Skip to content

Club finances · statutory accounts

Blackburn finances

Reporting entity
THE BLACKBURN ROVERS FOOTBALL AND ATHLETIC LIMITED
Division
Championship (this season)
Latest period
Year to 30 June 2025 (FY2025 · the 2024/25 season, in the Championship)
Company number
00053482
Accounts
Company only (not the wider group)
Filed
3 April 2026

These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.

← Blackburn

In brief

In the year to 30 June 2025, Blackburn brought in revenue of £23.7m, up from £21.4m the year before. The club made an operating loss of £21.4m and ended the period with net liabilities of £128.6m.

More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.

FY2025 at a glance

  • Revenue

    £23.7m

    £23,697,198

  • Operating loss

    £21.4m

    £21,409,735

  • Loss before tax

    £10.4m

    £10,423,188

  • Cash

    £264k

    £263,666

  • Borrowings

    £12.8m

    £12,830,200

  • Net liabilities

    £128.6m

    £128,553,760

  • Average employees

    232

Revenue
£13.5mFY2020£14.5mFY2021£16.6mFY2022£21mFY2023£21.4mFY2024£23.7mFY2025

Bigger is not automatically healthier.

Show as a table
Revenue, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020£13.5m
FY2021£14.5m
FY2022£16.6m
FY2023£21m
FY2024£21.4m
FY2025£23.7m
Profit or loss before tax
-£22mFY2020-£6.59mFY2021-£11.2mFY2022-£20.9mFY2023£3.33mFY2024-£10.4mFY2025
Show as a table
Profit or loss before tax, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020Loss before tax £22m
FY2021Loss before tax £6.59m
FY2022Loss before tax £11.2m
FY2023Loss before tax £20.9m
FY2024Profit before tax £3.33m
FY2025Loss before tax £10.4m
Cash
£185kFY2020£370kFY2021£609kFY2022£26kFY2023£583kFY2024£264kFY2025
Show as a table
Cash, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020£185k
FY2021£370k
FY2022£609k
FY2023£26k
FY2024£583k
FY2025£264k
Net assets or liabilities
-£134mFY2020-£111mFY2021-£122.2mFY2022-£121.5mFY2023-£118.1mFY2024-£128.6mFY2025
Show as a table
Net assets or liabilities, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020Net liabilities £134m
FY2021Net liabilities £111m
FY2022Net liabilities £122.2m
FY2023Net liabilities £121.5m
FY2024Net liabilities £118.1m
FY2025Net liabilities £128.6m
Average employees
225FY2020217FY2021209FY2022221FY2023222FY2024232FY2025
Show as a table
Average employees, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020225
FY2021217
FY2022209
FY2023221
FY2024222
FY2025232
Staff costs
£25.6mFY2020£25.7mFY2021£24.4mFY2022£25.8mFY2023£25.4mFY2024£28.2mFY2025
Show as a table
Staff costs, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020£25.6m
FY2021£25.7m
FY2022£24.4m
FY2023£25.8m
FY2024£25.4m
FY2025£28.2m

Every year

Blackburn published figures by financial year
FigureFY2020ChampcompanyFY2021ChampcompanyFY2022ChampcompanyFY2023ChampcompanyFY2024ChampcompanyFY2025Champcompany
Revenue£13.5m£14.5m£16.6m£21m£21.4m£23.7m
Matchday revenue£2.65m£776k£3.35m£5.05m£4.94m£4.46m
Broadcast revenue£6.82m£8.91m£8.42m£9.7m£9.48m£11.5m
Commercial revenue£3.98m£4.79m£4.8m£6.14m£6.94m£7.19m
Other revenue£69k£8k£80k£102k£34k£544k
Staff costs£25.6m£25.7m£24.4m£25.8m£25.4m£28.2m
Operating profit or loss-£24.5m-£19.8m-£21.5m-£20.9m-£19.5m-£21.4m
Profit or loss before tax-£22m-£6.59m-£11.2m-£20.9m£3.33m-£10.4m
Profit or loss after tax-£21.9m-£6.58m-£11.2m-£20.9m£3.33m-£10.4m
Player amortisation£4.34m£4.14m£4.04m£3.42m£2.3m£2.42m
Profit or loss on player sales£3.14m£622k£10.1m£349k£23.6m£13m
Cash£185k£370k£609k£26k£583k£264k
Borrowings£14.1m£13.5m£12.1m—£13.2m£12.8m
Total assets£40.8m£51.8m£51.2m£35.6m£42.8m£37.6m
Total liabilities£174.8m£162.8m£173.4m£157m£160.9m£166.2m
Net assets or liabilities-£134m-£111m-£122.2m-£121.5m-£118.1m-£128.6m
Average employees225217209221222232
Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived189%177%146%123%119%119%
  • — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
  • Under each year: the division the club played in that season (Champ Championship); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
  • Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
  • Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.
  • Not disclosed in any period: Player impairment.

Sources and definitions

Where each figure comes from

Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.

Sources for Revenue
YearPublishedConceptAs filedFilingMappingDocument
FY2020£13,522,320pdf:Turnover13,522,320 GBPAA-2021-07-06v3Filing
FY2021£14,488,375pdf:Turnover14,488,375 GBPAA-2022-04-01v3Filing
FY2022£16,649,527pdf:Turnover16,649,527 GBPAA-2023-04-08v3Filing
FY2023£20,986,668pdf:Turnover20,986,668 GBPAA-2024-04-08v3Filing
FY2024£21,395,497pdf:Turnover21,395,497 GBPAA-2025-03-03v3Filing
FY2025£23,697,198pdf:Turnover23,697,198 GBPAA-2026-04-03v3Filing

“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.

What each figure means
Revenue
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
Matchday revenue
Revenue attributable to matchday activities where separately disclosed.
Broadcast revenue
Revenue attributable to broadcasting/media rights where separately disclosed.
Commercial revenue
Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
Other revenue
Other revenue not included in the principal disclosed categories.
Staff costs
Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
Operating profit or loss
Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
Profit or loss before tax
Profit or loss before taxation.
Profit or loss after tax
Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
Player amortisation
Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Profit or loss on player sales
Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
Cash
Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
Borrowings
Interest-bearing borrowings disclosed at the reporting date; definition excludes derived net debt.
Total assets
Total assets at the reporting date.
Total liabilities
Total liabilities at the reporting date.
Net assets or liabilities
Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
Average employees
Average number of employees during the reporting period.
Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
Staff costs divided by total revenue.

All clubs with published accounts