Club finances · statutory accounts
Leicester finances
- Reporting entity
- Leicester City Football Club Limited
- Division
- League One (this season)
- Latest period
- Year to 30 June 2025 (FY2025 · the 2024/25 season, in the Premier League)
- Company number
- 04593477
- Accounts
- Consolidated (whole group) in FY2021–FY2025; Company only (not the wider group) in FY2020
- Filed
- 11 April 2026
These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.
In brief
In the year to 30 June 2025, Leicester brought in revenue of £186.5m, up from £105.3m the year before. The club made an operating loss of £61.3m and ended the period with net assets of £114.3m.
More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.
FY2025 at a glance
Revenue
£186.5m
£186,504,000
Operating loss
£61.3m
£61,316,000
Loss before tax
£71.1m
£71,124,000
Cash
£4.46m
£4,463,000
Borrowings
£118m
£117,990,000
Net assets
£114.3m
£114,327,000
Average employees
529
Over time
† These years are not directly comparable with the years either side, so they are shown hatched and no trend is drawn through them:
- FY2020: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
- FY2021: the accounts start covering the whole group.
- FY2022: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
- FY2023: a 13-month accounting period.
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Bigger is not automatically healthier.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | £149.9m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £226.2m |
| FY2022 † not comparable | £214.6m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | £177.3m |
| FY2024 | £105.3m |
| FY2025 | £186.5m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | Loss before tax £67.3m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | Loss before tax £33.1m |
| FY2022 † not comparable | Loss before tax £92.5m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | Loss before tax £89.7m |
| FY2024 | Loss before tax £19.4m |
| FY2025 | Loss before tax £71.1m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | £41.2m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £50.9m |
| FY2022 † not comparable | £34.2m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | £8.23m |
| FY2024 | £7.09m |
| FY2025 | £4.46m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | Net assets £72.6m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | Net assets £39.5m |
| FY2022 † not comparable | Net liabilities £44.9m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | Net assets £59.7m |
| FY2024 | Net assets £57.1m |
| FY2025 | Net assets £114.3m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | 363 |
| FY2021 † not comparable | 435 |
| FY2022 † not comparable | 467 |
| FY2023 † not comparable | 495 |
| FY2024 | 505 |
| FY2025 | 529 |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | £157.5m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £192.1m |
| FY2022 † not comparable | £182m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | £205.8m |
| FY2024 | £107.2m |
| FY2025 | £152.9m |
Every year
| Figure | FY2020 †PLcompany | FY2021 †PLgroup | FY2022 †PLgroup | FY2023 †PLgroup · 13 months | FY2024Champgroup | FY2025PLgroup |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | £149.9m | £226.2m | £214.6m | £177.3m | £105.3m | £186.5m |
| Matchday revenue | £13.1m | £552k | £21m | £18.4m | £18.4m | £20.3m |
| Broadcast revenue | £107.6m | £184.5m | £151.3m | £114.5m | £54.2m | £117.4m |
| Commercial revenue | £27.7m | £39.9m | £39.3m | £41.7m | £31.2m | £46.6m |
| Other revenue | £1.53m | £1.26m | £2.94m | £2.73m | £1.52m | £2.21m |
| Staff costs | £157.5m | £192.1m | £182m | £205.8m | £107.2m | £152.9m |
| Operating profit or loss | -£59.3m | -£21.8m | -£73.6m | -£77.2m | -£8.98m | -£61.3m |
| Profit or loss before tax | -£67.3m | -£33.1m | -£92.5m | -£89.7m | -£19.4m | -£71.1m |
| Profit or loss after tax | -£60.1m | -£31.2m | -£92.5m | -£89.7m | -£18.9m | -£71.2m |
| Player amortisation | £77.8m | £71.8m | £72.2m | £76.9m | £45.5m | £51m |
| Player impairment (negative = reversed) | £2.02m | £864k | £2.59m | £0 | — | — |
| Profit or loss on player sales | £63.1m | £43.9m | £9.21m | £74.8m | £71.8m | £7.27m |
| Cash | £41.2m | £50.9m | £34.2m | £8.23m | £7.09m | £4.46m |
| Borrowings | £185.4m | £249.3m | £305.4m | £157.1m | £182.7m | £118m |
| Total assets | £445.9m | £468.6m | £442.4m | £413.9m | £439.1m | £400.8m |
| Total liabilities | £373.4m | £429.1m | £487.3m | £354.2m | £382.1m | £286.4m |
| Net assets or liabilities | £72.6m | £39.5m | -£44.9m | £59.7m | £57.1m | £114.3m |
| Average employees | 363 | 435 | 467 | 495 | 505 | 529 |
| Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived | 105% | 85% | 85% | 116% | 102% | 82% |
- — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
- Under each year: the division the club played in that season (PL Premier League, Champ Championship); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
- Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
- † Not directly comparable with the years either side.
- Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.
Sources and definitions
Where each figure comes from
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
| Year | Published | Concept | As filed | Filing | Mapping | Document |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2020 † | £149,950,000 | pdf:Turnover | 149,950 GBP | AA-2021-04-02 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2021 † | £226,204,000 | pdf:Turnover | 226,204 GBP | AA-2022-02-18 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2022 † | £214,590,000 | pdf:Turnover | 214,590 GBP | AA-2023-03-09 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2023 † | £177,326,000 | pdf:Turnover | 177,326 GBP | AA-2024-04-15 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2024 | £105,348,000 | pdf:Turnover | 105,348 GBP | AA-2025-04-04 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2025 | £186,504,000 | pdf:Turnover | 186,504 GBP | AA-2026-04-11 | v3 | Filing |
“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.
What each figure means
- Revenue
- Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
- Matchday revenue
- Revenue attributable to matchday activities where separately disclosed.
- Broadcast revenue
- Revenue attributable to broadcasting/media rights where separately disclosed.
- Commercial revenue
- Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
- Other revenue
- Other revenue not included in the principal disclosed categories.
- Staff costs
- Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
- Operating profit or loss
- Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
- Profit or loss before tax
- Profit or loss before taxation.
- Profit or loss after tax
- Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
- Player amortisation
- Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
- Player impairment (negative = reversed)
- Impairment of player registrations/intangible player assets.
- Profit or loss on player sales
- Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
- Cash
- Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
- Borrowings
- Interest-bearing borrowings disclosed at the reporting date; definition excludes derived net debt.
- Total assets
- Total assets at the reporting date.
- Total liabilities
- Total liabilities at the reporting date.
- Net assets or liabilities
- Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
- Average employees
- Average number of employees during the reporting period.
- Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
- Staff costs divided by total revenue.