Club finances · statutory accounts
Derby finances
- Reporting entity
- DERBY COUNTY (THE RAMS) LIMITED
- Division
- Championship (this season)
- Latest period
- Year to 30 June 2025 (FY2025 · the 2024/25 season, in the Championship)
- Company number
- 14190771
- Accounts
- Company only (not the wider group)
- Filed
- 7 November 2025
These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.
In brief
In the year to 30 June 2025, Derby brought in revenue of £31.9m, up from £19.4m the year before. The club made an operating loss of £11.1m and ended the period with net liabilities of £44.9m.
More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.
FY2025 at a glance
Revenue
£31.9m
£31,868,196
Operating loss
£11.1m
£11,066,653
Loss before tax
£11.1m
£11,070,028
Cash
£1.62m
£1,616,503
Borrowings
£0
£0
Net liabilities
£44.9m
£44,867,680
Average employees
226
Over time
† This year is not directly comparable with the years either side, so it is shown hatched and no trend is drawn through it:
- FY2023: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Bigger is not automatically healthier.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2023 † not comparable | £20.4m |
| FY2024 | £19.4m |
| FY2025 | £31.9m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2023 † not comparable | Loss before tax £30.4m |
| FY2024 | Loss before tax £14.2m |
| FY2025 | Loss before tax £11.1m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2023 † not comparable | £4.28m |
| FY2024 | £1.1m |
| FY2025 | £1.62m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2023 † not comparable | Net liabilities £29.9m |
| FY2024 | Net liabilities £33.6m |
| FY2025 | Net liabilities £44.9m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2023 † not comparable | 177 |
| FY2024 | 201 |
| FY2025 | 226 |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2023 † not comparable | £17.2m |
| FY2024 | £22m |
| FY2025 | £31.5m |
Every year
| Figure | FY2023 †L1company | FY2024L1company | FY2025Champcompany |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | £20.4m | £19.4m | £31.9m |
| Matchday revenue | £13.7m | £13.2m | £16.3m |
| Broadcast revenue | £3.79m | £2.94m | £12m |
| Commercial revenue | £1.41m | £1.65m | £2.01m |
| Other revenue | £1.56m | £1.64m | £1.59m |
| Staff costs | £17.2m | £22m | £31.5m |
| Operating profit or loss | -£30.4m | -£14.2m | -£11.1m |
| Profit or loss before tax | -£30.4m | -£14.2m | -£11.1m |
| Profit or loss after tax | -£30.4m | -£14.1m | -£11.3m |
| Player amortisation | £1.75m | £110k | £1.88m |
| Profit or loss on player sales | £1.58m | £4.63m | £10.3m |
| Cash | £4.28m | £1.1m | £1.62m |
| Borrowings | — | — | £0 |
| Total assets | £18.4m | £30.8m | £41m |
| Total liabilities | £48.2m | £64.4m | £85.8m |
| Net assets or liabilities | -£29.9m | -£33.6m | -£44.9m |
| Average employees | 177 | 201 | 226 |
| Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived | 84% | 113% | 99% |
- — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
- Under each year: the division the club played in that season (L1 League One, Champ Championship); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
- Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
- † Not directly comparable with the years either side.
- Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.
- Not disclosed in any period: Player impairment.
Sources and definitions
Where each figure comes from
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
| Year | Published | Concept | As filed | Filing | Mapping | Document |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2023 † | £20,442,892 | pdf:Turnover | 20,442,892 GBP | AA-2024-03-15 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2024 | £19,399,532 | pdf:Turnover | 19,399,532 GBP | AA-2024-11-28 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2025 | £31,868,196 | pdf:Turnover | 31,868,196 GBP | AA-2025-11-07 | v3 | Filing |
“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.
What each figure means
- Revenue
- Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
- Matchday revenue
- Revenue attributable to matchday activities where separately disclosed.
- Broadcast revenue
- Revenue attributable to broadcasting/media rights where separately disclosed.
- Commercial revenue
- Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
- Other revenue
- Other revenue not included in the principal disclosed categories.
- Staff costs
- Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
- Operating profit or loss
- Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
- Profit or loss before tax
- Profit or loss before taxation.
- Profit or loss after tax
- Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
- Player amortisation
- Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
- Profit or loss on player sales
- Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
- Cash
- Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
- Borrowings
- Interest-bearing borrowings disclosed at the reporting date; definition excludes derived net debt.
- Total assets
- Total assets at the reporting date.
- Total liabilities
- Total liabilities at the reporting date.
- Net assets or liabilities
- Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
- Average employees
- Average number of employees during the reporting period.
- Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
- Staff costs divided by total revenue.