This year is not directly comparable with the years either side, so it is shown hatched and no trend is drawn through it:

  • FY2020: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
Revenue
£19.4mFY2020†£14.5mFY2021£26.9mFY2022£28.6mFY2023£32.2mFY2024£32.5mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Bigger is not automatically healthier.

Show as a table
Revenue, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable£19.4m
FY2021£14.5m
FY2022£26.9m
FY2023£28.6m
FY2024£32.2m
FY2025£32.5m
Profit or loss before tax
-£35.6mFY2020†-£30.8mFY2021-£19.5mFY2022-£6.4mFY2023-£12.4mFY2024-£11.4mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Profit or loss before tax, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparableLoss before tax £35.6m
FY2021Loss before tax £30.8m
FY2022Loss before tax £19.5m
FY2023Loss before tax £6.4m
FY2024Loss before tax £12.4m
FY2025Loss before tax £11.4m
Cash
£167kFY2020†£181kFY2021£174kFY2022£378kFY2023£344kFY2024£164kFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Cash, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable£167k
FY2021£181k
FY2022£174k
FY2023£378k
FY2024£344k
FY2025£164k
Net assets or liabilities
-£85.8mFY2020†-£116.6mFY2021-£131.9mFY2022-£136.4mFY2023£10.1mFY2024£1.87mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Net assets or liabilities, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparableNet liabilities £85.8m
FY2021Net liabilities £116.6m
FY2022Net liabilities £131.9m
FY2023Net liabilities £136.4m
FY2024Net assets £10.1m
FY2025Net assets £1.87m
Average employees
214FY2020†198FY2021225FY2022228FY2023254FY2024266FY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Average employees, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable214
FY2021198
FY2022225
FY2023228
FY2024254
FY2025266
Staff costs
£31mFY2020†£27mFY2021£28.4mFY2022£29.6mFY2023£31.4mFY2024£36.4mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Staff costs, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable£31m
FY2021£27m
FY2022£28.4m
FY2023£29.6m
FY2024£31.4m
FY2025£36.4m

Every year

Middlesbrough published figures by financial year
FigureFY2020 †ChampcompanyFY2021ChampcompanyFY2022ChampcompanyFY2023ChampcompanyFY2024ChampcompanyFY2025Champcompany
Revenue£19.4m£14.5m£26.9m£28.6m£32.2m£32.5m
Matchday revenue£4.49m£36k£6.42m£8.78m£8.75m£8.69m
Broadcast revenue£8.35m£10.1m£9.05m£9.5m£9.72m£12.2m
Commercial revenue£5.88m£4.3m£8.38m£9.97m£11.7m£10.9m
Other revenue£676k£29k£3.04m£332k£2.13m£714k
Staff costs£31m£27m£28.4m£29.6m£31.4m£36.4m
Operating profit or loss-£34.4m-£30.2m-£19.4m-£6.73m-£11.9m-£10.3m
Profit or loss before tax-£35.6m-£30.8m-£19.5m-£6.4m-£12.4m-£11.4m
Profit or loss after tax-£30.7m-£27.3m-£15.3m-£4.46m-£9.59m-£8.18m
Player amortisation£18.4m£12.5m£6.24m£7.98m£9.22m£11.4m
Player impairment (negative = reversed)£0£1.3m£1.76m£3.58m£0£0
Profit or loss on player sales£3.49m£4.27m£1.35m£22.3m£17.1m£26.3m
Cash£167k£181k£174k£378k£344k£164k
Borrowings—£0£0£6.91m£10.4m£11.5m
Total assets£68.8m£62m£62.1m£70.7m£88.9m£99.6m
Total liabilities£154.6m£178.6m£194.1m£207m£78.9m£97.7m
Net assets or liabilities-£85.8m-£116.6m-£131.9m-£136.4m£10.1m£1.87m
Average employees214198225228254266
Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived160%186%106%104%97%112%
  • — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
  • Under each year: the division the club played in that season (Champ Championship); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
  • Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
  • † Not directly comparable with the years either side.
  • Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.

Sources and definitions

Where each figure comes from

Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.

Sources for Revenue
YearPublishedConceptAs filedFilingMappingDocument
FY2020 †£19,393,000pdf:Turnover19,393 GBPAA-2021-03-17v3Filing
FY2021£14,466,000pdf:Turnover14,466 GBPAA-2022-03-18v3Filing
FY2022£26,887,000pdf:Turnover26,887 GBPAA-2022-12-05v3Filing
FY2023£28,594,000pdf:Turnover28,594 GBPAA-2024-01-17v3Filing
FY2024£32,247,000pdf:Turnover32,247 GBPAA-2025-01-09v3Filing
FY2025£32,476,000pdf:Turnover32,476 GBPAA-2026-02-26v3Filing

“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.

What each figure means
Revenue
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
Matchday revenue
Revenue attributable to matchday activities where separately disclosed.
Broadcast revenue
Revenue attributable to broadcasting/media rights where separately disclosed.
Commercial revenue
Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
Other revenue
Other revenue not included in the principal disclosed categories.
Staff costs
Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
Operating profit or loss
Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
Profit or loss before tax
Profit or loss before taxation.
Profit or loss after tax
Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
Player amortisation
Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Player impairment (negative = reversed)
Impairment of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Profit or loss on player sales
Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
Cash
Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
Borrowings
Interest-bearing borrowings disclosed at the reporting date; definition excludes derived net debt.
Total assets
Total assets at the reporting date.
Total liabilities
Total liabilities at the reporting date.
Net assets or liabilities
Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
Average employees
Average number of employees during the reporting period.
Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
Staff costs divided by total revenue.

All clubs with published accounts