Club finances · statutory accounts
Blackpool finances
- Reporting entity
- THE BLACKPOOL FOOTBALL CLUB LIMITED
- Division
- League One (this season)
- Latest period
- Year to 30 June 2025 (FY2025 · the 2024/25 season, in the League One)
- Company number
- 00048409
- Accounts
- Company only (not the wider group)
- Filed
- 31 March 2026
These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.
In brief
In the year to 30 June 2025, Blackpool brought in revenue of £8.82m, down from £9.7m the year before. The club made an operating loss of £7.1m and ended the period with net liabilities of £14.8m.
More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.
FY2025 at a glance
Revenue
£8.82m
£8,817,011
Operating loss
£7.1m
£7,103,080
Loss before tax
£4.31m
£4,306,168
Cash
£1.34m
£1,336,740
Borrowings
£0
£0
Net liabilities
£14.8m
£14,786,318
Average employees
127
Over time
† These years are not directly comparable with the years either side, so they are shown hatched and no trend is drawn through them:
- FY2020: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
- FY2021: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Bigger is not automatically healthier.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | £5.52m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £5.41m |
| FY2022 | £15.3m |
| FY2023 | £17.3m |
| FY2024 | £9.7m |
| FY2025 | £8.82m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | Loss before tax £2.23m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | Loss before tax £5.09m |
| FY2022 | Profit before tax £568k |
| FY2023 | Loss before tax £260k |
| FY2024 | Loss before tax £3.94m |
| FY2025 | Loss before tax £4.31m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | £204k |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £1.73m |
| FY2022 | £1.77m |
| FY2023 | £948k |
| FY2024 | £320k |
| FY2025 | £1.34m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | Net liabilities £3.57m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | Net liabilities £8.4m |
| FY2022 | Net liabilities £7.55m |
| FY2023 | Net liabilities £7.67m |
| FY2024 | Net liabilities £10.5m |
| FY2025 | Net liabilities £14.8m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | 154 |
| FY2021 † not comparable | 107 |
| FY2022 | 129 |
| FY2023 | 140 |
| FY2024 | 141 |
| FY2025 | 127 |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | £6.65m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £7.67m |
| FY2022 | £11.6m |
| FY2023 | £13.5m |
| FY2024 | £9.51m |
| FY2025 | £9.95m |
Every year
| Figure | FY2020 †L1company | FY2021 †L1company | FY2022Champcompany | FY2023Champcompany | FY2024L1company | FY2025L1company |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | £5.52m | £5.41m | £15.3m | £17.3m | £9.7m | £8.82m |
| Matchday revenue | £2.5m | £848k | £4.6m | £5.35m | £4.46m | £4.03m |
| Broadcast revenue | £1.59m | £2.18m | — | — | — | — |
| Commercial revenue | — | £562k | £2.14m | £2.49m | £1.98m | £1.85m |
| Other revenue | £1.43m | £1.82m | £8.55m | £9.43m | £3.25m | £2.94m |
| Staff costs | £6.65m | £7.67m | £11.6m | £13.5m | £9.51m | £9.95m |
| Operating profit or loss | -£3.79m | -£5.5m | -£1.39m | -£3.19m | -£6.22m | -£7.1m |
| Profit or loss before tax | -£2.23m | -£5.09m | £568k | -£260k | -£3.94m | -£4.31m |
| Profit or loss after tax | -£2.23m | -£4.83m | £852k | -£114k | -£2.81m | -£4.31m |
| Player amortisation | £336k | £568k | £797k | £1.19m | £1.22m | £1.01m |
| Profit or loss on player sales | £1.38m | £411k | £1.96m | £2.93m | £2.28m | £2.8m |
| Cash | £204k | £1.73m | £1.77m | £948k | £320k | £1.34m |
| Borrowings | £0 | £0 | £0 | £0 | £0 | £0 |
| Total assets | £3.1m | £6.14m | £10.1m | £12m | £13.6m | £14.6m |
| Total liabilities | £6.67m | £14.5m | £17.7m | £19.7m | £24.1m | £29.4m |
| Net assets or liabilities | -£3.57m | -£8.4m | -£7.55m | -£7.67m | -£10.5m | -£14.8m |
| Average employees | 154 | 107 | 129 | 140 | 141 | 127 |
| Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived | 121% | 142% | 76% | 78% | 98% | 113% |
- — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
- Under each year: the division the club played in that season (L1 League One, Champ Championship); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
- Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
- † Not directly comparable with the years either side.
- Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.
- Not disclosed in any period: Player impairment.
Sources and definitions
Where each figure comes from
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
| Year | Published | Concept | As filed | Filing | Mapping | Document |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2020 † | £5,516,522 | pdf:Turnover | 5,516,522 GBP | AA-2021-05-28 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2021 † | £5,412,064 | pdf:Turnover | 5,412,064 GBP | AA-2022-02-28 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2022 | £15,290,369 | pdf:Turnover | 15,290,369 GBP | AA-2023-03-10 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2023 | £17,260,938 | pdf:Turnover | 17,260,938 GBP | AA-2024-03-27 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2024 | £9,701,178 | pdf:Turnover | 9,701,178 GBP | AA-2025-03-25 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2025 | £8,817,011 | pdf:Turnover | 8,817,011 GBP | AA-2026-03-31 | v3 | Filing |
“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.
What each figure means
- Revenue
- Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
- Matchday revenue
- Revenue attributable to matchday activities where separately disclosed.
- Broadcast revenue
- Revenue attributable to broadcasting/media rights where separately disclosed.
- Commercial revenue
- Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
- Other revenue
- Other revenue not included in the principal disclosed categories.
- Staff costs
- Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
- Operating profit or loss
- Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
- Profit or loss before tax
- Profit or loss before taxation.
- Profit or loss after tax
- Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
- Player amortisation
- Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
- Profit or loss on player sales
- Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
- Cash
- Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
- Borrowings
- Interest-bearing borrowings disclosed at the reporting date; definition excludes derived net debt.
- Total assets
- Total assets at the reporting date.
- Total liabilities
- Total liabilities at the reporting date.
- Net assets or liabilities
- Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
- Average employees
- Average number of employees during the reporting period.
- Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
- Staff costs divided by total revenue.