Club finances · statutory accounts
Charlton finances
- Reporting entity
- CHARLTON ATHLETIC FOOTBALL COMPANY LIMITED
- Division
- Championship (this season)
- Latest period
- Year to 30 June 2025 (FY2025 · the 2024/25 season, in the League One)
- Company number
- 01788466
- Accounts
- Company only (not the wider group)
- Filed
- 20 March 2026
These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.
In brief
In the year to 30 June 2025, Charlton brought in revenue of £11.2m, up from £8.81m the year before. The club made an operating loss of £16.8m and ended the period with net liabilities of £38m.
More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.
FY2025 at a glance
Revenue
£11.2m
£11,167,000
Operating loss
£16.8m
£16,827,000
Loss before tax
£15.4m
£15,390,000
Cash
£462k
£462,000
Borrowings
£0
£0
Net liabilities
£38m
£38,044,000
Average employees
201
Over time
† These years are not directly comparable with the years either side, so they are shown hatched and no trend is drawn through them:
- FY2021: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
- FY2022: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Bigger is not automatically healthier.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £15.4m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £6.96m |
| FY2022 † not comparable | £9.8m |
| FY2023 | £9.8m |
| FY2024 | £8.81m |
| FY2025 | £11.2m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | Loss before tax £1.13m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | Profit before tax £4.23m |
| FY2022 † not comparable | Loss before tax £7.42m |
| FY2023 | Loss before tax £9.56m |
| FY2024 | Loss before tax £13.9m |
| FY2025 | Loss before tax £15.4m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £138k |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £3.46m |
| FY2022 † not comparable | £1.29m |
| FY2023 | £11k |
| FY2024 | £31k |
| FY2025 | £462k |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | Net liabilities £23.3m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | Net liabilities £11m |
| FY2022 † not comparable | Net liabilities £20.5m |
| FY2023 | Net liabilities £30.1m |
| FY2024 | Net liabilities £22.7m |
| FY2025 | Net liabilities £38m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | 165 |
| FY2021 † not comparable | 165 |
| FY2022 † not comparable | 183 |
| FY2023 | 186 |
| FY2024 | 184 |
| FY2025 | 201 |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £12.2m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £9.34m |
| FY2022 † not comparable | £10.6m |
| FY2023 | £10.3m |
| FY2024 | £12.1m |
| FY2025 | £15.7m |
Every year
| Figure | FY2020Champcompany | FY2021 †L1company | FY2022 †L1company | FY2023L1company | FY2024L1company | FY2025L1company |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | £15.4m | £6.96m | £9.8m | £9.8m | £8.81m | £11.2m |
| Matchday revenue | £4.54m | £233k | £5.17m | £5.02m | £4.49m | £5m |
| Broadcast revenue | £7.82m | £4.73m | £2.31m | £2.28m | £1.91m | £2.55m |
| Commercial revenue | £2.12m | £1.6m | £1.01m | £1.5m | £1.39m | £1.87m |
| Other revenue | £887k | £390k | £1.31m | £999k | £1.02m | £1.75m |
| Staff costs | £12.2m | £9.34m | £10.6m | £10.3m | £12.1m | £15.7m |
| Operating profit or loss | -£5.28m | -£832k | -£10.1m | -£9.86m | -£14.6m | -£16.8m |
| Profit or loss before tax | -£1.13m | £4.23m | -£7.42m | -£9.56m | -£13.9m | -£15.4m |
| Profit or loss after tax | -£1.06m | £3.13m | -£6.32m | -£9.56m | -£13.9m | -£15.4m |
| Player amortisation | £744k | £483k | £786k | £751k | £832k | £934k |
| Player impairment (negative = reversed) | — | — | — | £102k | £146k | — |
| Profit or loss on player sales | £4.4m | £5.59m | £3.31m | £352k | £687k | £1.44m |
| Cash | £138k | £3.46m | £1.29m | £11k | £31k | £462k |
| Borrowings | £0 | £0 | £0 | £93k | £360k | £0 |
| Total assets | £43.9m | £11.1m | £9.04m | £5.93m | £7.28m | £12m |
| Total liabilities | £67.2m | £22.1m | £29.5m | £36m | £29.9m | £50m |
| Net assets or liabilities | -£23.3m | -£11m | -£20.5m | -£30.1m | -£22.7m | -£38m |
| Average employees | 165 | 165 | 183 | 186 | 184 | 201 |
| Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived | 80% | 134% | 108% | 105% | 138% | 141% |
- — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
- Under each year: the division the club played in that season (Champ Championship, L1 League One); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
- Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
- † Not directly comparable with the years either side.
- Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.
Sources and definitions
Where each figure comes from
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
| Year | Published | Concept | As filed | Filing | Mapping | Document |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2020 | £15,366,000 | pdf:Turnover | 15,366 GBP | AA-2021-07-14 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2021 † | £6,956,000 | pdf:Turnover | 6,956 GBP | AA-2022-04-06 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2022 † | £9,799,000 | pdf:Turnover | 9,799 GBP | AA-2023-04-11 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2023 | £9,802,000 | pdf:Turnover | 9,802 GBP | AA-2024-04-12 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2024 | £8,812,000 | pdf:Turnover | 8,812 GBP | AA-2025-04-09 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2025 | £11,167,000 | pdf:Turnover | 11,167 GBP | AA-2026-03-20 | v3 | Filing |
“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.
What each figure means
- Revenue
- Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
- Matchday revenue
- Revenue attributable to matchday activities where separately disclosed.
- Broadcast revenue
- Revenue attributable to broadcasting/media rights where separately disclosed.
- Commercial revenue
- Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
- Other revenue
- Other revenue not included in the principal disclosed categories.
- Staff costs
- Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
- Operating profit or loss
- Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
- Profit or loss before tax
- Profit or loss before taxation.
- Profit or loss after tax
- Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
- Player amortisation
- Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
- Player impairment (negative = reversed)
- Impairment of player registrations/intangible player assets.
- Profit or loss on player sales
- Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
- Cash
- Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
- Borrowings
- Interest-bearing borrowings disclosed at the reporting date; definition excludes derived net debt.
- Total assets
- Total assets at the reporting date.
- Total liabilities
- Total liabilities at the reporting date.
- Net assets or liabilities
- Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
- Average employees
- Average number of employees during the reporting period.
- Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
- Staff costs divided by total revenue.