Club finances · statutory accounts
Bristol City finances
- Reporting entity
- Bristol City Football Club Limited
- Division
- Championship (this season)
- Latest period
- Year to 30 June 2025 (FY2025 · the 2024/25 season, in the Championship)
- Company number
- 03230871
- Accounts
- Company only (not the wider group)
- Filed
- 2 January 2026
These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.
In brief
In the year to 30 June 2025, Bristol City brought in revenue of £24.1m, up from £20.5m the year before. The club made an operating loss of £18.8m and ended the period with net assets of £5.89m.
More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.
FY2025 at a glance
Revenue
£24.1m
£24,058,634
Operating loss
£18.8m
£18,844,308
Loss before tax
£13.1m
£13,148,357
Cash
£33k
£33,090
Borrowings
£20.8m
£20,772,066
Net assets
£5.89m
£5,886,037
Average employees
219
Over time
† These years are not directly comparable with the years either side, so they are shown hatched and no trend is drawn through them:
- FY2020: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
- FY2021: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
- FY2023: a 13-month accounting period.
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Bigger is not automatically healthier.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | £16.2m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £11.9m |
| FY2022 | £16.6m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | £18.6m |
| FY2024 | £20.5m |
| FY2025 | £24.1m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | Loss before tax £7.38m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | Loss before tax £34.8m |
| FY2022 | Loss before tax £26.8m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | Loss before tax £19.5m |
| FY2024 | Loss before tax £796k |
| FY2025 | Loss before tax £13.1m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | £102k |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £589k |
| FY2022 | £168k |
| FY2023 † not comparable | £254k |
| FY2024 | £278k |
| FY2025 | £33k |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | Net assets £16.3m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | Net assets £7.71m |
| FY2022 | Net liabilities £3.76m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | Net liabilities £670k |
| FY2024 | Net assets £11.5m |
| FY2025 | Net assets £5.89m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | 207 |
| FY2021 † not comparable | 210 |
| FY2022 | 201 |
| FY2023 † not comparable | 205 |
| FY2024 | 218 |
| FY2025 | 219 |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | £27.4m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £30.3m |
| FY2022 | £23.8m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | £26.3m |
| FY2024 | £24.8m |
| FY2025 | £25.9m |
Every year
| Figure | FY2020 †Champcompany | FY2021 †Champcompany | FY2022Champcompany | FY2023 †Champcompany · 13 months | FY2024Champcompany | FY2025Champcompany |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | £16.2m | £11.9m | £16.6m | £18.6m | £20.5m | £24.1m |
| Matchday revenue | £4.73m | £705k | £5.16m | £6.2m | £7.32m | £7.3m |
| Broadcast revenue | £8.44m | £8.06m | £8.46m | £8.69m | £9.11m | £12.8m |
| Commercial revenue | £1.76m | £1.03m | £1.75m | £2.14m | £2.78m | £2.28m |
| Other revenue | £1.23m | £2.11m | £1.28m | £1.54m | £1.31m | £1.72m |
| Staff costs | £27.4m | £30.3m | £23.8m | £26.3m | £24.8m | £25.9m |
| Operating profit or loss | -£33.4m | -£41.1m | -£27.6m | -£28.3m | -£22m | -£18.8m |
| Profit or loss before tax | -£7.38m | -£34.8m | -£26.8m | -£19.5m | -£796k | -£13.1m |
| Profit or loss after tax | -£5.9m | -£34.8m | -£26.8m | -£19.4m | -£796k | -£13.1m |
| Player amortisation | £11.1m | £11.6m | £7.44m | £6.83m | £3.21m | £4.87m |
| Player impairment (negative = reversed) | — | £745k | £1.01m | £140k | — | £0 |
| Profit or loss on player sales | £25.6m | £6.17m | £1.25m | £9.53m | £21.7m | £5.8m |
| Cash | £102k | £589k | £168k | £254k | £278k | £33k |
| Borrowings | £1.97m | £646k | £19.4m | £20.3m | £20.2m | £20.8m |
| Total assets | £57.9m | £46.7m | £29m | £30.4m | £39.3m | £42m |
| Total liabilities | £41.6m | £39m | £32.8m | £31.1m | £27.8m | £36.1m |
| Net assets or liabilities | £16.3m | £7.71m | -£3.76m | -£670k | £11.5m | £5.89m |
| Average employees | 207 | 210 | 201 | 205 | 218 | 219 |
| Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived | 169% | 254% | 143% | 142% | 121% | 107% |
- — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
- Under each year: the division the club played in that season (Champ Championship); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
- Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
- † Not directly comparable with the years either side.
- Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.
Sources and definitions
Where each figure comes from
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
| Year | Published | Concept | As filed | Filing | Mapping | Document |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2020 † | £16,171,491 | pdf:Turnover | 16,171,491 GBP | AA-2021-01-28 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2021 † | £11,903,469 | pdf:Turnover | 11,903,469 GBP | AA-2022-01-10 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2022 | £16,648,738 | pdf:Turnover | 16,648,738 GBP | AA-2022-11-25 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2023 † | £18,571,483 | pdf:Turnover | 18,571,483 GBP | AA-2024-01-11 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2024 | £20,523,730 | pdf:Turnover | 20,523,730 GBP | AA-2025-01-15 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2025 | £24,058,634 | pdf:Turnover | 24,058,634 GBP | AA-2026-01-02 | v3 | Filing |
“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.
What each figure means
- Revenue
- Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
- Matchday revenue
- Revenue attributable to matchday activities where separately disclosed.
- Broadcast revenue
- Revenue attributable to broadcasting/media rights where separately disclosed.
- Commercial revenue
- Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
- Other revenue
- Other revenue not included in the principal disclosed categories.
- Staff costs
- Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
- Operating profit or loss
- Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
- Profit or loss before tax
- Profit or loss before taxation.
- Profit or loss after tax
- Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
- Player amortisation
- Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
- Player impairment (negative = reversed)
- Impairment of player registrations/intangible player assets.
- Profit or loss on player sales
- Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
- Cash
- Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
- Borrowings
- Interest-bearing borrowings disclosed at the reporting date; definition excludes derived net debt.
- Total assets
- Total assets at the reporting date.
- Total liabilities
- Total liabilities at the reporting date.
- Net assets or liabilities
- Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
- Average employees
- Average number of employees during the reporting period.
- Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
- Staff costs divided by total revenue.