Club finances · statutory accounts
These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.
In the year to 30 June 2025, Brighton brought in revenue of £221.1m. The club made an operating loss of £88.2m and ended the year with net liabilities of £29.4m. FY2024 is not directly comparable, so no year-on-year change is given.
More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.
Revenue
£221.1m
£221,063,000
Operating loss
£88.2m
£88,216,000
Loss before tax
£32m
£32,005,000
Cash
£39.8m
£39,836,000
Borrowings
Not disclosed
Net liabilities
£29.4m
£29,373,000
Average employees
1,032
† FY2024 is not directly comparable: later accounts restated that year, so it is shown hatched and no trend is drawn through it.
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Bigger is not automatically healthier.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £123.3m |
| FY2021 | £139.7m |
| FY2022 | £167.4m |
| FY2023 | £203.6m |
| FY2024 † not comparable | £221.3m |
| FY2025 | £221.1m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | Loss before tax £62.7m |
| FY2021 | Loss before tax £49.6m |
| FY2022 | Profit before tax £27.4m |
| FY2023 | Profit before tax £142m |
| FY2024 † not comparable | Profit before tax £88.3m |
| FY2025 | Loss before tax £32m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £454k |
| FY2021 | £6.75m |
| FY2022 | £14.2m |
| FY2023 | £15.2m |
| FY2024 † not comparable | £15m |
| FY2025 | £39.8m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | Net liabilities £189.1m |
| FY2021 | Net liabilities £238.7m |
| FY2022 | Net liabilities £211.3m |
| FY2023 | Net liabilities £79.7m |
| FY2024 † not comparable | Net liabilities £23.7m |
| FY2025 | Net liabilities £29.4m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | 979 |
| FY2021 | 821 |
| FY2022 | 828 |
| FY2023 | 1,051 |
| FY2024 † not comparable | 1,160 |
| FY2025 | 1,032 |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £101.9m |
| FY2021 | £107.4m |
| FY2022 | £112.7m |
| FY2023 | £124.4m |
| FY2024 † not comparable | £142.2m |
| FY2025 | £158.7m |
| Figure | FY2020 | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 † | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | £123.3m | £139.7m | £167.4m | £203.6m | £221.3m | £221.1m |
| Matchday revenue | £13.5m | £480k | £20.6m | £24.5m | £27.7m | £27.5m |
| Broadcast revenue | £89.9m | £123m | £126m | £154.9m | £163.5m | £150.6m |
| Commercial revenue | £9.48m | £8.32m | £15.2m | £17.6m | £20.2m | £22.4m |
| Other revenue | £10.4m | £7.94m | £5.72m | £6.59m | £9.9m | £20.5m |
| Staff costs | £101.9m | £107.4m | £112.7m | £124.4m | £142.2m | £158.7m |
| Operating profit or loss | -£58.8m | -£53.1m | -£36.9m | £18.1m | -£25.6m | -£88.2m |
| Profit or loss before tax | -£62.7m | -£49.6m | £27.4m | £142m | £88.3m | -£32m |
| Profit or loss after tax | -£62.7m | -£49.6m | £27.4m | £131.5m | £56.1m | -£28.6m |
| Player amortisation | £45.6m | £46.4m | £45.4m | £32.8m | £39.3m | £81.8m |
| Player impairment | £0 | £9.37m | £8.07m | £0 | £2.78m | £0 |
| Profit or loss on player sales | -£599k | £6.59m | £62.4m | £121.4m | £110.3m | £56.9m |
| Cash | £454k | £6.75m | £14.2m | £15.2m | £15m | £39.8m |
| Borrowings | £1.86m | £37.3m | £3.02m | £0 | £0 | — |
| Total assets | £168.8m | £143.2m | £230.6m | £344.9m | £400m | £537.5m |
| Total liabilities | £357.9m | £381.9m | £441.8m | £424.7m | £423.7m | £566.9m |
| Net assets or liabilities | -£189.1m | -£238.7m | -£211.3m | -£79.7m | -£23.7m | -£29.4m |
| Average employees | 979 | 821 | 828 | 1,051 | 1,160 | 1,032 |
| Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived | 83% | 77% | 67% | 61% | 64% | 72% |
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
| Year | Published | XBRL concept | As filed | Filing | Mapping | Document |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2020 | £123,291,000 | pdf:Turnover | 123,291 GBP thousands | AA-2021-02-26 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2021 | £139,731,000 | pdf:Turnover | 139,731 GBP thousands | AA-2022-06-14 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2022 | £167,429,000 | pdf:Turnover | 167,429 GBP thousands | AA-2023-03-23 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2023 | £203,574,000 | pdf:Turnover | 203,574 GBP thousands | AA-2024-04-11 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2024 † | £221,293,000 | pdf:Turnover | 221,293 GBP thousands | AA-2025-03-06 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2025 | £221,063,000 | pdf:Turnover | 221,063 GBP thousands | AA-2026-03-26 | v2 | Filing |
“As filed” is the value exactly as it appears in the filing’s machine-readable (iXBRL) data. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.