Club finances · statutory accounts
These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.
In the year to 30 June 2025, Manchester City brought in revenue of £694.1m, down from £715m the year before. The club made an operating loss of £93.3m and ended the year with net assets of £858.4m.
More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.
Revenue
£694.1m
£694,094,000
Operating loss
£93.3m
£93,302,000
Loss before tax
£9.92m
£9,916,000
Cash
£173.7m
£173,724,000
Borrowings
Not disclosed
Net assets
£858.4m
£858,374,000
Average employees
670
† FY2021, FY2022 are not directly comparable: later accounts restated those years, so they are shown hatched and no trend is drawn through them.
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Bigger is not automatically healthier.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £478.4m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £569.8m |
| FY2022 † not comparable | £613m |
| FY2023 | £712.8m |
| FY2024 | £715m |
| FY2025 | £694.1m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | Loss before tax £125.1m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | Profit before tax £5.05m |
| FY2022 † not comparable | Profit before tax £41.7m |
| FY2023 | Profit before tax £80.4m |
| FY2024 | Profit before tax £73.8m |
| FY2025 | Loss before tax £9.92m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £17.8m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £45.1m |
| FY2022 † not comparable | £77.8m |
| FY2023 | £79.3m |
| FY2024 | £53.8m |
| FY2025 | £173.7m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | Net assets £630.7m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | Net assets £656.3m |
| FY2022 † not comparable | Net assets £698m |
| FY2023 | Net assets £790.4m |
| FY2024 | Net assets £864.6m |
| FY2025 | Net assets £858.4m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | 477 |
| FY2021 † not comparable | 509 |
| FY2022 † not comparable | 549 |
| FY2023 | 520 |
| FY2024 | 611 |
| FY2025 | 670 |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £351.4m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £354.7m |
| FY2022 † not comparable | £353.9m |
| FY2023 | £422.9m |
| FY2024 | £412.6m |
| FY2025 | £408.4m |
| Figure | FY2020 | FY2021 † | FY2022 † | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | £478.4m | £569.8m | £613m | £712.8m | £715m | £694.1m |
| Matchday revenue | £41.7m | £732k | £54.5m | £71.9m | £75.6m | £75.1m |
| Broadcast revenue | £190.3m | £297.4m | £249.1m | £299.4m | £294.7m | £278.6m |
| Commercial revenue | £246.3m | £271.7m | £309.5m | £341.4m | £344.7m | £340.4m |
| Staff costs | £351.4m | £354.7m | £353.9m | £422.9m | £412.6m | £408.4m |
| Operating profit or loss | -£159.6m | -£58.7m | -£21.4m | -£35.6m | -£60.5m | -£93.3m |
| Profit or loss before tax | -£125.1m | £5.05m | £41.7m | £80.4m | £73.8m | -£9.92m |
| Profit or loss after tax | -£126m | £2.37m | £41.7m | £80.4m | £73.8m | -£9.92m |
| Player amortisation | £145.8m | £145.7m | £140.7m | £145.4m | £165.1m | £169.5m |
| Player impairment | — | £18.7m | — | — | — | — |
| Profit or loss on player sales | £39.8m | £68.5m | £67.7m | £121.7m | £139m | £95.2m |
| Cash | £17.8m | £45.1m | £77.8m | £79.3m | £53.8m | £173.7m |
| Total assets | £1099.6m | £1178m | £1287.5m | £1521.1m | £1533.2m | £1984.9m |
| Total liabilities | £468.9m | £521.7m | £589.4m | £730.7m | £668.6m | £1126.5m |
| Net assets or liabilities | £630.7m | £656.3m | £698m | £790.4m | £864.6m | £858.4m |
| Average employees | 477 | 509 | 549 | 520 | 611 | 670 |
| Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived | 73% | 62% | 58% | 59% | 58% | 59% |
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
| Year | Published | XBRL concept | As filed | Filing | Mapping | Document |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2020 | £478,359,000 | pdf:Revenue | 478,359 GBP thousands | AA-2021-07-01 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2021 † | £569,849,000 | pdf:Revenue | 569,849 GBP thousands | AA-2022-03-04 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2022 † | £613,014,000 | pdf:Revenue | 613,014 GBP thousands | AA-2023-04-05 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2023 | £712,768,000 | pdf:Revenue | 712,768 GBP thousands | AA-2024-04-04 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2024 | £715,019,000 | pdf:Revenue | 715,019 GBP thousands | AA-2025-03-10 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2025 | £694,094,000 | pdf:Revenue | 694,094 GBP thousands | AA-2026-03-06 | v2 | Filing |
“As filed” is the value exactly as it appears in the filing’s machine-readable (iXBRL) data. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.