Club finances · statutory accounts
Huddersfield finances
- Reporting entity
- The Huddersfield Town Association Football Club Limited
- Division
- League One (this season)
- Latest period
- Year to 30 June 2025 (FY2025 · the 2024/25 season, in the League One)
- Company number
- 01771361
- Accounts
- Consolidated (whole group) in FY2021–FY2025; Company only (not the wider group) in FY2020
- Filed
- 9 April 2026
These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.
In brief
In the year to 30 June 2025, Huddersfield brought in revenue of £10.6m, down from £18.2m the year before. The club made an operating loss of £20.1m and ended the period with net liabilities of £62.3m.
More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.
FY2025 at a glance
Revenue
£10.6m
£10,626,529
Operating loss
£20.1m
£20,057,256
Loss before tax
£22.4m
£22,385,568
Cash
£3.23m
£3,229,973
Borrowings
Not disclosed
Net liabilities
£62.3m
£62,335,552
Average employees
249
Over time
† These years are not directly comparable with the years either side, so they are shown hatched and no trend is drawn through them:
- FY2020: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
- FY2021: the accounts start covering the whole group.
- FY2022: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
- FY2023: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Bigger is not automatically healthier.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | £52.7m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £44.5m |
| FY2022 † not comparable | £30.8m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | £18.1m |
| FY2024 | £18.2m |
| FY2025 | £10.6m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | Loss before tax £8.22m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | Profit before tax £2.56m |
| FY2022 † not comparable | Loss before tax £3.77m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | Loss before tax £6.63m |
| FY2024 | Loss before tax £15m |
| FY2025 | Loss before tax £22.4m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | £10.6m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £1.33m |
| FY2022 † not comparable | £1.33m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | £4.45m |
| FY2024 | £4.87m |
| FY2025 | £3.23m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | Net liabilities £26.9m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | Net liabilities £16.7m |
| FY2022 † not comparable | Net liabilities £20.4m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | Net liabilities £25.2m |
| FY2024 | Net liabilities £39.9m |
| FY2025 | Net liabilities £62.3m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | 253 |
| FY2021 † not comparable | 192 |
| FY2022 † not comparable | 237 |
| FY2023 † not comparable | 234 |
| FY2024 | 229 |
| FY2025 | 249 |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | £30.3m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £24.6m |
| FY2022 † not comparable | £20.3m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | £21.5m |
| FY2024 | £23m |
| FY2025 | £16.9m |
Every year
| Figure | FY2020 †Champcompany | FY2021 †Champgroup | FY2022 †Champgroup | FY2023 †Champgroup | FY2024Champgroup | FY2025L1group |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | £52.7m | £44.5m | £30.8m | £18.1m | £18.2m | £10.6m |
| Matchday revenue | £4.07m | £1.7m | £5.2m | £3.86m | £4.12m | £3.5m |
| Broadcast revenue | £44.7m | £40.4m | £21.4m | £9.06m | £9.55m | £3.53m |
| Commercial revenue | £3.46m | £1.48m | £3.44m | £5.19m | £4.49m | £3.6m |
| Other revenue | £529k | £869k | £687k | — | — | — |
| Staff costs | £30.3m | £24.6m | £20.3m | £21.5m | £23m | £16.9m |
| Operating profit or loss | -£22.7m | -£5.44m | -£2.4m | -£4.88m | -£13.3m | -£20.1m |
| Profit or loss before tax | -£8.22m | £2.56m | -£3.77m | -£6.63m | -£15m | -£22.4m |
| Profit or loss after tax | -£8.22m | £2.75m | -£3.64m | -£6.62m | -£15m | -£22.4m |
| Player amortisation | £28m | £15.2m | £1.1m | £1.27m | £2.15m | £3.11m |
| Player impairment (negative = reversed) | £6.21m | £0 | — | £95k | £0 | — |
| Profit or loss on player sales | £18.1m | £10.1m | £910k | £8.88m | £4.37m | £1.58m |
| Cash | £10.6m | £1.33m | £1.33m | £4.45m | £4.87m | £3.23m |
| Borrowings | £27m | — | — | — | — | — |
| Total assets | £65m | £42.8m | £33.6m | £37.6m | £40m | £32.7m |
| Total liabilities | £91.9m | £59.6m | £54m | £62.7m | £79.9m | £95m |
| Net assets or liabilities | -£26.9m | -£16.7m | -£20.4m | -£25.2m | -£39.9m | -£62.3m |
| Average employees | 253 | 192 | 237 | 234 | 229 | 249 |
| Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived | 57% | 55% | 66% | 119% | 127% | 159% |
- — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
- Under each year: the division the club played in that season (Champ Championship, L1 League One); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
- Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
- † Not directly comparable with the years either side.
- Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.
Sources and definitions
Where each figure comes from
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
| Year | Published | Concept | As filed | Filing | Mapping | Document |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2020 † | £52,737,195 | pdf:Turnover | 52,737,195 GBP | AA-2021-06-02 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2021 † | £44,470,125 | pdf:Turnover | 44,470,125 GBP | AA-2022-03-30 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2022 † | £30,768,394 | pdf:Turnover | 30,768,394 GBP | AA-2023-07-10 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2023 † | £18,120,141 | pdf:Turnover | 18,120,141 GBP | AA-2024-03-27 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2024 | £18,163,046 | pdf:Turnover | 18,163,046 GBP | AA-2025-04-02 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2025 | £10,626,529 | pdf:Turnover | 10,626,529 GBP | AA-2026-04-09 | v3 | Filing |
“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.
What each figure means
- Revenue
- Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
- Matchday revenue
- Revenue attributable to matchday activities where separately disclosed.
- Broadcast revenue
- Revenue attributable to broadcasting/media rights where separately disclosed.
- Commercial revenue
- Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
- Other revenue
- Other revenue not included in the principal disclosed categories.
- Staff costs
- Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
- Operating profit or loss
- Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
- Profit or loss before tax
- Profit or loss before taxation.
- Profit or loss after tax
- Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
- Player amortisation
- Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
- Player impairment (negative = reversed)
- Impairment of player registrations/intangible player assets.
- Profit or loss on player sales
- Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
- Cash
- Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
- Borrowings
- Interest-bearing borrowings disclosed at the reporting date; definition excludes derived net debt.
- Total assets
- Total assets at the reporting date.
- Total liabilities
- Total liabilities at the reporting date.
- Net assets or liabilities
- Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
- Average employees
- Average number of employees during the reporting period.
- Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
- Staff costs divided by total revenue.