Skip to content

Club finances · statutory accounts

Cardiff finances

Reporting entity
Cardiff City Football Club Limited
Division
Championship (this season)
Latest period
Year to 31 May 2025 (FY2025 · the 2023/24 season, in the Championship)
Company number
00109065
Accounts
Company only (not the wider group)
Filed
26 February 2026

These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.

← Cardiff

In brief

In the year to 31 May 2025, Cardiff brought in revenue of £25.8m. The club made an operating loss of £27.5m and ended the period with net liabilities of £221.1m. FY2024 is not directly comparable, so no year-on-year change is given.

More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.

FY2025 at a glance

  • Revenue

    £25.8m

    £25,755,000

  • Operating loss

    £27.5m

    £27,493,000

  • Loss before tax

    £34.5m

    £34,477,000

  • Cash

    £1.38m

    £1,383,000

  • Borrowings

    £84.7m

    £84,724,000

  • Net liabilities

    £221.1m

    £221,146,000

  • Average employees

    222

† These years are not directly comparable with the years either side, so they are shown hatched and no trend is drawn through them:

  • FY2020: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
  • FY2021: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
  • FY2023: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
  • FY2024: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
Revenue
£44.9mFY2020†£55.1mFY2021†£19.9mFY2022£26.2mFY2023†£23mFY2024†£25.8mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Bigger is not automatically healthier.

Show as a table
Revenue, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable£44.9m
FY2021 † not comparable£55.1m
FY2022£19.9m
FY2023 † not comparable£26.2m
FY2024 † not comparable£23m
FY2025£25.8m
Profit or loss before tax
-£11.7mFY2020†-£11mFY2021†-£30.4mFY2022-£11.4mFY2023†-£11.2mFY2024†-£34.5mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Profit or loss before tax, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparableLoss before tax £11.7m
FY2021 † not comparableLoss before tax £11m
FY2022Loss before tax £30.4m
FY2023 † not comparableLoss before tax £11.4m
FY2024 † not comparableLoss before tax £11.2m
FY2025Loss before tax £34.5m
Cash
£2.39mFY2020†£1.76mFY2021†£3.61mFY2022£5.77mFY2023†£2.56mFY2024†£1.38mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Cash, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable£2.39m
FY2021 † not comparable£1.76m
FY2022£3.61m
FY2023 † not comparable£5.77m
FY2024 † not comparable£2.56m
FY2025£1.38m
Net assets or liabilities
-£130mFY2020†-£141.8mFY2021†-£172.2mFY2022-£172.1mFY2023†-£183mFY2024†-£221.1mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Net assets or liabilities, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparableNet liabilities £130m
FY2021 † not comparableNet liabilities £141.8m
FY2022Net liabilities £172.2m
FY2023 † not comparableNet liabilities £172.1m
FY2024 † not comparableNet liabilities £183m
FY2025Net liabilities £221.1m
Average employees
209FY2020†184FY2021†178FY2022206FY2023†209FY2024†222FY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Average employees, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable209
FY2021 † not comparable184
FY2022178
FY2023 † not comparable206
FY2024 † not comparable209
FY2025222
Staff costs
£35.6mFY2020†£33.5mFY2021†£29.2mFY2022£22.3mFY2023†£27.9mFY2024†£39mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Staff costs, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable£35.6m
FY2021 † not comparable£33.5m
FY2022£29.2m
FY2023 † not comparable£22.3m
FY2024 † not comparable£27.9m
FY2025£39m

Every year

Cardiff published figures by financial year
FigureFY2020 †ChampcompanyFY2021 †ChampcompanyFY2022ChampcompanyFY2023 †ChampcompanyFY2024 †ChampcompanyFY2025Champcompany
Revenue£44.9m£55.1m£19.9m£26.2m£23m£25.8m
Matchday revenue£3.73m£1.12m£4.74m£5.5m£6.09m£5.95m
Broadcast revenue£36.8m£48.4m£10.4m£10.1m£10.4m£12.9m
Commercial revenue£4.34m£5.55m£4.74m£10.7m£6.49m£6.86m
Staff costs£35.6m£33.5m£29.2m£22.3m£27.9m£39m
Operating profit or loss-£23.2m-£12m-£29m-£11.1m-£9.54m-£27.5m
Profit or loss before tax-£11.7m-£11m-£30.4m-£11.4m-£11.2m-£34.5m
Profit or loss after tax-£11.7m-£11m-£30.4m-£11.4m-£11.2m-£34.5m
Player amortisation£17.8m£15.4m£7.14m£3.41m£4.25m£4.25m
Player impairment (negative = reversed)£67k£3.15m£350k£0——
Profit or loss on player sales£13.7m£2.86m£4.22m£1.66m£760k£6.1m
Cash£2.39m£1.76m£3.61m£5.77m£2.56m£1.38m
Borrowings£61.9m£62.3m£76.7m£64.9m£85.5m£84.7m
Total assets£129.1m£108.2m£119.8m£138.8m£138.9m£105.6m
Total liabilities£259.1m£249.9m£292m£310.8m£322m£326.8m
Net assets or liabilities-£130m-£141.8m-£172.2m-£172.1m-£183m-£221.1m
Average employees209184178206209222
Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived79%61%147%85%121%151%
  • — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
  • Under each year: the division the club played in that season (Champ Championship); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
  • Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
  • † Not directly comparable with the years either side.
  • Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.
  • Not disclosed in any period: Other revenue.

Sources and definitions

Where each figure comes from

Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.

Sources for Revenue
YearPublishedConceptAs filedFilingMappingDocument
FY2020 †£44,905,000pdf:Turnover44,905 GBPAA-2021-06-01v3Filing
FY2021 †£55,109,000pdf:Turnover55,109 GBPAA-2022-03-02v3Filing
FY2022£19,882,000pdf:Turnover19,882 GBPAA-2023-03-06v3Filing
FY2023 †£26,226,000pdf:Turnover26,226 GBPAA-2024-03-05v3Filing
FY2024 †£22,996,000pdf:Turnover22,996 GBPAA-2025-03-05v3Filing
FY2025£25,755,000pdf:Turnover25,755 GBPAA-2026-02-26v3Filing

“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.

What each figure means
Revenue
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
Matchday revenue
Revenue attributable to matchday activities where separately disclosed.
Broadcast revenue
Revenue attributable to broadcasting/media rights where separately disclosed.
Commercial revenue
Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
Staff costs
Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
Operating profit or loss
Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
Profit or loss before tax
Profit or loss before taxation.
Profit or loss after tax
Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
Player amortisation
Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Player impairment (negative = reversed)
Impairment of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Profit or loss on player sales
Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
Cash
Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
Borrowings
Interest-bearing borrowings disclosed at the reporting date; definition excludes derived net debt.
Total assets
Total assets at the reporting date.
Total liabilities
Total liabilities at the reporting date.
Net assets or liabilities
Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
Average employees
Average number of employees during the reporting period.
Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
Staff costs divided by total revenue.

All clubs with published accounts