Club finances · statutory accounts
Barnsley finances
- Reporting entity
- BARNSLEY FOOTBALL CLUB LIMITED
- Division
- League One (this season)
- Latest period
- Year to 30 June 2025 (FY2025 · the 2024/25 season, in the League One)
- Company number
- 04573250
- Accounts
- Company only (not the wider group)
- Filed
- 20 March 2026
These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.
In brief
In the year to 30 June 2025, Barnsley brought in revenue of £10.3m. The club made an operating loss of £6.28m and ended the period with net liabilities of £2.68m. FY2024 is not directly comparable, so no year-on-year change is given.
More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.
FY2025 at a glance
Revenue
£10.3m
£10,276,916
Operating loss
£6.28m
£6,282,249
Loss before tax
£6.58m
£6,582,340
Cash
£882k
£882,480
Borrowings
Not disclosed
Net liabilities
£2.68m
£2,675,875
Average employees
423
Over time
† These years are not directly comparable with the years either side, so they are shown hatched and no trend is drawn through them:
- FY2020: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
- FY2021: restated or reclassified in later accounts, or a one-off break in the figures.
- FY2024: a 13-month accounting period.
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Bigger is not automatically healthier.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | £14.2m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £12.5m |
| FY2022 | £15m |
| FY2023 | £9.54m |
| FY2024 † not comparable | £8.97m |
| FY2025 | £10.3m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | Loss before tax £280k |
| FY2021 † not comparable | Loss before tax £4.26m |
| FY2022 | Loss before tax £7.03m |
| FY2023 | Loss before tax £4.01m |
| FY2024 † not comparable | Loss before tax £2.84m |
| FY2025 | Loss before tax £6.58m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | £770k |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £3.47m |
| FY2022 | £1.01m |
| FY2023 | £1.96m |
| FY2024 † not comparable | £701k |
| FY2025 | £882k |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | Net assets £5.66m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | Net assets £1.4m |
| FY2022 | Net liabilities £4.83m |
| FY2023 | Net liabilities £2.85m |
| FY2024 † not comparable | Net liabilities £1.45m |
| FY2025 | Net liabilities £2.68m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | 240 |
| FY2021 † not comparable | 179 |
| FY2022 | 286 |
| FY2023 | 383 |
| FY2024 † not comparable | 435 |
| FY2025 | 423 |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Show as a table
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | £11.1m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £14.4m |
| FY2022 | £13.1m |
| FY2023 | £9.28m |
| FY2024 † not comparable | £11.3m |
| FY2025 | £11.5m |
Every year
| Figure | FY2020 †Champcompany | FY2021 †Champcompany | FY2022Champcompany | FY2023L1company | FY2024 †L1company · 13 months | FY2025L1company |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | £14.2m | £12.5m | £15m | £9.54m | £8.97m | £10.3m |
| Matchday revenue | £3.37m | £1.11m | £2.88m | £3.42m | £3.1m | £3.86m |
| Broadcast revenue | £8.51m | £9.55m | £9.2m | £3.23m | £2.86m | £3.27m |
| Commercial revenue | £1.44m | £1.33m | £1.45m | £1.36m | £1.04m | £1.28m |
| Other revenue | £890k | £496k | £1.43m | £1.53m | £1.97m | £1.86m |
| Staff costs | £11.1m | £14.4m | £13.1m | £9.28m | £11.3m | £11.5m |
| Operating profit or loss | -£3.06m | -£4.75m | -£6.8m | -£5.86m | -£9.67m | -£6.28m |
| Profit or loss before tax | -£280k | -£4.26m | -£7.03m | -£4.01m | -£2.84m | -£6.58m |
| Profit or loss after tax | -£280k | -£4.26m | -£6.84m | -£4.01m | -£2.84m | -£6.58m |
| Player amortisation | £2.52m | £2.67m | £2.62m | £1.33m | £870k | £1.02m |
| Player impairment (negative = reversed) | £481k | £154k | £327k | £91k | £0 | — |
| Profit or loss on player sales | £6.04m | £3.45m | £2.77m | £3.28m | £7.71m | £911k |
| Cash | £770k | £3.47m | £1.01m | £1.96m | £701k | £882k |
| Total assets | £11.9m | £13m | £5.73m | £6.16m | £7.72m | £5.15m |
| Total liabilities | £6.2m | £11.6m | £10.6m | £9.01m | £9.18m | £7.83m |
| Net assets or liabilities | £5.66m | £1.4m | -£4.83m | -£2.85m | -£1.45m | -£2.68m |
| Average employees | 240 | 179 | 286 | 383 | 435 | 423 |
| Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived | 78% | 115% | 87% | 97% | 125% | 111% |
- — Not disclosed in that year’s filing. A disclosed zero is shown as £0.
- Under each year: the division the club played in that season (Champ Championship, L1 League One); then group for consolidated accounts of the whole group, or company for the club company alone.
- Negative figures, in red, are losses or net liabilities.
- † Not directly comparable with the years either side.
- Rows marked FixtureShark-derived are calculated by FixtureShark from the filed figures; everything else is as filed.
- Not disclosed in any period: Borrowings.
Sources and definitions
Where each figure comes from
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
| Year | Published | Concept | As filed | Filing | Mapping | Document |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2020 † | £14,219,174 | pdf:Turnover | 14,219,174 GBP | AA-2021-05-25 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2021 † | £12,475,792 | pdf:Turnover | 12,475,792 GBP | AA-2022-03-01 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2022 | £14,965,533 | pdf:Turnover | 14,965,533 GBP | AA-2023-02-28 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2023 | £9,538,666 | pdf:Turnover | 9,538,666 GBP | AA-2024-02-27 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2024 † | £8,969,422 | pdf:Turnover | 8,969,422 GBP | AA-2025-03-31 | v3 | Filing |
| FY2025 | £10,276,916 | pdf:Turnover | 10,276,916 GBP | AA-2026-03-20 | v3 | Filing |
“As filed” is the value as it appears in the filing — its machine-readable (iXBRL) data where there is any, otherwise the printed statements and notes (concepts starting pdf:), where a figure built from several printed lines shows the sum. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.
What each figure means
- Revenue
- Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
- Matchday revenue
- Revenue attributable to matchday activities where separately disclosed.
- Broadcast revenue
- Revenue attributable to broadcasting/media rights where separately disclosed.
- Commercial revenue
- Revenue attributable to commercial activities where separately disclosed.
- Other revenue
- Other revenue not included in the principal disclosed categories.
- Staff costs
- Total staff/employee costs reported for the period.
- Operating profit or loss
- Operating profit or loss reported for the period.
- Profit or loss before tax
- Profit or loss before taxation.
- Profit or loss after tax
- Profit or loss after taxation for the financial period.
- Player amortisation
- Amortisation of player registrations/intangible player assets.
- Player impairment (negative = reversed)
- Impairment of player registrations/intangible player assets.
- Profit or loss on player sales
- Profit recognised on disposal of player registrations.
- Cash
- Cash and cash equivalents at the reporting date.
- Total assets
- Total assets at the reporting date.
- Total liabilities
- Total liabilities at the reporting date.
- Net assets or liabilities
- Net assets/equity at the reporting date.
- Average employees
- Average number of employees during the reporting period.
- Staff costs as a share of revenue (FixtureShark-derived)
- Staff costs divided by total revenue.