Skip to content

Club finances · statutory accounts

Luton finances

Reporting entity
LUTON TOWN FOOTBALL CLUB 2020 LTD
Division
League One (this season)
Latest period
Year to 30 June 2025 (FY2025 · the 2024/25 season, in the Championship)
Company number
06133975
Accounts
Company only (not the wider group)
Filed
28 March 2026

These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.

← Luton

In brief

In the year to 30 June 2025, Luton brought in revenue of £66.8m, down from £132.3m the year before. The club made an operating profit of £17.1m and ended the period with net assets of £41.9m.

More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.

FY2025 at a glance

  • Revenue

    £66.8m

    £66,823,168

  • Operating profit

    £17.1m

    £17,147,134

  • Profit before tax

    £17.9m

    £17,874,405

  • Cash

    £1.34m

    £1,344,464

  • Borrowings

    Not disclosed

  • Net assets

    £41.9m

    £41,884,420

  • Average employees

    570

† These years are not directly comparable with the years either side, so they are shown hatched and no trend is drawn through them:

  • FY2020: a 13-month accounting period.
  • FY2021: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
Revenue
£14.6mFY2020†£12.7mFY2021†£17.7mFY2022£18.4mFY2023£132.3mFY2024£66.8mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Bigger is not automatically healthier.

Show as a table
Revenue, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable£14.6m
FY2021 † not comparable£12.7m
FY2022£17.7m
FY2023£18.4m
FY2024£132.3m
FY2025£66.8m
Profit or loss before tax
£3.36mFY2020†-£1.94mFY2021†-£6.38mFY2022-£16.3mFY2023£49.5mFY2024£17.9mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Profit or loss before tax, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparableProfit before tax £3.36m
FY2021 † not comparableLoss before tax £1.94m
FY2022Loss before tax £6.38m
FY2023Loss before tax £16.3m
FY2024Profit before tax £49.5m
FY2025Profit before tax £17.9m
Cash
£1.22mFY2020†£1.18mFY2021†£2.23mFY2022£1.72mFY2023£1.64mFY2024£1.34mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Cash, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable£1.22m
FY2021 † not comparable£1.18m
FY2022£2.23m
FY2023£1.72m
FY2024£1.64m
FY2025£1.34m
Net assets or liabilities
£2.62mFY2020†£674kFY2021†-£5.71mFY2022-£14.1mFY2023£27.6mFY2024£41.9mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Net assets or liabilities, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparableNet assets £2.62m
FY2021 † not comparableNet assets £674k
FY2022Net liabilities £5.71m
FY2023Net liabilities £14.1m
FY2024Net assets £27.6m
FY2025Net assets £41.9m
Average employees
316FY2020†178FY2021†365FY2022409FY2023530FY2024570FY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Average employees, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable316
FY2021 † not comparable178
FY2022365
FY2023409
FY2024530
FY2025570
Staff costs
n/dFY2020£14.1mFY2021†£17.8mFY2022£27.6mFY2023£56.9mFY2024£39.5mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Missing bars were not disclosed in that year’s filing.

Show as a table
Staff costs, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparableNot disclosed
FY2021 † not comparable£14.1m
FY2022£17.8m
FY2023£27.6m
FY2024£56.9m
FY2025£39.5m

Every year

Luton published figures by financial year
FigureFY2020 †Champcompany · 13 monthsFY2021 †ChampcompanyFY2022ChampcompanyFY2023ChampcompanyFY2024PLcompanyFY2025Champcompany
Revenue£14.6m£12.7m£17.7m£18.4m£132.3m£66.8m
Matchday revenue—£1.11m£4.88m£5.07m£6.19m£6.13m
Broadcast revenue—£9.63m£10.5m£10.1m£116.6m£56.2m
Commercial revenue£1.65m£1.92m£2.32m£3.24m£9.53m£4.49m
Other revenue£12.9m—————
Staff costs—£14.1m£17.8m£27.6m£56.9m£39.5m
Operating profit or loss£3.36m-£1.94m—-£16.3m£48.9m£17.1m
Profit or loss before tax£3.36m-£1.94m-£6.38m-£16.3m£49.5m£17.9m
Profit or loss after tax£3.36m-£1.94m-£6.38m-£8.36m£41.7m£14.3m
Player amortisation£1.42m£1.33m£1.69m£2.4m£9.42m£12.8m
Profit or loss on player sales£9.16m£2.2m£1.07m£4.72m£1.22m£17.2m
Cash£1.22m£1.18m£2.23m£1.72m£1.64m£1.34m
Borrowings—£0£0£0£0—
Total assets£10.3m£13.4m£8.48m£20.8m£45.9m£61.4m
Total liabilities£7.65m£12.7m£14.2m£34.8m£18.3m£19.5m
Net assets or liabilities£2.62m£674k-£5.71m-£14.1m£27.6m£41.9m
Average employees316178365409530570
Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived—111%101%150%43%59%
  • — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
  • Under each year: the division the club played in that season (Champ Championship, PL Premier League); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
  • Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
  • † Not directly comparable with the years either side.
  • Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.
  • Not disclosed in any period: Player impairment.

Sources and definitions

Where each figure comes from

Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.

Sources for Revenue
YearPublishedConceptAs filedFilingMappingDocument
FY2020 †£14,568,220pdf:Turnover14,568,220 GBPAA-2021-05-11v3Filing
FY2021 †£12,660,066pdf:Turnover12,660,066 GBPAA-2022-03-03v3Filing
FY2022£17,658,476pdf:Turnover17,658,476 GBPAA-2023-03-06v3Filing
FY2023£18,426,661pdf:Turnover18,426,661 GBPAA-2024-01-15v3Filing
FY2024£132,321,856pdf:Turnover132,321,856 GBPAA-2025-04-02v3Filing
FY2025£66,823,168pdf:Turnover66,823,168 GBPAA-2026-03-28v3Filing

“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.

What each figure means
Revenue
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
Matchday revenue
Revenue attributable to matchday activities where separately disclosed.
Broadcast revenue
Revenue attributable to broadcasting/media rights where separately disclosed.
Commercial revenue
Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
Other revenue
Other revenue not included in the principal disclosed categories.
Staff costs
Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
Operating profit or loss
Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
Profit or loss before tax
Profit or loss before taxation.
Profit or loss after tax
Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
Player amortisation
Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Profit or loss on player sales
Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
Cash
Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
Borrowings
Interest-bearing borrowings disclosed at the reporting date; definition excludes derived net debt.
Total assets
Total assets at the reporting date.
Total liabilities
Total liabilities at the reporting date.
Net assets or liabilities
Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
Average employees
Average number of employees during the reporting period.
Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
Staff costs divided by total revenue.

All clubs with published accounts