Club finances · statutory accounts
These figures come from the accounts the club files by law at Companies House. Anything a filing does not disclose is shown as Not disclosed — FixtureShark never estimates it. Read the original FY2025 filing.
In the year to 30 June 2025, Aston Villa brought in revenue of £378.1m. The club made an operating loss of £139.7m and ended the year with net assets of £321.1m. FY2024 is not directly comparable, so no year-on-year change is given.
More revenue is not the same as financial health: read it alongside profit or loss, cash and net assets.
Revenue
£378.1m
£378,068,000
Operating loss
£139.7m
£139,676,000
Profit before tax
£17m
£17,033,000
Cash
£7.72m
£7,722,000
Borrowings
£110.6m
£110,571,000
Net assets
£321.1m
£321,061,000
Average employees
1,223
† FY2024 is not directly comparable: later accounts restated that year, so it is shown hatched and no trend is drawn through it.
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
Bigger is not automatically healthier.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £112.6m |
| FY2021 | £183.6m |
| FY2022 | £178.4m |
| FY2023 | £217.7m |
| FY2024 † not comparable | £275.7m |
| FY2025 | £378.1m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | Loss before tax £99.5m |
| FY2021 | Loss before tax £37.3m |
| FY2022 | Profit before tax £421k |
| FY2023 | Loss before tax £120.3m |
| FY2024 † not comparable | Loss before tax £85.9m |
| FY2025 | Profit before tax £17m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £13m |
| FY2021 | £20.1m |
| FY2022 | £2.21m |
| FY2023 | £10.5m |
| FY2024 † not comparable | £8.67m |
| FY2025 | £7.72m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | Net assets £83m |
| FY2021 | Net assets £143.1m |
| FY2022 | Net assets £143.4m |
| FY2023 | Net assets £147.3m |
| FY2024 † not comparable | Net assets £210m |
| FY2025 | Net assets £321.1m |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | 901 |
| FY2021 | 930 |
| FY2022 | 942 |
| FY2023 | 1,026 |
| FY2024 † not comparable | 1,061 |
| FY2025 | 1,223 |
Hatched: not directly comparable with the years either side.
| Year | Value |
|---|---|
| FY2020 | £108.8m |
| FY2021 | £137.8m |
| FY2022 | £137m |
| FY2023 | £194.2m |
| FY2024 † not comparable | £252m |
| FY2025 | £273.4m |
| Figure | FY2020 | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 † | FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | £112.6m | £183.6m | £178.4m | £217.7m | £275.7m | £378.1m |
| Matchday revenue | £11.1m | £311k | £16.1m | £18.8m | £28m | £38.5m |
| Broadcast revenue | £77.7m | £157.1m | £123.2m | £152.6m | £184.4m | £240.9m |
| Commercial revenue | £23.8m | £26.2m | £39.1m | £46.4m | £63.3m | £98.7m |
| Staff costs | £108.8m | £137.8m | £137m | £194.2m | £252m | £273.4m |
| Operating profit or loss | -£99.9m | -£39.3m | -£96.2m | -£139.5m | -£145.3m | -£139.7m |
| Profit or loss before tax | -£99.5m | -£37.3m | £421k | -£120.3m | -£85.9m | £17m |
| Profit or loss after tax | -£99.2m | -£37m | £336k | -£119.6m | -£85.4m | £17m |
| Player amortisation | £70.6m | £56.1m | £82.5m | £92.5m | £96.5m | £99.7m |
| Player impairment | — | — | — | — | — | £6.47m |
| Profit or loss on player sales | -£393k | £1.24m | £97.4m | £22.5m | £64.7m | £52m |
| Cash | £13m | £20.1m | £2.21m | £10.5m | £8.67m | £7.72m |
| Borrowings | — | — | £17.6m | £0 | £20.4m | £110.6m |
| Total assets | £261.8m | £310.6m | £423.2m | £388.6m | £535.6m | £782.9m |
| Total liabilities | £178.7m | £167.5m | £279.8m | £241.4m | £325.6m | £461.8m |
| Net assets or liabilities | £83m | £143.1m | £143.4m | £147.3m | £210m | £321.1m |
| Average employees | 901 | 930 | 942 | 1,026 | 1,061 | 1,223 |
| Staff costs as a share of revenue FixtureShark-derived | 97% | 75% | 77% | 89% | 91% | 72% |
Total revenue/turnover reported for the period.
| Year | Published | XBRL concept | As filed | Filing | Mapping | Document |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2020 | £112,596,000 | pdf:Turnover | 112,596 GBP thousands | AA-2021-04-22 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2021 | £183,632,000 | pdf:Turnover | 183,632 GBP thousands | AA-2022-03-01 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2022 | £178,399,000 | pdf:Turnover | 178,399 GBP thousands | AA-2023-03-03 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2023 | £217,694,000 | pdf:Turnover | 217,694 GBP thousands | AA-2024-03-07 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2024 † | £275,695,000 | pdf:Turnover | 275,695 GBP thousands | AA-2025-04-03 | v2 | Filing |
| FY2025 | £378,068,000 | pdf:Turnover | 378,068 GBP thousands | AA-2026-04-12 | v2 | Filing |
“As filed” is the value exactly as it appears in the filing’s machine-readable (iXBRL) data. A dash means the filing did not disclose this figure. The mapping version records which rule turned the filed concept into this figure.