Club finances · statutory accounts
These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.
In the year to 30 June 2025, Newcastle brought in revenue of £323.1m, up from £317.1m the year before. The club made an operating loss of £112.2m and ended the year with net assets of £307.8m.
More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.
Revenue
£323.1m
£323,124,000
Operating loss
£112.2m
£112,166,000
Profit before tax
£18.7m
£18,740,000
Cash
£12.5m
£12,498,000
Borrowings
£58.3m
£58,314,000
Net assets
£307.8m
£307,782,000
Average employees
569
† FY2020, FY2021, FY2023 are not directly comparable: later accounts restated those years, so they are shown hatched and no trend is drawn through them.
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Bigger is not automatically healthier.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | £152.6m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £140.2m |
| FY2022 | £180m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | £249.9m |
| FY2024 | £317.1m |
| FY2025 | £323.1m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | Loss before tax £26m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | Loss before tax £13.6m |
| FY2022 | Loss before tax £72.9m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | Loss before tax £73.3m |
| FY2024 | Loss before tax £10.9m |
| FY2025 | Profit before tax £18.7m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | £57.6m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £12.6m |
| FY2022 | £4.16m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | £13.4m |
| FY2024 | £15.4m |
| FY2025 | £12.5m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | Net assets £11m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | Net liabilities £1.19m |
| FY2022 | Net assets £96.7m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | Net assets £150.7m |
| FY2024 | Net assets £239m |
| FY2025 | Net assets £307.8m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | 292 |
| FY2021 † not comparable | 291 |
| FY2022 | 308 |
| FY2023 † not comparable | 385 |
| FY2024 | 483 |
| FY2025 | 569 |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 † not comparable | £121.1m |
| FY2021 † not comparable | £106.8m |
| FY2022 | £170.2m |
| FY2023 † not comparable | £186.3m |
| FY2024 | £217.6m |
| FY2025 | £241.3m |
| Figure | FY2020 † | FY2021 † | FY2022 | FY2023 † | FY2024 | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | £152.6m | £140.2m | £180m | £249.9m | £317.1m | £323.1m |
| Matchday revenue | £17.4m | £176k | £27.5m | £37.7m | £49.9m | £51.1m |
| Broadcast revenue | £106.1m | £119.3m | £124.1m | £165.5m | £183.8m | £160.9m |
| Commercial revenue | £25.9m | £17.6m | £26.5m | £43.7m | £80.3m | £108.3m |
| Other revenue | £3.23m | £3.18m | £1.8m | £2.95m | £3.21m | £2.82m |
| Staff costs | £121.1m | £106.8m | £170.2m | £186.3m | £217.6m | £241.3m |
| Operating profit or loss | -£54m | -£15.4m | -£77.5m | -£69.3m | -£68.6m | -£112.2m |
| Profit or loss before tax | -£26m | -£13.6m | -£72.9m | -£73.3m | -£10.9m | £18.7m |
| Profit or loss after tax | -£22.5m | -£12.2m | -£70.7m | -£73.4m | -£10.9m | £18.7m |
| Player amortisation | £47.6m | £32.3m | £49.7m | £86.8m | £96.7m | £99.4m |
| Player impairment | £11.1m | £0 | £1.42m | £2.53m | £801k | £366k |
| Profit or loss on player sales | £26.3m | £1.7m | £5.83m | £2.84m | £69.8m | £19.9m |
| Cash | £57.6m | £12.6m | £4.16m | £13.4m | £15.4m | £12.5m |
| Borrowings | — | £4.96m | — | £49.5m | £49.7m | £58.3m |
| Total assets | £235.4m | £185.4m | £291.3m | £395.6m | £606.4m | £606.6m |
| Total liabilities | £224.4m | £186.6m | £194.6m | £244.9m | £367.4m | £298.9m |
| Net assets or liabilities | £11m | -£1.19m | £96.7m | £150.7m | £239m | £307.8m |
| Average employees | 292 | 291 | 308 | 385 | 483 | 569 |
| Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived | 79% | 76% | 95% | 75% | 69% | 75% |
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
| Year | Published | XBRL concept | As filed | Filing | Mapping | Document |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2020 † | £152,626,000 | pdf:Turnover | 152,626 GBP thousands | AA-2021-08-06 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2021 † | £140,192,000 | pdf:Turnover | 140,192 GBP thousands | AA-2022-05-16 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2022 | £179,986,000 | pdf:Turnover | 179,986 GBP thousands | AA-2023-04-12 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2023 † | £249,865,000 | pdf:Turnover | 249,865 GBP thousands | AA-2024-01-21 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2024 | £317,134,000 | pdf:Turnover | 317,134 GBP thousands | AA-2025-04-25 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2025 | £323,124,000 | pdf:Turnover | 323,124 GBP thousands | AA-2026-04-13 | v2 | Filing |
“As filed” is the value exactly as it appears in the filing’s machine-readable (iXBRL) data. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.