Skip to content

Club finances · statutory accounts

Birmingham finances

Reporting entity
BIRMINGHAM CITY FOOTBALL CLUB LIMITED
Division
Championship (this season)
Latest period
Year to 30 June 2025 (FY2025 · the 2024/25 season, in the League One)
Company number
00027318
Accounts
Company only (not the wider group)
Filed
4 April 2026

These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.

← Birmingham

In brief

In the year to 30 June 2025, Birmingham brought in revenue of £35.6m, up from £28.7m the year before. The club made an operating loss of £39.4m and ended the period with net liabilities of £121.6m.

More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.

FY2025 at a glance

  • Revenue

    £35.6m

    £35,642,766

  • Operating loss

    £39.4m

    £39,417,788

  • Loss before tax

    £34.6m

    £34,559,453

  • Cash

    £14.2m

    £14,233,595

  • Borrowings

    £90.2m

    £90,200,000

  • Net liabilities

    £121.6m

    £121,646,449

  • Average employees

    305

† This year is not directly comparable with the years either side, so it is shown hatched and no trend is drawn through it:

  • FY2021: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
Revenue
£22.5mFY2020£13.1mFY2021†£17.6mFY2022£19mFY2023£28.7mFY2024£35.6mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Bigger is not automatically healthier.

Show as a table
Revenue, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020£22.5m
FY2021 † not comparable£13.1m
FY2022£17.6m
FY2023£19m
FY2024£28.7m
FY2025£35.6m
Profit or loss before tax
-£18.3mFY2020-£4.69mFY2021†-£24.8mFY2022-£25.4mFY2023-£16.1mFY2024-£34.6mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Profit or loss before tax, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020Loss before tax £18.3m
FY2021 † not comparableLoss before tax £4.69m
FY2022Loss before tax £24.8m
FY2023Loss before tax £25.4m
FY2024Loss before tax £16.1m
FY2025Loss before tax £34.6m
Cash
£1.58mFY2020£1.34mFY2021†£1.45mFY2022£1.63mFY2023£8.67mFY2024£14.2mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Cash, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020£1.58m
FY2021 † not comparable£1.34m
FY2022£1.45m
FY2023£1.63m
FY2024£8.67m
FY2025£14.2m
Net assets or liabilities
-£76.2mFY2020-£80.9mFY2021†-£54mFY2022-£71.4mFY2023-£87.1mFY2024-£121.6mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Net assets or liabilities, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020Net liabilities £76.2m
FY2021 † not comparableNet liabilities £80.9m
FY2022Net liabilities £54m
FY2023Net liabilities £71.4m
FY2024Net liabilities £87.1m
FY2025Net liabilities £121.6m
Average employees
234FY2020217FY2021†192FY2022209FY2023239FY2024305FY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Average employees, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020234
FY2021 † not comparable217
FY2022192
FY2023209
FY2024239
FY2025305
Staff costs
£32.4mFY2020£30.2mFY2021†£31.1mFY2022£27.6mFY2023£33.7mFY2024£35.7mFY2025

Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.

Show as a table
Staff costs, by financial year
YearValue
FY2020£32.4m
FY2021 † not comparable£30.2m
FY2022£31.1m
FY2023£27.6m
FY2024£33.7m
FY2025£35.7m

Every year

Birmingham published figures by financial year
FigureFY2020ChampcompanyFY2021 †ChampcompanyFY2022ChampcompanyFY2023ChampcompanyFY2024ChampcompanyFY2025L1company
Revenue£22.5m£13.1m£17.6m£19m£28.7m£35.6m
Matchday revenue£4.57m£0£4.19m£3.73m£6.12m£10.3m
Broadcast revenue£8.85m£9.32m£8.38m£9.07m£9.65m£3.53m
Commercial revenue£9.11m£3.79m£4.99m£6.19m£12.9m£21.8m
Staff costs£32.4m£30.2m£31.1m£27.6m£33.7m£35.7m
Operating profit or loss-£28.9m-£30.2m-£26.9m-£26.5m-£29.2m-£39.4m
Profit or loss before tax-£18.3m-£4.69m-£24.8m-£25.4m-£16.1m-£34.6m
Profit or loss after tax-£18.3m-£4.69m-£24.8m-£25.4m-£15.7m-£34.6m
Player amortisation£8.39m£7.17m£6.28m£3.48m£4.38m£6.83m
Profit or loss on player sales£11.5m£26.5m£3.11m£2.13m£15.4m£14.3m
Cash£1.58m£1.34m£1.45m£1.63m£8.67m£14.2m
Borrowings£0£14.3m£4.9m£230k£48.1m£90.2m
Total assets£67.9m£54m£36.8m£31.3m£77.1m£128.4m
Total liabilities£144.1m£134.9m£90.8m£102.7m£164.1m£250.1m
Net assets or liabilities-£76.2m-£80.9m-£54m-£71.4m-£87.1m-£121.6m
Average employees234217192209239305
Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived144%230%177%146%117%100%
  • — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
  • Under each year: the division the club played in that season (Champ Championship, L1 League One); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
  • Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
  • † Not directly comparable with the years either side.
  • Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.
  • Not disclosed in any period: Other revenue, Player impairment.

Sources and definitions

Where each figure comes from

Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.

Sources for Revenue
YearPublishedConceptAs filedFilingMappingDocument
FY2020£22,523,769pdf:Turnover22,523,769 GBPAA-2021-04-16v3Filing
FY2021 †£13,112,188pdf:Turnover13,112,188 GBPAA-2022-04-11v3Filing
FY2022£17,550,213pdf:Turnover17,550,213 GBPAA-2023-03-24v3Filing
FY2023£18,985,683pdf:Turnover18,985,683 GBPAA-2024-04-02v3Filing
FY2024£28,720,273pdf:Turnover28,720,273 GBPAA-2025-04-01v3Filing
FY2025£35,642,766pdf:Turnover35,642,766 GBPAA-2026-04-04v3Filing

“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.

What each figure means
Revenue
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
Matchday revenue
Revenue attributable to matchday activities where separately disclosed.
Broadcast revenue
Revenue attributable to broadcasting/media rights where separately disclosed.
Commercial revenue
Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
Staff costs
Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
Operating profit or loss
Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
Profit or loss before tax
Profit or loss before taxation.
Profit or loss after tax
Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
Player amortisation
Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
Profit or loss on player sales
Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
Cash
Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
Borrowings
Interest-bearing borrowings disclosed at the reporting date; definition excludes derived net debt.
Total assets
Total assets at the reporting date.
Total liabilities
Total liabilities at the reporting date.
Net assets or liabilities
Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
Average employees
Average number of employees during the reporting period.
Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
Staff costs divided by total revenue.

All clubs with published accounts