Club finances · statutory accounts
These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.
In the year to 31 May 2025, Liverpool brought in revenue of £702.7m, up from £613.8m the year before. The club made an operating profit of £23.8m and ended the year with net assets of £159.5m.
More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.
Revenue
£702.7m
£702,722,000
Operating profit
£23.8m
£23,761,000
Profit before tax
£15.2m
£15,212,000
Cash
£2.54m
£2,541,000
Borrowings
£67.3m
£67,340,000
Net assets
£159.5m
£159,541,000
Average employees
1,083
† FY2021 is not directly comparable: later accounts restated that year, so it is shown hatched and no trend is drawn through it.
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Bigger is not automatically healthier.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £489.9m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £487.4m |
| FY2022 | £594.3m |
| FY2023 | £593.8m |
| FY2024 | £613.8m |
| FY2025 | £702.7m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | Loss before tax £46.3m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | Loss before tax £4.76m |
| FY2022 | Profit before tax £7.47m |
| FY2023 | Loss before tax £9.01m |
| FY2024 | Loss before tax £57.1m |
| FY2025 | Profit before tax £15.2m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £149.3m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £31.5m |
| FY2022 | £13.5m |
| FY2023 | £3.39m |
| FY2024 | £7.5m |
| FY2025 | £2.54m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | Net assets £208.8m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | Net assets £199.2m |
| FY2022 | Net assets £201.7m |
| FY2023 | Net assets £194.6m |
| FY2024 | Net assets £151.3m |
| FY2025 | Net assets £159.5m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | 880 |
| FY2021 † not comparable | 964 |
| FY2022 | 1,005 |
| FY2023 | 1,008 |
| FY2024 | 1,011 |
| FY2025 | 1,083 |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £325.6m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £314.4m |
| FY2022 | £366.1m |
| FY2023 | £372.9m |
| FY2024 | £386.1m |
| FY2025 | £427.7m |
| Figure | FY2020 | FY2021 † | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | £489.9m | £487.4m | £594.3m | £593.8m | £613.8m | £702.7m |
| Matchday revenue | £70.9m | £3.64m | £86.8m | £79.8m | £101.7m | £115.6m |
| Broadcast revenue | £201.6m | £266.1m | £260.8m | £241.6m | £203.7m | £263.7m |
| Commercial revenue | £217.4m | £217.6m | £246.7m | £272.5m | £308.4m | £323.5m |
| Staff costs | £325.6m | £314.4m | £366.1m | £372.9m | £386.1m | £427.7m |
| Operating profit or loss | -£70.2m | -£40.4m | £10m | -£4.46m | -£47.7m | £23.8m |
| Profit or loss before tax | -£46.3m | -£4.76m | £7.47m | -£9.01m | -£57.1m | £15.2m |
| Profit or loss after tax | -£39.5m | -£9.54m | £2.44m | -£6.93m | -£43.5m | £8.27m |
| Player amortisation | £106m | £107.8m | £102.7m | £107.5m | £114.5m | £117.2m |
| Player impairment | £0 | £461k | £198k | £2.14m | £618k | £183k |
| Profit or loss on player sales | £26.9m | £39.3m | £28.1m | £33.8m | £22m | £53.3m |
| Cash | £149.3m | £31.5m | £13.5m | £3.39m | £7.5m | £2.54m |
| Borrowings | £197m | £126.9m | £87.1m | £125.4m | £115.6m | £67.3m |
| Total assets | £749m | £693.4m | £677.1m | £721m | £828.3m | £815.6m |
| Total liabilities | £540.2m | £494.2m | £475.5m | £526.3m | £677.1m | £656.1m |
| Net assets or liabilities | £208.8m | £199.2m | £201.7m | £194.6m | £151.3m | £159.5m |
| Average employees | 880 | 964 | 1,005 | 1,008 | 1,011 | 1,083 |
| Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived | 66% | 65% | 62% | 63% | 63% | 61% |
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
| Year | Published | XBRL concept | As filed | Filing | Mapping | Document |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2020 | £489,860,000 | pdf:GroupTurnover | 489,860 GBP thousands | AA-2021-05-07 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2021 † | £487,365,000 | pdf:GroupTurnover | 487,365 GBP thousands | AA-2022-03-02 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2022 | £594,271,000 | pdf:GroupTurnover | 594,271 GBP thousands | AA-2023-03-02 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2023 | £593,836,000 | pdf:GroupTurnover | 593,836 GBP thousands | AA-2024-03-08 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2024 | £613,764,000 | pdf:GroupTurnover | 613,764 GBP thousands | AA-2025-03-03 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2025 | £702,722,000 | pdf:GroupTurnover | 702,722 GBP thousands | AA-2026-03-04 | v2 | Filing |
“As filed” is the value exactly as it appears in the filing’s machine-readable (iXBRL) data. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.