Skip to content

Club finances · statutory accounts

Bolton finances

Reporting entity
FOOTBALL VENTURES (WHITES) LIMITED
Division
Championship (this season)
Latest period
Year to 30 June 2025 (FY2025 · the 2024/25 season, in the League One)
Company number
11761052
Accounts
Consolidated (whole group)
Filed
31 March 2026

These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.

← Bolton

In brief

In the year to 30 June 2025, Bolton brought in revenue of £20.5m, down from £21.3m the year before. The club made an operating loss of £14m and ended the period with net liabilities of £7.06m.

More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.

FY2025 at a glance

  • Revenue

    £20.5m

    £20,458,546

  • Operating loss

    £14m

    £13,955,224

  • Loss before tax

    £14.4m

    £14,361,894

  • Cash

    £463k

    £462,604

  • Borrowings

    £10.5m

    £10,532,441

  • Net liabilities

    £7.06m

    £7,061,136

  • Average employees

    447

† These years are not directly comparable with the years either side, so they are shown hatched and no trend is drawn through them:

  • FY2020: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
  • FY2022: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
Revenue
£9.34mFY2020†£6.16mFY2021£13.8mFY2022†£19.4mFY2023£21.3mFY2024£20.5mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Bigger is not automatically healthier.

Show as a table
Revenue, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable£9.34m
FY2021£6.16m
FY2022 † not comparable£13.8m
FY2023£19.4m
FY2024£21.3m
FY2025£20.5m
Profit or loss before tax
-£3.89mFY2020†-£1.43mFY2021-£3.69mFY2022†-£5.46mFY2023-£11.2mFY2024-£14.4mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Profit or loss before tax, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparableLoss before tax £3.89m
FY2021Loss before tax £1.43m
FY2022 † not comparableLoss before tax £3.69m
FY2023Loss before tax £5.46m
FY2024Loss before tax £11.2m
FY2025Loss before tax £14.4m
Cash
£560kFY2020†£571kFY2021£1.56mFY2022†£4.2mFY2023£921kFY2024£463kFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Cash, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable£560k
FY2021£571k
FY2022 † not comparable£1.56m
FY2023£4.2m
FY2024£921k
FY2025£463k
Net assets or liabilities
-£1.1mFY2020†-£2.57mFY2021£14.6mFY2022†£12mFY2023£5.3mFY2024-£7.06mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Net assets or liabilities, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparableNet liabilities £1.1m
FY2021Net liabilities £2.57m
FY2022 † not comparableNet assets £14.6m
FY2023Net assets £12m
FY2024Net assets £5.3m
FY2025Net liabilities £7.06m
Average employees
234FY2020†236FY2021384FY2022†416FY2023433FY2024447FY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Average employees, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable234
FY2021236
FY2022 † not comparable384
FY2023416
FY2024433
FY2025447
Staff costs
£7.43mFY2020†£6.91mFY2021£10.2mFY2022†£12.8mFY2023£16.1mFY2024£18.5mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Staff costs, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020 † not comparable£7.43m
FY2021£6.91m
FY2022 † not comparable£10.2m
FY2023£12.8m
FY2024£16.1m
FY2025£18.5m

Every year

Bolton published figures by financial year
FigureFY2020 †L1groupFY2021L2groupFY2022 †L1groupFY2023L1groupFY2024L1groupFY2025L1group
Revenue£9.34m£6.16m£13.8m£19.4m£21.3m£20.5m
Staff costs£7.43m£6.91m£10.2m£12.8m£16.1m£18.5m
Operating profit or loss-£3.46m-£517k-£5.75m-£5.17m-£10.5m-£14m
Profit or loss before tax-£3.89m-£1.43m-£3.69m-£5.46m-£11.2m-£14.4m
Profit or loss after tax-£3.85m-£1.47m-£3.69m-£5.46m-£11.2m-£14.4m
Player amortisation£53k£73k£269k£542k£958k£1.69m
Profit or loss on player sales—————£541k
Cash£560k£571k£1.56m£4.2m£921k£463k
Borrowings——£5.74m£9.9m£10.4m£10.5m
Total assets£29.3m£29.2m£32.1m£34.1m£33.5m£33.6m
Total liabilities£30.4m£31.7m£17.5m£22.1m£28.2m£40.7m
Net assets or liabilities-£1.1m-£2.57m£14.6m£12m£5.3m-£7.06m
Average employees234236384416433447
Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived80%112%74%66%76%90%
  • — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
  • Under each year: the division the club played in that season (L1 League One, L2 League Two); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
  • Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
  • † Not directly comparable with the years either side.
  • Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.
  • Not disclosed in any period: Matchday revenue, Broadcast revenue, Commercial revenue, Other revenue, Player impairment.

Sources and definitions

Where each figure comes from

Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.

Sources for Revenue
YearPublishedConceptAs filedFilingMappingDocument
FY2020 †£9,338,622pdf:Turnover9,338,622 GBPAA-2021-07-09v3Filing
FY2021£6,155,673pdf:Turnover6,155,673 GBPAA-2022-07-04v3Filing
FY2022 †£13,829,584pdf:Turnover13,829,584 GBPAA-2023-04-11v3Filing
FY2023£19,429,171pdf:Turnover19,429,171 GBPAA-2024-03-28v3Filing
FY2024£21,301,502pdf:Turnover21,301,502 GBPAA-2025-03-31v3Filing
FY2025£20,458,546pdf:Turnover20,458,546 GBPAA-2026-03-31v3Filing

“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.

What each figure means
Revenue
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
Staff costs
Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
Operating profit or loss
Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
Profit or loss before tax
Profit or loss before taxation.
Profit or loss after tax
Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
Player amortisation
Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Profit or loss on player sales
Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
Cash
Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
Borrowings
Interest-bearing borrowings disclosed at the reporting date; definition excludes derived net debt.
Total assets
Total assets at the reporting date.
Total liabilities
Total liabilities at the reporting date.
Net assets or liabilities
Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
Average employees
Average number of employees during the reporting period.
Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
Staff costs divided by total revenue.

All clubs with published accounts