Skip to content

Club finances · statutory accounts

Burnley finances

Reporting entity
The Burnley Football & Athletic Company Limited (Companies House register: BURNLEY FOOTBALL & ATHLETIC COMPANY,LIMITED(THE))
Division
Championship (this season)
Latest period
Year to 31 July 2025 (FY2025 · the 2024/25 season, in the Championship)
Company number
00054222
Accounts
Company only (not the wider group)
Filed
29 April 2026

These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.

← Burnley

In brief

In the year to 31 July 2025, Burnley brought in revenue of £71.7m, down from £133.6m the year before. The club made an operating loss of £16.2m and ended the period with net assets of £28.9m.

More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.

FY2025 at a glance

  • Revenue

    £71.7m

    £71,746,000

  • Operating loss

    £16.2m

    £16,228,000

  • Loss before tax

    £29.7m

    £29,717,000

  • Cash

    £12.9m

    £12,909,000

  • Borrowings

    £142.4m

    £142,372,000

  • Net assets

    £28.9m

    £28,897,000

  • Average employees

    408

† These years are not directly comparable with the years either side, so they are shown hatched and no trend is drawn through them:

  • FY2020: a 13-month accounting period.
  • FY2021: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
  • FY2022: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
  • FY2023: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
Revenue
£133.8mFY2020†£115.1mFY2021†£123.4mFY2022†£64.9mFY2023†£133.6mFY2024£71.7mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Bigger is not automatically healthier.

Show as a table
Revenue, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable£133.8m
FY2021 † not comparable£115.1m
FY2022 † not comparable£123.4m
FY2023 † not comparable£64.9m
FY2024£133.6m
FY2025£71.7m
Profit or loss before tax
£45kFY2020†-£3.13mFY2021†£41.1mFY2022†-£35.1mFY2023†-£29mFY2024-£29.7mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Profit or loss before tax, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparableProfit before tax £45k
FY2021 † not comparableLoss before tax £3.13m
FY2022 † not comparableProfit before tax £41.1m
FY2023 † not comparableLoss before tax £35.1m
FY2024Loss before tax £29m
FY2025Loss before tax £29.7m
Cash
£80.6mFY2020†£50.2mFY2021†£12.9mFY2022†£20.5mFY2023†£8.91mFY2024£12.9mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Cash, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable£80.6m
FY2021 † not comparable£50.2m
FY2022 † not comparable£12.9m
FY2023 † not comparable£20.5m
FY2024£8.91m
FY2025£12.9m
Net assets or liabilities
£76.9mFY2020†£74.3mFY2021†£108.3mFY2022†£82.9mFY2023†£58mFY2024£28.9mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Net assets or liabilities, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparableNet assets £76.9m
FY2021 † not comparableNet assets £74.3m
FY2022 † not comparableNet assets £108.3m
FY2023 † not comparableNet assets £82.9m
FY2024Net assets £58m
FY2025Net assets £28.9m
Average employees
251FY2020†267FY2021†273FY2022†565FY2023†388FY2024408FY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Average employees, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable251
FY2021 † not comparable267
FY2022 † not comparable273
FY2023 † not comparable565
FY2024388
FY2025408
Staff costs
£100.1mFY2020†£85.9mFY2021†£92mFY2022†£53.7mFY2023†£93.4mFY2024£82.3mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Staff costs, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable£100.1m
FY2021 † not comparable£85.9m
FY2022 † not comparable£92m
FY2023 † not comparable£53.7m
FY2024£93.4m
FY2025£82.3m

Every year

Burnley published figures by financial year
FigureFY2020 †PLcompany · 13 monthsFY2021 †PLcompanyFY2022 †PLcompanyFY2023 †ChampcompanyFY2024PLcompanyFY2025Champcompany
Revenue£133.8m£115.1m£123.4m£64.9m£133.6m£71.7m
Matchday revenue£6.7m£470k£8.76m£11.1m£9.71m£9.45m
Broadcast revenue£113.5m£103.9m£104.9m£47.8m£110.6m£55.2m
Commercial revenue£13.6m£10.8m£9.75m£6.02m£13.3m£7.08m
Staff costs£100.1m£85.9m£92m£53.7m£93.4m£82.3m
Operating profit or loss-£39k-£373k£42.7m-£29.9m-£12m-£16.2m
Profit or loss before tax£45k-£3.13m£41.1m-£35.1m-£29m-£29.7m
Profit or loss after tax£560k-£2.57m£31.2m-£27m-£24.9m-£29.1m
Player amortisation£32.3m£21.4m£22.7m£22.1m£42.5m£36.5m
Profit or loss on player sales£14.7m£5.1m£54.7m£11.4m£15.1m£59m
Cash£80.6m£50.2m£12.9m£20.5m£8.91m£12.9m
Borrowings——£17.2m£100.9m£112.4m£142.4m
Total assets£154.2m£160.2m£230.3m£319.7m£302.9m£372.7m
Total liabilities£77.4m£85.9m£122m£236.9m£244.9m£343.8m
Net assets or liabilities£76.9m£74.3m£108.3m£82.9m£58m£28.9m
Average employees251267273565388408
Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived75%75%75%83%70%115%
  • — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
  • Under each year: the division the club played in that season (PL Premier League, Champ Championship); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
  • Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
  • † Not directly comparable with the years either side.
  • Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.
  • Not disclosed in any period: Other revenue, Player impairment.

Sources and definitions

Where each figure comes from

Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.

Sources for Revenue
YearPublishedConceptAs filedFilingMappingDocument
FY2020 †£133,813,000pdf:Turnover133,813 GBPAA-2021-07-10v3Filing
FY2021 †£115,101,000pdf:Turnover115,101 GBPAA-2022-05-04v3Filing
FY2022 †£123,407,000pdf:Turnover123,407 GBPAA-2023-05-04v3Filing
FY2023 †£64,899,000pdf:Turnover64,899 GBPAA-2024-04-16v3Filing
FY2024£133,565,000pdf:Turnover133,565 GBPAA-2025-04-30v3Filing
FY2025£71,746,000pdf:Turnover71,746 GBPAA-2026-04-29v3Filing

“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.

What each figure means
Revenue
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
Matchday revenue
Revenue attributable to matchday activities where separately disclosed.
Broadcast revenue
Revenue attributable to broadcasting/media rights where separately disclosed.
Commercial revenue
Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
Staff costs
Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
Operating profit or loss
Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
Profit or loss before tax
Profit or loss before taxation.
Profit or loss after tax
Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
Player amortisation
Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Profit or loss on player sales
Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
Cash
Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
Borrowings
Interest-bearing borrowings disclosed at the reporting date; definition excludes derived net debt.
Total assets
Total assets at the reporting date.
Total liabilities
Total liabilities at the reporting date.
Net assets or liabilities
Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
Average employees
Average number of employees during the reporting period.
Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
Staff costs divided by total revenue.

All clubs with published accounts