Club finances · statutory accounts
These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.
In the year to 30 June 2025, Manchester United brought in revenue of £666.5m, up from £661.8m the year before. The club made an operating loss of £18.4m and ended the year with net assets of £193.7m.
More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.
Revenue
£666.5m
£666,514,000
Operating loss
£18.4m
£18,430,000
Loss before tax
£39.7m
£39,664,000
Cash
£86.1m
£86,105,000
Borrowings
£637m
£636,974,000
Net assets
£193.7m
£193,733,000
Average employees
932
Bigger is not automatically healthier.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £509m |
| FY2021 | £494.1m |
| FY2022 | £583.2m |
| FY2023 | £648.4m |
| FY2024 | £661.8m |
| FY2025 | £666.5m |
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | Loss before tax £20.8m |
| FY2021 | Loss before tax £24m |
| FY2022 | Loss before tax £149.6m |
| FY2023 | Loss before tax £32.6m |
| FY2024 | Loss before tax £130.7m |
| FY2025 | Loss before tax £39.7m |
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £51.5m |
| FY2021 | £110.7m |
| FY2022 | £121.2m |
| FY2023 | £76m |
| FY2024 | £73.5m |
| FY2025 | £86.1m |
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | Net assets £351.2m |
| FY2021 | Net assets £272.5m |
| FY2022 | Net assets £127.5m |
| FY2023 | Net assets £104m |
| FY2024 | Net assets £144.9m |
| FY2025 | Net assets £193.7m |
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | 992 |
| FY2021 | 983 |
| FY2022 | 1,035 |
| FY2023 | 1,112 |
| FY2024 | 1,140 |
| FY2025 | 932 |
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £284m |
| FY2021 | £322.6m |
| FY2022 | £384.1m |
| FY2023 | £331.4m |
| FY2024 | £364.7m |
| FY2025 | £313.3m |
| Figure | FY2020 | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | £509m | £494.1m | £583.2m | £648.4m | £661.8m | £666.5m |
| Matchday revenue | £89.8m | £7.1m | £110.5m | £136.4m | £137.1m | £160.3m |
| Broadcast revenue | £140.2m | £254.8m | £214.8m | £209.1m | £221.7m | £173m |
| Commercial revenue | £279m | £232.2m | £257.8m | £302.9m | £302.9m | £333.3m |
| Staff costs | £284m | £322.6m | £384.1m | £331.4m | £364.7m | £313.3m |
| Operating profit or loss | £5.22m | -£36.9m | -£87.4m | -£11.2m | -£69.4m | -£18.4m |
| Profit or loss before tax | -£20.8m | -£24m | -£149.6m | -£32.6m | -£130.7m | -£39.7m |
| Profit or loss after tax | -£23.2m | -£92.2m | -£115.5m | -£28.7m | -£113.2m | -£33m |
| Player amortisation | £122.8m | £120.3m | £148.9m | £169.8m | £187m | £193.1m |
| Profit or loss on player sales | £18.4m | £7.38m | £21.9m | £20.4m | £37.4m | £48.7m |
| Cash | £51.5m | £110.7m | £121.2m | £76m | £73.5m | £86.1m |
| Borrowings | £525.6m | £530.2m | £636.1m | £613.3m | £546.6m | £637m |
| Total assets | £1383.5m | £1260.3m | £1293.7m | £1317.9m | £1344.8m | £1637.7m |
| Total liabilities | £1032.2m | £987.8m | £1166.2m | £1214m | £1199.9m | £1444m |
| Net assets or liabilities | £351.2m | £272.5m | £127.5m | £104m | £144.9m | £193.7m |
| Average employees | 992 | 983 | 1,035 | 1,112 | 1,140 | 932 |
| Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived | 56% | 65% | 66% | 51% | 55% | 47% |
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
| Year | Published | XBRL concept | As filed | Filing | Mapping | Document |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2020 | £509,041,000 | ifrs-full:RevenueFromContractsWithCustomers | 509,041 GBP thousands | 0001104659-20-117718 | v1 | Filing |
| FY2021 | £494,117,000 | ifrs-full:RevenueFromContractsWithCustomers | 494,117 GBP thousands | 0001104659-21-117363 | v1 | Filing |
| FY2022 | £583,201,000 | ifrs-full:RevenueFromContractsWithCustomers | 583,201 GBP thousands | 0001104659-22-102671 | v1 | Filing |
| FY2023 | £648,401,000 | ifrs-full:RevenueFromContractsWithCustomers | 648,401 GBP thousands | 0001104659-23-112170 | v1 | Filing |
| FY2024 | £661,755,000 | ifrs-full:RevenueFromContractsWithCustomers | 661,755 GBP thousands | 0001104659-24-099826 | v1 | Filing |
| FY2025 | £666,514,000 | ifrs-full:RevenueFromContractsWithCustomers | 666,514 GBP thousands | 0001104659-25-091251 | v1 | Filing |
“As filed” is the value exactly as it appears in the filing’s machine-readable (iXBRL) data. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.