Club finances · statutory accounts
These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.
In the year to 30 June 2025, Chelsea brought in revenue of £490.9m. The club made an operating loss of £308.2m and ended the year with net assets of £872.3m.
More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.
Revenue
£490.9m
£490,857,000
Operating loss
£308.2m
£308,157,000
Loss before tax
£262.4m
£262,444,000
Cash
£49m
£49,009,000
Borrowings
Not disclosed
Net assets
£872.3m
£872,302,000
Average employees
1,062
† FY2025 is not directly comparable: later accounts restated that year, so it is shown hatched and no trend is drawn through it.
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Bigger is not automatically healthier.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £407.4m |
| FY2021 | £434.9m |
| FY2022 | £481.3m |
| FY2023 | £512.5m |
| FY2024 | £468.5m |
| FY2025 † not comparable | £490.9m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | Profit before tax £35.7m |
| FY2021 | Loss before tax £155.9m |
| FY2022 | Loss before tax £121.4m |
| FY2023 | Loss before tax £90.1m |
| FY2024 | Profit before tax £128.4m |
| FY2025 † not comparable | Loss before tax £262.4m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £17.1m |
| FY2021 | £16.4m |
| FY2022 | £54.2m |
| FY2023 | £87.9m |
| FY2024 | £36m |
| FY2025 † not comparable | £49m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | Net assets £511.3m |
| FY2021 | Net assets £400.7m |
| FY2022 | Net assets £440.8m |
| FY2023 | Net assets £351.1m |
| FY2024 | Net assets £795.7m |
| FY2025 † not comparable | Net assets £872.3m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | 808 |
| FY2021 | 817 |
| FY2022 | 788 |
| FY2023 | 827 |
| FY2024 | 958 |
| FY2025 † not comparable | 1,062 |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £283.5m |
| FY2021 | £332.9m |
| FY2022 | £340.2m |
| FY2023 | £404m |
| FY2024 | £338m |
| FY2025 † not comparable | £359.3m |
| Figure | FY2020 | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 † |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | £407.4m | £434.9m | £481.3m | £512.5m | £468.5m | £490.9m |
| Matchday revenue | £54.5m | £7.65m | £69.2m | £76.5m | £80.1m | £86.8m |
| Broadcast revenue | £182.5m | £273.6m | £235m | £225.9m | £163.1m | £203.2m |
| Commercial revenue | £170.4m | £153.6m | £177.1m | £210.1m | £225.3m | £200.9m |
| Staff costs | £283.5m | £332.9m | £340.2m | £404m | £338m | £359.3m |
| Operating profit or loss | -£111.6m | -£182.8m | -£242.4m | -£218m | -£213m | -£308.2m |
| Profit or loss before tax | £35.7m | -£155.9m | -£121.4m | -£90.1m | £128.4m | -£262.4m |
| Profit or loss after tax | £32.5m | -£153.4m | -£121.3m | -£89.8m | £129.6m | -£262.6m |
| Player amortisation | £127.3m | £161.8m | £160.4m | £203.3m | £190.1m | £212.2m |
| Player impairment | — | £17.9m | £76.7m | £0 | £0 | £12.1m |
| Profit or loss on player sales | £142.6m | £27.9m | £123.2m | £62.9m | £152.5m | £57.9m |
| Cash | £17.1m | £16.4m | £54.2m | £87.9m | £36m | £49m |
| Total assets | £880.7m | £823.4m | £874m | £1234.8m | £1844.5m | £1540.4m |
| Total liabilities | £369.4m | £422.7m | £433.2m | £883.8m | £1048.8m | £668.1m |
| Net assets or liabilities | £511.3m | £400.7m | £440.8m | £351.1m | £795.7m | £872.3m |
| Average employees | 808 | 817 | 788 | 827 | 958 | 1,062 |
| Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived | 70% | 77% | 71% | 79% | 72% | 73% |
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
| Year | Published | XBRL concept | As filed | Filing | Mapping | Document |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2020 | £407,402,000 | pdf:GroupTurnover | 407,402 GBP thousands | AA-2021-02-10 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2021 | £434,863,000 | pdf:GroupTurnover | 434,863 GBP thousands | AA-2021-12-29 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2022 | £481,278,000 | pdf:GroupTurnover | 481,278 GBP thousands | AA-2023-04-08 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2023 | £512,467,000 | pdf:GroupTurnover | 512,467 GBP thousands | AA-2024-04-12 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2024 | £468,486,000 | pdf:GroupTurnover | 468,486 GBP thousands | AA-2025-04-04 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2025 † | £490,857,000 | pdf:GroupTurnover | 490,857 GBP thousands | AA-2026-04-12 | v2 | Filing |
“As filed” is the value exactly as it appears in the filing’s machine-readable (iXBRL) data. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.