Club finances · statutory accounts

Coventry finances

Reporting entity
COVENTRY CITY FOOTBALL CLUB LIMITED
Latest period
Year to 31 May 2025 (FY2025 · the 2023/24 season)
Company number
07612487
Accounts
Company only (not the wider group)
Filed
27 February 2026

These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.

← Coventry

In brief

In the year to 31 May 2025, Coventry brought in revenue of £34.1m, up from £29.3m the year before. The club made an operating loss of £27.9m and ended the year with net liabilities of £18.2m.

More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.

FY2025 at a glance

  • Revenue

    £34.1m

    £34,145,359

  • Operating loss

    £27.9m

    £27,903,203

  • Loss before tax

    £21.6m

    £21,600,928

  • Cash

    £373k

    £373,349

  • Borrowings

    £49.8m

    £49,768,686

  • Net liabilities

    £18.2m

    £18,203,939

  • Average employees

    419

Revenue
£5.1mFY2020£11.8mFY2021£18.1mFY2022£20.4mFY2023£29.3mFY2024£34.1mFY2025

Bigger is not automatically healthier.

Show as a table
Revenue, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020£5.1m
FY2021£11.8m
FY2022£18.1m
FY2023£20.4m
FY2024£29.3m
FY2025£34.1m
Profit or loss before tax
-£3.39mFY2020-£4.73mFY2021-£6.96mFY2022-£4.91mFY2023£8.69mFY2024-£21.6mFY2025
Show as a table
Profit or loss before tax, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020Loss before tax £3.39m
FY2021Loss before tax £4.73m
FY2022Loss before tax £6.96m
FY2023Loss before tax £4.91m
FY2024Profit before tax £8.69m
FY2025Loss before tax £21.6m
Cash
£1.15mFY2020£2.5mFY2021£103kFY2022£1.65mFY2023£4.07mFY2024£373kFY2025
Show as a table
Cash, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020£1.15m
FY2021£2.5m
FY2022£103k
FY2023£1.65m
FY2024£4.07m
FY2025£373k
Net assets or liabilities
-£23.1mFY2020-£27.9mFY2021-£34.6mFY2022-£5.58mFY2023£3.11mFY2024-£18.2mFY2025
Show as a table
Net assets or liabilities, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020Net liabilities £23.1m
FY2021Net liabilities £27.9m
FY2022Net liabilities £34.6m
FY2023Net liabilities £5.58m
FY2024Net assets £3.11m
FY2025Net liabilities £18.2m
Average employees
145FY2020160FY2021153FY2022196FY2023214FY2024419FY2025
Show as a table
Average employees, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020145
FY2021160
FY2022153
FY2023196
FY2024214
FY2025419
Staff costs
£6.54mFY2020£13.2mFY2021£15.7mFY2022£18.5mFY2023£23.4mFY2024£26.5mFY2025
Show as a table
Staff costs, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020£6.54m
FY2021£13.2m
FY2022£15.7m
FY2023£18.5m
FY2024£23.4m
FY2025£26.5m

Every year

Coventry published figures by financial year
FigureFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025
Revenue£5.1m£11.8m£18.1m£20.4m£29.3m£34.1m
Matchday revenue£1.3m£273k£4.28m£7.17m£10m£12.2m
Broadcast revenue£1.72m£8.91m£8.8m£9.04m£10.1m£12.2m
Commercial revenue£2.08m£2.67m£5.01m£4.16m£9.14m£9.76m
Staff costs£6.54m£13.2m£15.7m£18.5m£23.4m£26.5m
Operating profit or loss-£8.73m-£6.3m-£6.08m-£10.3m-£38.6m-£27.9m
Profit or loss before tax-£3.39m-£4.73m-£6.96m-£4.91m£8.69m-£21.6m
Profit or loss after tax-£3.39m-£4.73m-£6.71m-£4.72m£8.69m-£21.3m
Player amortisation£888k£1.8m£2.76m£2.87m£8.33m£14.1m
Profit or loss on player sales£3.82m£1.87m£494k£2.37m£23.7m£3.13m
Cash£1.15m£2.5m£103k£1.65m£4.07m£373k
Borrowings£19.5m£21m£26.1m£6.07m£30m£49.8m
Total assets£3.33m£8.66m£7.71m£11.7m£64m£58.3m
Total liabilities£26.5m£36.5m£42.3m£17.3m£60.9m£76.5m
Net assets or liabilities-£23.1m-£27.9m-£34.6m-£5.58m£3.11m-£18.2m
Average employees145160153196214419
Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived128%111%87%91%80%78%
  • — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
  • Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
  • Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.
  • Not disclosed in any period: Other revenue, Player impairment.

Sources and definitions

Where each figure comes from

Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.

Sources for Revenue
YearPublishedXBRL conceptAs filedFilingMappingDocument
FY2020£5,103,493core:TurnoverRevenue5103493 GBPAA-2021-06-10v2Filing
FY2021£11,847,727core:TurnoverRevenue11847727 GBPAA-2022-02-25v2Filing
FY2022£18,087,610core:TurnoverRevenue18087610 GBPAA-2023-02-28v2Filing
FY2023£20,369,822core:TurnoverRevenue20369822 GBPAA-2024-02-29v2Filing
FY2024£29,306,522core:TurnoverRevenue29306522 GBPAA-2025-02-27v2Filing
FY2025£34,145,359core:TurnoverRevenue34145359 GBPAA-2026-02-27v2Filing

“As filed” is the value exactly as it appears in the filing’s machine-readable (iXBRL) data. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.

What each figure means
Revenue
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
Matchday revenue
Revenue attributable to matchday activities where separately disclosed.
Broadcast revenue
Revenue attributable to broadcasting/media rights where separately disclosed.
Commercial revenue
Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
Staff costs
Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
Operating profit or loss
Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
Profit or loss before tax
Profit or loss before taxation.
Profit or loss after tax
Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
Player amortisation
Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Profit or loss on player sales
Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
Cash
Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
Borrowings
Interest-bearing borrowings disclosed at the reporting date; definition excludes derived net debt.
Total assets
Total assets at the reporting date.
Total liabilities
Total liabilities at the reporting date.
Net assets or liabilities
Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
Average employees
Average number of employees during the reporting period.
Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
Staff costs divided by total revenue.

All clubs with published accounts